O'Neal Steel Employee Reviews

Found 137 reviews matching the search See all 149 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good job
Press Brake Operator, CNC Machine Operator (Former Employee) –  Ambridge, PAJuly 18, 2018
I haven't been there in a long time but it was a good job I was paid fairly the more you want to learn and do they paid you for it which was a big plus how it is now not sure
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good job to have the people are amazing
Laser Operator (Former Employee) –  North CarolinaJuly 12, 2018
The most important part of the job is details you have to pay close attention to the blue prints and the measurements and the right size nozzle to burn the parts and so much more just looking for a happy free work zone
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Average employer
HUman Resources (Current Employee) –  Greensboro, NCJuly 4, 2018
The most enjoyable part has been getting to know the other employees. Both management and human resources seem to lack people skills. There is a lot of grumbling amongst the employees.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
my review
Certified Welder (Former Employee) –  Birmingham, ALJuly 2, 2018
I enjoyed my years at O'Neal steel, Very Good place to work. It was close to home, Good Production and Great co-workers. Great work Shift and opportunity for advancement and stability.
Pros
Close to home and competitive salary
Cons
They closed
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun enviroment
Parts Cleaner (Former Employee) –  Greensboro, NCJune 26, 2018
Working at O'neal Steel was pretty cool .They made you want to come to work everyday very positive environment. The lead man on.the floor was always available when you had a question about anything.that was great .not judgemental neither .they want to see you succeed and move hire within the company . VERY stricked on Safety but that good with that type of work.
I liked it want to go back honestly!
Pros
Feed on you somedays give gifts on holidays
Cons
Heat when its hot and cold when its cold.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard work
Band Saw Operator (Former Employee) –  Louisville, KYJune 9, 2018
Had to get materials by myself program machine can't make a mistake. Safety isn't important there had a crane drop loads and about kill me several times to stressful for the money.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very large facility with a laid back atmosphere.
Maintenance Technician (Former Employee) –  Birmingham, ALMay 5, 2018
O'Neal offers a lot of on the job training and has outside trainers that come in often to continue to expand the knowledge of its employees. They also offered some of the best benefit packages of any company I have worked for.
Pros
Laid back, extensive training.
Cons
No lunch break, but they do not require you to work more than 8 hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I felt the atmosphere was positive to work in
Product Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Birmingham, AL 35222April 14, 2018
I sucks working hard for a company and to be let go under the grounds of temp, and have nothing to turn to; however the overall work environment was good.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to work
E-Commerce Intern (Former Employee) –  Birmingham, ALMarch 8, 2018
O'Neal Steel has been around for a long time, and the culture and work ethic of the people that work there shows why. Everyone is friendly and knowledgeable in what they do. If you care about people and doing a good job at what you do then I recommend this place to you.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management was terriablable
CNC Drill Operator (Former Employee) –  Ambridge, PAJanuary 17, 2018
It was the wild west. People's did what ever they wanted they chose favorite. Once new management was in place. No t good work vices. But the job it self was fun
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Manufacturing employee (Former Employee) –  Shelbyville, INJanuary 16, 2018
Day shift, so typically worked 6-2.
Go in and do my job and all was satisfied.
Supervisor was just like a great friend, talk to him about anything.
All the jobs that I did there were very well explained and got trained well. Nothing seemed real hard to do.
Pros
Very enjoyable place to work
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not sure
Overhead Crane Operator (Former Employee) –  Madison Heights, VAJanuary 6, 2018
My time there was alright, company abruptly shut down and changed owners so I got the boot. They only saved a handful of employees and reopened under a new name.
Pros
Atmosphere
Cons
No overtime
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive & positive workplace
Crane Operator (Former Employee) –  Knoxville, TNJanuary 2, 2018
Great company to work for offer many different things. I'd love to work with them again if I get the chance to. Also mangement there is awesome and well put together!
Pros
Great benefits & employers
Cons
Weather conditions
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good work environment
Machinist (Former Employee) –  Shelbyville, INDecember 18, 2017
The company did not pay well but they treated their team members very well. Time off for the holidays. A Holiday ham for every team member. It may not be a lot but they did little things to let the team know they were appreciated.
Pros
they cared
Cons
steel work is not easy.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Opportunity is there
Leadman/Foreman (Current Employee) –  Greensboro, NCDecember 12, 2017
Great place to work, high opportunities, benifits are good, socially and communication is well rounded ,great opportunity to learn new machinery and skills.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work!
Loader/Unloader (Former Employee) –  Shelbyville, INDecember 5, 2017
I spent 16 years there so, I met a lot of wonderful people. Made a lot of great friendships that will last my whole life. I also learned a lot of things about the steel business.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great
Material Handler (Current Employee) –  Birmingham, ALOctober 18, 2017
I mean, come on, bottom line is you need a job…they have a job they need filled…it’s basic math, right?!

Actually, it’s not, and like any and all questions an interviewer is asking you, it’s not as simple as it might seem.

In fact, this question is far from simple and while it seems like they’re asking you for just one straightforward bit of information, they are actually asking you for two very complex answers…and therein that complexity lies the stumbling block.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 9Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Watch your back
Shift Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Ambridge, PASeptember 29, 2017
The place is very cut throat. No teamwork at all even though that's all management talks about. Management will throw you under the bus in a heartbeat
Pros
Great fellow workers
Cons
Don't use employees to the best of their abilities
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
overhead crane operator
Production Worker (Former Employee) –  Birmingham, ALSeptember 19, 2017
load and unload trucks, pulled orders, ban and wrap steel coils daily, got to interact with other co workers while getting work done. enjoyed it until I got laid off. never called back to work
Pros
the pay
Cons
n/a
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Successful company
Press brake operator (Former Employee) –  Shelbyville, INSeptember 13, 2017
Oneal Steel provided me with many opportunities to learn equipment in my youth and is still a thriving steel vendor. They offer a wide range of services and are an industry leader.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at O'Neal Steel. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 149 reviews
547
441
333
214
114

Ratings by category

3.5Work/Life Balance
3.7Compensation/Benefits
3.1Job Security/Advancement
3.2Management
3.5Culture