Oakland Unified School District Employee Reviews

3.7
Overall rating
Based on 125 reviews
Ratings breakdown
535
442
332
213
13
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Showing all 125 reviews
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
High energy, for out going personalities.
Accounts Payable Technician II (Current Employee) –  1000 Broadway, Oakland, Ca., 94607April 22, 2018
If you are high energy and out going personality then Oakland is the place to work!

The most enjoyable part of the job is that I get to support the sites by helping with paying there bills for supplies, trips, and other services needed to support the schools.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work place
1 Administrative Assistant/Paraprofessional (Current Employee) –  Oakland, CAMarch 23, 2018
OUSD is a great place to work! Typical day with the students is always a pleasure i always learn something new everyday. The hardest place part of the job is seeing the students graduate from 12th grade and seeing them advance off into the world as great person. The multi culture is awesome.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Oakland Unified
Administrative Assistant (Current Employee) –  Joaquin Miller ElementaryMarch 6, 2018
Oakland Unified is a wonderful place to work. The hours are reliable. The people work as a team. The kids are sweet. I love having Summers off! I have learned a great deal about how to manage the main office and coordinate meetings. The hardest part of the job is leaving at the end of the day to get on the road for my commute! The most enjoyable part of the job is the children. Watching their growth is fantastic.
Pros
Summers off
Cons
disgruntled parents
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Better pay for Teachers/Guest Teacher
Consultant & Math/Science Teacher (Current Employee) –  Oakland, CAFebruary 27, 2018
Although this job can be rewarding and fulfilling, the pay for the work teachers do are not comparable. Teacher need to be paid for their expertise in their respected fields.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very busy
Information Desk Receptionist (Former Employee) –  Oakland, CAFebruary 25, 2018
Very busy, active, can be challenging at times, need a better and bigger cafe however the one they have is better than nothing. Dealing with students parents that was upset with teachers was hard to deal with, dealing with teachers not getting paid. .
Pros
Now they have new building/offices
Cons
Old building need remodeling badly
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Landscaping
Landscaping (Former Employee) –  Oakland, CAFebruary 24, 2018
Working outside , planting flowers , mowing lawns, picking weeds , moving classroom furniture Communicating with all the students and staff members/principals
Pros
Free lunches
Cons
Hot weather
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Need better support
Early Childhood Teacher (Current Employee) –  Oakland, CAFebruary 16, 2018
In need of some changes. Some new administrators aren't supportive. I would like to see seasoned teachers with our students, versus bringing in new hires who don't have a clue as what to do with children in a certain locale.
Pros
Free meals, great work hours
Cons
not always supportive
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
rewarding work
Special Education Classroom Teacher (Former Employee) –  Oakland tech High SchoolFebruary 6, 2018
challenging work for a brand-new teacher, however, extremely rewarding because of the children and their families. If you are committed to Oakland's success you would like working for the school district.
Pros
rewarding work
Cons
lack of supervision and support
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Tremendous experience
Interim General Counsel (Former Employee) –  Oakland, CAFebruary 3, 2018
I gained significant experience representing California's sixth largest school district in multiple practice areas, including education law, labor and employment, public entity defense, and real estate litigation.
Pros
Valuable experience
Cons
Interim position
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working as an Para educator
Para-educator (Current Employee) –  Oakland, CAJanuary 25, 2018
I love working with children, especially working with children who learn different than others. They give me a different perspective on life no matter what's going on in life they come in smiling.
Pros
Helping kids who are trying to figure out social settings and pushing them to thrive academically
Cons
When their are so many kids to service, not enough staff members
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great district to work for
Instructional Support Specialist (Current Employee) –  Oakland, CAJanuary 18, 2018
Great district to work for and pay is great as well but it can be heard to get into the district so be aware that it may take some time getting into this district
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to get foot in door if you have a CA Child Development Teacher Permit.
State Preschool Teacher (Former Employee) –  Oakland, CADecember 28, 2017
Here's the thing. You will burn out quickly as a state preschool teacher here. There is so little fiscal, physical support for your program. Your I.A.'s will do the absolutely bare minimum leaving you to do all the required observations and DRDP's to you. You have to advocate for time off to complete student reports and DRDP assessments (53 measures for 36 kids can take days) Playgrounds can be very barren depending on program. Good luck. Don't stay long. You will be sad that the most deserving of families in the east bay will be stuck with such an underfunded program.
Pros
Great to start career.
Cons
Complete depletion of emotional and physical personal resources.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to start for education
Intervention Specialist (Current Employee) –  Oakland, CADecember 3, 2017
You can get a head start in education by working for a school district. They allow for inter-district training and job placement. You have the opportunity to state your concerns and recommended employees for a JOB WELL DONE award.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Watching Soccer Games
Security Officer (Current Employee) –  Oakland, CANovember 26, 2017
A typical day at OUSD would be greeting the children, answering any concerns the children may have, monitoring the school grounds to make sure the children are safe.

After the bell ring, I go check-in with the Front Office to receive instruction. The position I hold is very enjoyable and important.
Pros
N/a
Cons
N/a
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management
Office Assistant (Current Employee) –  Oakland, CANovember 14, 2017
During my employment with Oakland Unified School District I have had great opportunity in working in the Superintendent office and accounts payable which serves and supports our school system and how the district works as a support staff for our schools, teachers , principals and children giving them the tool necessary to be a success.
Pros
great people
Cons
budget cuts
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No work here
Custodian (Former Employee) –  Oakland, CANovember 6, 2017
I would never refer anyone to work at this school district department. Poor managed, all about favoritism, will black ball you if you do not follow what they say even if it's wrong.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good work environment
Food Service Assistant (Former Employee) –  Oakland, CAOctober 18, 2017
positive work environment nice people and good work hours. good to have the kids with a smile on their face and know that you are making a difference in each and every kids future.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It is a big district. It is good for gaining experience.
Elementary Chinese Bilingual Teacher (Former Employee) –  Oakland, CAOctober 9, 2017
OUSD is a big school district so there are many opportunity for learning and growing. It has good job security and promotion opportunity. The benefit is great comparing with other school districts.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Respect all classification
Library Clerk/Clerk Typist (Former Employee) –  Oakland, CAOctober 1, 2017
Library. To address various children reading needs. management would help with managing my work day for scheduling classes for their Library hour each day. My over all culture must bring happiness and ready to give my best to young people. Cleaning up after a class has visit the library. I really enjoy when a child finds his or her interest and continue to advance their reading skills.
Pros
All the vacation time.
Cons
Change the library daily/weekly theme.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Breeding Ground for Future Inmates
School Security Officer (Substitute) (Former Employee) –  Oakland, CASeptember 12, 2017
The infrastructure is subpar, some of the employees are corrupt and the administrators make it difficult for officers to do their jobs. Leadership and training methods are good but some of the policies are due for an overhaul.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Oakland Unified School District. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Ratings from women

2.8InHerSight Score

2.3Personal Development

3.2Career Opportunities

3.1Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight

Powered by InHerSight

Oakland Unified School District Reviews by Location