Occidental Petroleum Employee Reviews for Engineer

Found 10 reviews matching the search See all 204 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent company to work for. Sometimes it is too fast paced.
Reservoir Engineering Advisor (Former Employee) –  Bakersfield, CAJanuary 27, 2018
Working in multidisciplinary environment with engineers and geoscientists. Learning new technical skills. Ability to see my projects come to fruition.
Workplace culture is friendly and collaborative. Sometimes there are too many firedrills, that are very distractive to technical groups.
and being able to apply my managerial skills
The hardest and at the same time the most enjoyable part of my job are the people I work with
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Old beaten up properties
Reservoir Engineering Advisor (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXSeptember 5, 2017
Lots of compositional modeling using GEM for a project in Oman which was completely uneconomic. Any smart graduate would be able to confirm this statement. Project was actual abandoned after I left. Advised extensively on collection of PVT data and experiments. Same for special core analysis.
Pros
I enjoyed composistional modeling.
Cons
Lack of high caliber experts.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyed job
Engineering Specialist (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXMarch 31, 2017
Left to go to another company. Felt a competition environment was created among peers, and that was not comfortable to me. Enjoyed the people and the cultural diversity.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great learning experience and growth.
Engineering Specialist (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXMay 18, 2016
This was my first Oil and Gas industry job. I learned about oil and gas while working here. Management was great on getting me up to speed with job role, everyone on my team was eager to share their knowledge and experiences. I really enjoyed working with people from all across the globe.
Pros
Working with international people.
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 3Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
High-paced, challenging environment
Reservoir Engineer (Current Employee) –  Houston, TXApril 19, 2016
Sink-or-swim environment. Help and training are there if you need it, but you have to ask. Generally, good management. Often work long hours (50-60 hours/per week), but every other Friday off.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive Workplace
Engineering Specialist (Current Employee) –  Houston, TXApril 7, 2016
Workplace conducive to collaboration and introduction to new innovative ideas. Learned the importance of cross-functional collaboration.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Corporate atmosphere with average pay
Engineering Specialist (Current Employee) –  Houston, TXApril 30, 2014
If you like being a cog in the machine with average pay, Oxy is the place for you. Oxy offers decent benefits and just enough money to keep you from looking elsewhere. Although I will say I have had excellent opportunities to learn new skills.
Pros
opportunity to learn many new skills
Cons
you are a cog in the machine with average pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 23No 11Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to mentor
Drilling Engineering Specialist (Current Employee) –  Houston, TXAugust 6, 2013
Williston group has only existed for 3 years.
New management past 2 years.
OpenWells application used for past 2 years.
OpenWells upgrade being rolled out.
Pros
Private office setting.
Cons
Limited cafe within building.
Was this review helpful?Yes 11No 13Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Okay place to work at
Engineer (Current Employee) –  HoustonOctober 7, 2012
Compensation and benefits packages are great.
A lot of work
Co-workers are okay, pretty diverse group of people
Pros
9/80 schedules
Cons
managers need additional training.
Was this review helpful?Yes 43No 7Report

Want to know more about Occidental Petroleum?

Ask a question

See more Occidental Petroleum reviews

You may want to try:

Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Occidental Petroleum. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.2
Based on 205 reviews
5107
453
326
28
111

Ratings by category

4.0Work/Life Balance
4.2Compensation/Benefits
3.5Job Security/Advancement
3.6Management
3.9Culture

Ratings from women

2.6InHerSight Score

2.4Personal Development

2.9Career Opportunities

2.6Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight

Powered by InHerSight

Occidental Petroleum Reviews by Location