OERLIKON Employee Reviews

Found 86 reviews matching the search See all 110 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It is a rather plesant place to work.
Blast Operator (Current Employee) –  Lafayette, INSeptember 4, 2018
Some days were rather stressful and other days were pleasant. You learn new things almost every day. Management can be rather difficult at times but all and all they are always fair. The hardest part of the job is getting the parts in spec and keeping them there. Most enjoyable part of the job is working and talking to the people.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Machine Operator
Machine Operator Manpower Research Triangle Park (Former Employee) –  Research Triangle Park, NCSeptember 2, 2018
There Was A 8 to 9 hour Work Day And Some Weekend. I Learned To Clean Parts That Would Have A Special Coating Placed On Them To Protected It In Race Cars. Management Was Good Group Of People To Work Under. The Work Place Was Very Relaxing. Sometimes The Hardest Part Of The Job I Did Was Trying To Keep Up With The Demanding Work Load Working Alone. The Enjoyable Part of The Job For Me Was the Work Hours And The Employees.
Pros
The Work Hours
Cons
Managemet
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
They got a big turn over on 2nd and 3rd
Warehouse Clerk (Former Employee) –  Rock Hill, SCAugust 11, 2018
No people skill, managerial skill. Management don't care about the people. Especially the hard working ones. They don't have meeting with the employee. Management. They don't have the time. Lead person don't have people skill, but he do show favortism to certain employee.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced and hazardous work environment.
Screener (Former Employee) –  Troy, MIAugust 8, 2018
12 hours a day in a stressful, fast paced, and hazardous work place. The pay is good though. Wouldn't recommend if you have a family but if not this is the place for you.
Pros
The wage
Cons
management and other higher-ups, hazardous work environment.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best company I've worked for.
Additive Manufacturing Technician (Current Employee) –  Charlotte, NCJuly 2, 2018
The first job that I have had that I feel appreciated. Even though we are getting ready to move into our brand new green facility safety, quality and professionalism stands as top priorities. Great job team!
Pros
Good PTO and benefits, technology, tools, equipment, team members and top management cares.
Cons
FR clothing is hot
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
the company is a good company to work for.
Technician (Former Employee) –  Brunswick, OHJune 28, 2018
this job was a good job fair and set things i was to have done during my shift. the boss was easy to get along with and showed me what i needed to do for my job.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Needs improvement.
Incoming Operator (Current Employee) –  Rock Hill, SCMay 25, 2018
This company has excellent benefits however the hours are changing constantly without much notice and pay is a little low for the work load. There are some instances of favoritism between employees and the opportunity for advancement is slim to nonexsistent. The work itself is intriguing and interesting and fast paced. Attention to detail is crucial. This company has no "training" curriculum. Everything is hands on and you are expected to learn through repetition. You may be hired for one position however they do expect for you to cross train and learn other departments. This works well in ensuring job security however be aware as you could find yourself stuck somewhere you didn't want to be. Overall its excellent for current college students or high school students as they WILL NOT accommodate your schedule for anything else.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Always looking for reasons to celibrate.
Production Worker (Current Employee) –  Dayton, OHMay 21, 2018
Great place to work. Three shifts to choose from. The management team has changed and seem to really care about their employees. Company plans to grow and they are investing in new technology.
Pros
Great 401k and good pay
Cons
Must wear steel toed shoes.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 6Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Its a job that may pay your bills when you get OT.
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Dayton, OHMay 6, 2018
Opportunities are luck based. Depending on managements mood on that day determines how you are treated and what rules they wish to enforce. The worse you do at a job the more likely you will be promoted.
Was this review helpful?Yes 7NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
See below
Operations Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Westbury, NYApril 5, 2018
Cut Throat and back stabbing cultured.
Senior management had no clue concerning operation....
Management took advantage of liberal PTO
Management would give excuse they were working from home.
Benefits were excellent.
Compensation was low.
No teamwork or trust.
Although they always promoted safety, no one cared about it....
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Its a good and friendly place to work.
Production Tech (Current Employee) –  Lafayette, INMarch 28, 2018
I have enjoyed working at oerlikon Fairfield for the last 12 years have learned a lot about gear making and the people there are friendly and helpful.
Pros
Good working hours and good pay
Cons
A lot of overtime and layoff
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Relaxed but Outdated
Quality Control Lab Technician (Current Employee) –  Westbury, NYMarch 27, 2018
Oerlikon Metco provides a relaxed but outdated atmosphere. LEAN manufacturing processes are preached, but never practiced. Too much tribal knowledge can lead to stagnant career growth.
Pros
Make your own schedule.
Cons
Little to no pay scale increases.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work and good benefits
Assistant Production Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Dayton, OHMarch 7, 2018
I had a great time working at Oerlikon. I learned a lot about being a good leader and how to be better with time and prioritizing my tasks. It ended up not working out in the end. I had my responsibilities nearly doubled and I had to stay at the same title and pay grade. I went back to Ernst Metal Technologies to work for a little less money, but a lot less responsibility.
Pros
Great Benefits
Cons
N/a
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast pace and stressful.
Service Engineer (Former Employee) –  Wixom, MIMarch 6, 2018
The company claims that they are Best in Class but the higher management don't know anything about management. Workers and engineers there are like slaves. The workplace is like WWII Work Camps or concentration camps. Good work has no meaning for them. There is no value for employees at OERLIKON. If you make one mistake even if it wasn't your mistake totally you will be accused. You can't even use your vacations. 247 on call no vacation, no rest, no sleep. The worst place to work.
Pros
You will get experience in PVD Cotings
Cons
The worst place regarding work and life balance.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Culture is a bit old-school, but interesting company w/great boss
MANAGER, FINANCIAL PLANNING & ANALYSIS (Current Employee) –  Westbury, NY 11590February 23, 2018
Manufacturing environment new to me, nice to learn new business practices and procedures. I'm a contract person, the term has expired, and boss is keeping me indefinitely. I do desire permanent, however.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible management
Tool Coating Technician (Current Employee) –  Agawam, MAJanuary 9, 2018
Benefits are fantastic, but the corporate side of the company rubs in how little you make compared to what your branch earns in profit. management is a mess and employees that aren't good workers get recognized the same amount as the employees that work hard.
Pros
benefits
Cons
management and pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not the place to be if you value your career
Manager (Former Employee) –  Westbury, NYDecember 13, 2017
A tremendous amount of finger-pointing, infighting and backstabbing and that's just within your own department.

The leadership team in Europe has no idea of how to manage US employees and the integration between Metco and Oerlikon has been a disaster. The management team in Westbury is a nightmare too.
Pros
401(k) match
Cons
unfair labor practices, employees who are more concerned with their fiefdoms than making the workplace better.
Was this review helpful?Yes 18No 2Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Run- Lazy people make your job harder/bad culture
Recieving Associate (Former Employee) –  Lake Orion, MIDecember 12, 2017
Management cares about dollars - huge separation and unbalanced standard some wander around spending half their day in breaks never addressed when the few who carry the place are pushed to keep giving more. Customers suffer while the company is getting bilked out of hours not really spent working. All the good employees leave due to this. Yearly reviews are a joke only give pennies after you go above and beyond. Get your money when your hired or you won't get it but they'll keep adding to your responsibilities though. Corporate needs to get involved, high turnover rate. Temps even leave.
Pros
Lunches often during meetings
Cons
Culture, lazy coworkers, clown show
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work!
Production Lead (Current Employee) –  Dayton, OHOctober 31, 2017
Oerlikon metco dayton ohio is one of the best places I've worked. The company values great employees. There are plenty of opportunities if you apply your talents. In less than 2 years I've been promoted twice. I like that they are always looking for ways to improve processes in order to make sure that the job can be done in an effective way. I highly recommend anyone in the manufacturing field to apply for work at Oerlikon.
Pros
Advancement opportunity, excellent benefits, awesome appreciation gathering.
Cons
Lack of communication between shifts at times. Employees that always find things to complain about.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 12Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
clean for a stamping shop
Assistant Supervisor line leader (Former Employee) –  Dayton, OHOctober 25, 2017
nice place to work. strict on attendance. room for advancement. willing to educate and send to school for work shop. very clean and organized. I miss the people the most..
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at OERLIKON. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.3
Based on 110 reviews
523
433
326
212
116

See reviews about

3.2Work/Life Balance
3.6Compensation/Benefits
2.7Job Security/Advancement
2.8Management
3.0Culture