Ogilvy & Mather Employee Reviews

Found 182 reviews matching the search See all 540 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No process, no training, bad morale
Digital Producer (Former Employee) –  New York, NYNovember 14, 2018
Lack of best practices and efficiencies plague production.
There's inadequate training for the digital side of production that creates a total lack of standards across projects, thus reinvents the wheel for every project and creates a lack of efficiencies, proper understanding of timelines + understanding and respect of roles.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interesting clients but not interesting enough to stay
Assistant Account Executive (Former Employee) –  Washington, DCJanuary 7, 2019
Not a positive experience during the 11 months I spent there. Interesting clients but no work-life balance and people were constantly stressed. Very smart colleagues though.
Pros
everyone gets the week off between Christmas and New Years
Cons
work-life balance, pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Was a fun place to work. Friendly people who worked hard and played hard.
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  New York, NYOctober 24, 2018
Working at Ogilvy & Mather was always fun and busy. Always learning new procedures and ways of working smarter. Outgoing, friendly people. Understanding management.
Pros
Summer Fridays off. Free lunches from reps. Staff outings.
Cons
Often very busy and demanding, but fulfilling.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great kickstart to my career
Assistant Account Executive (Former Employee) –  Los Angeles, CASeptember 16, 2018
Ogilvy provided me with amazing entry level experience! The reputation of the company allows for career advancement, but there is not a lot of promotion within (which seems commons for most agencies). I experienced a great work/life balance and was not insanely overworked.
Pros
Great location, big-name clients
Cons
Poor management and mentorship
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I worked as a copyeditor, reviewing advertisements and campaigns, proposals, and digital information
Copyeditor/proofreader (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILOctober 10, 2018
Ogilvy was a great place to work at. It was vibrant and the work was never boring. My group was especially tight and good camaraderie, mainly because of the two managers of the division.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent
Engagement Strategy Intern (Former Employee) –  New York, NYJuly 17, 2018
-Created consumer personas based on Mediamark data used in client creative review rounds
-Designed and composed a weekly industry updates newsletter distributed to the entire UPS client team
-Provided research towards developing social strategy for new client partnerships
-Created a mock direct marketing campaign for Showtime Networks and formally presented deck to Showtime board of executives
-Attended information sessions with agency professionals and garnered extensive knowledge of agency operations
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Company
Vice-President, Retail Marketing (Former Employee) –  Roswell, GAOctober 21, 2018
Ogilvy lives a bit on its reputation but is also an excellent employee and brand driven company. It's leaders are cool, company is driven by ad and digital space and they are fair. Overall, I liked this company.
Pros
Brands
Cons
A little rigid in approach
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was great while it lasted.
AMEX Field Sales (Former Employee) –  New York, NYOctober 4, 2018
Loved it there. Everything went away after contract was lost. I have yet to find another position like it since. You were given the resources and product to be successful and it was up to you to make it happen.
I like that.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Exciting workplace, smart coworkers
Account Supervisor (Former Employee) –  New York, NYOctober 16, 2018
Smart coworkers in fast-paced competitive environment.

Leadership distant.

Variety of excellent and cut-throat managers.

Exciting work culture for industry leading firm.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Solid Agency
Client Finance Analyst (Current Employee) –  New York, NYJanuary 2, 2019
This was my first full time job at Ogilvy. I learned a ton at the agency and got exposure to higher level tasks. I could not have asked for much more as an entry level employee.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent
Research and Intelligence Intern (Former Employee) –  New York, NYMay 29, 2018
Working for Ogilvy was one of the greatest opportunities of my professional career. Although I only interned for 10 short weeks, I was awestruck by the impressive clientele and culture at Ogilvy. I would recommend this company to anyone who is looking to jumpstart their career in a fun, dynamic, challenging, and inspiring place.
Pros
Great people, awesome office space, good work-life balance
Cons
Advancement opportunities, agility, security
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Associate, Planner (Former Employee) –  Parsippany, NJNovember 9, 2018
Not bad, but not really forward thinking. NOTE I did NOT work at O&M I worked at a sub-brand agency.

If you want room to try new things and push things outside of the box. Keep looking.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This is a fast paced high profile agency recognised for blue chip clients and great work.
Associate Creative Director (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILJune 28, 2018
A typical day at work starts at 9 and you are allowed to work on your own and collaborate with talented people.Great people, great compensation, great locations, great, great, great.
Pros
Great work environment, great pay.
Cons
Not full time.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great clients
Senior Partner (Former Employee) –  New York, NYDecember 12, 2018
a very fun experience from the clients but limited training for the younger managers. a bit dog eat dog and high turnover from winning and losing clients.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Experience with different brands
BI Analyst Business Intelligence (BI) Analyst (Former Employee) –  Distrito FederalJune 1, 2018
I worked with different brands like Nestle, American Express, Bimbo, Coca Cola.
I learned to manage Google Analytics and make strategies for each one
Pros
knowledge of different business deals
Cons
know how to handle different businesses at the same time
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall a very good company
Vice President, Management Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Parsippany, NJJuly 4, 2018
Ogilvy and Mather is a solid organization with new leadership that is taking a long hard look at the organization structure. This organization is well respected in the world of advertsing
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great internship
Account Management Summer Intern (Former Employee) –  New York, NYJune 6, 2018
Was a summer intern after my junior year in college. Great program, you are exposed to multiple levels of management and the intern project is a great way for you to learn how to complete a project from start to finish.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The Sacramento office was fun and intellectually challenging
Vice President (Former Employee) –  Sacramento, CAFebruary 14, 2018
I enjoyed working at Ogilvy. Although it was less than a year, it seemed like alot longer given the challenging and fast-paced work that I was managing. It is a great environment for entry and mid-level associates to learn. As for more senior positions, you are provided opportunities to grow your own book of business and looked at to lead your team while maintaining high client satisfaction.
Pros
Opportunity for advancement, benefits, team culture
Cons
Work life balance
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun and creativity
Prep Cook (Former Employee) –  New York, NYJune 7, 2018
work work work and work
learned to run a salad bar
management is awesome
workplace is relaxed
the hardest part is doudting yourself
I enjoy what I do everyday
Pros
free food
Cons
low pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good agency with excellent benefits
Partner, Senior Account Supervisor (Former Employee) –  New York, NYMarch 30, 2018
Big agency with lots of varying accounts to work on. Decent management but a well structured agency. Room to advance if you are good at your job. Liked working here.
Pros
Big, good benefits
Cons
big agency if you like a small feel
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Ogilvy & Mather. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.1
Based on 540 reviews
5213
4202
389
223
113

Ratings by category

3.6Work/Life Balance
3.5Compensation/Benefits
3.5Job Security/Advancement
3.6Management
4.0Culture

Women's ratings

3.2Fairygodboss Score

40%say women are treated fairly and equally to men

75%would recommend to other women

Fairygodboss provides free job reviews for women, by women.

Powered by Fairygodboss