Oklahoma City University Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not fully supported by administration
Head Men's Wrestling Coach (Former Employee) –  Oklahoma City, OKApril 13, 2018
Lack of job security and stability. Long hours and too little pay for the work that was being done. Did not receive much feedback from supervisor on job performance.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sharpened my computer and phone answering skills
Technician (Former Employee) –  Oklahoma City, OKJanuary 18, 2018
Pretty laid back, I would answer phones and help people around campus with any tech problems they were experiencing as well and the professors in the classroom. I also reprogramed every computer on campus with new software by my self over a summer.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place
MBA Candidate (Former Employee) –  Oklahoma City, OKNovember 9, 2017
I love OCU - fantastic culture, great teamwork, and tons of fun. Higher education is vital to the success of our country and OCU is a fantastic place to be.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great colleagues
Clinical Instructor (Current Employee) –  Oklahoma City, OKOctober 30, 2017
Great campus amenities, colleagues, activities for everyone. Work-load balance and mentoring from seasoned co-workers. One on one interaction with students - it's a great place to work.
Pros
support
Cons
comp.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Was a wonderful place to work
Lead Cashier -- Bookstore (Former Employee) –  Oklahoma City, OKSeptember 25, 2017
Basically starting my career at Oklahoma City University was a great benefit to me. I was able to learn at a young age what is expected from an employee and an employer. Not everyone gets to experience that and it only helped me learn how to be a great employee.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Adjunct Faculty
Adjunct Instructor (Former Employee) –  Oklahoma City, OK 73106August 15, 2017
I loved teaching and greatly enjoyed the opportunities to provide each of the students basic nutritional information for their lives and careers. My job was to provide that information. The student's job was to accept and utilize the data.
Pros
The pros are interacting with the students.
Cons
There are no perks or benefits as an adjunct faculty
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Technical theatre
Assistant Technical Director (Former Employee) –  TheaterJuly 21, 2017
Assistant Technical Director and Scenic Designer: Responsible for coordinating support for the Technical Director for college dance, music and drama productions. Responsible for set construction, scene painting as well as the execution for load-in, set up, strike/load-out of theatrical productions.
Pros
Good working conditions with very qualified co-workers
Cons
Immediate supervisor difficult to work with at times.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Feast or Famine
Ongoing Resident Assistant (Current Employee) –  Oklahoma City, OKJune 18, 2017
On average as a CA, you will be expected to work at least 50 hours a pay period minimum, but you can easily clock 60 depending on how busy the camps and conferences are.
Pros
Free Housing with wifi, internet and cable
Cons
Low pay, expected to work at a moments notice, even after midnight
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Diverse and friendly
Financial Aid Counselor (Current Employee) –  OKC, OKMay 21, 2017
Oklahoma City University is a great institution of Higher learning. A great culture and friendly, hard-working faculty and staff. A fair balance of work and life. Close-knit staff that really care about their employees and students.
Pros
Fridays off in the Summer
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Accounting/Student Services Specialist (Former Employee) –  Oklahoma City, OKNovember 8, 2016
Enjoyed my time at Oklahoma City University. While only there a short time, it left a positive experience and I am grateful for the opportunity to work there.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice place to work and learn to advance your career
Assistant Communications & Outreach (Former Employee) –  Oklahoma City, OKMay 31, 2016
Very nice coworkers.
Awesome supervisor.
The facilities are great and convenient.
The system is a bit conservative.
The environment is warm and friendly.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place
Full-time MLA Student (Former Employee) –  Oklahoma City, OKJanuary 23, 2016
pro place to learn a lot of international student,

good environment to study, a lot of internship

the most enjoyable part group study
Pros
non
Cons
non
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved my job
Clinical Nursing Instructor (Current Employee) –  Oklahoma City, OKSeptember 22, 2015
I loved working with students. I felt I was making a difference. My co-workers were very supportive while I was working towards my degree. The hardest part was that at times we all worked in overload and felt we did not even have time to take a breath and then for "fun" we would be asked to do something else.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working to change lives
Assistant Coach (Current Employee) –  Oklahoma City, OKSeptember 14, 2015
Fun competitive place to work, it was not about the out come of the games , but more about the development of the players as athlete and members of society.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Really nice work place
Office Assistant, Faculty Support (Former Employee) –  Oklahoma City, OKAugust 30, 2015
it was a really nice professional work space where everyone knew their duties. excellent break room facilities. Basically we had a lot of time for our selves. personal space was really respected. Learned about mailing procedures. Hardest part of the job was staying awake in slow days.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Positive work atmosphere
Help desk, tech support (Former Employee) –  Campus TechnologyAugust 3, 2015
A typical day at work starts by reviewing call tickets and start going over the queue to handle clients' needs. the working team make sure to provide excellent customer service to the campus community by answering 50 calls and onsite help requests per week.
Pros
flexible hours
Cons
low benefits
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Music Organization, Filing, Archiving
Ensemble Recording Specialist/Librarian (Former Employee) –  Oklahoma City, OKMay 13, 2015
Day consisted of recording events suchas recitals, guest recitals, master classes. Archiving the recorded material was also a duty and making it available to the artist. Organizing choral music was also a duty and providing the music for the choir directors.
Pros
Exposure to different musical artists.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Executive Chef, Sodexo Campus Services (Former Employee) –  Oklahoma City, OKMarch 2, 2015
had a good experience working for Sodexo. Very busy and lots of catering. I would recommend this company to others. Management was great
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ececutive Chef/Assistant general Manager
Executive Chef (Former Employee) –  Oklahoma City, OKFebruary 7, 2015
 Monitored budget and food cost percentages averaging 31%
 Monitored production activities through FMS (Food Management System) and through daily production with staff
 Directly responsible for educating and training staff
 Scheduling of foodservice staff
 Accountable for the recording of received invoices
 Management of ADP payroll
 Generating, costing, and monitoring of production of high end catering menus
 Purchasing
 Directly responsible for a good relationship with clients through customer service
 Coordinating and participating in the daily activities involving the account
 Performance appraisals
 Quality Assurance
 Ensures that all HACCP and local sanitation codes are followed and recorded
 Overall directly responsible for all foodservice activities
Pros
Appreciative client, knowledgable staff
Cons
relocation from previous account
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good college
Work Study Technician (Former Employee) –  Oklahoma City, OKJanuary 26, 2015
combinations of college life with everything else... Good place to learn and to make new friends!!!
Pros
well equipped class rooms
Cons
too expensive
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Oklahoma City University. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.1
Based on 36 reviews
515
413
35
22
11

Ratings by category

3.8Work/Life Balance
3.1Compensation/Benefits
2.9Job Security/Advancement
3.4Management
3.9Culture

Ratings from women

InHerSight Score
2.8

3.0Personal Development

2.6Career Opportunities

2.8Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight

Oklahoma City University Reviews by Location