Oklahoma City University Employee Reviews

Showing all 47 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly working environment
Part-time Administrative assistant (Current Employee) –  Oklahoma City, OKFebruary 9, 2019
Employees are working all together as a family.
Great communication inter-departmentally.
Time flexibility
Good management but low salary-paid.
Most working independently
Pros
Slow
Cons
Timeflexibility
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
laid back
Network and System Engineer (Former Employee) –  Oklahoma CityJanuary 24, 2019
good to work if you do plan to make much money, very casual open to ideas, and allow to produce your idea, some management very closed minded and want to stay in the past
Pros
casual
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great environment to work at!
Executive Chef (Former Employee) –  Oklahoma City, OKAugust 8, 2018
I loved working at OCU. It was too bad that Sodexo lost this account. This was a dream job of mine! I got to know a lot of the students personally and really enjoyed seeing them on a daily basis
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Fun.
Maintenance Worker (Current Employee) –  Oklahoma City, OKJune 13, 2018
I learned a lot about plumbing and different things that have to do with a house through this job. the job is extremely fun and very interesting. You work with older people and other students so it is pretty well balanced.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Extremely Exclusive Music Conservatory
Student (Former Employee) –  Oklahoma CityMay 27, 2018
I was principle flutist in the schools Wind Philharmonic, Symphony Orchestra, Flute Choir, Woodwind Quintet, Flute Quartet, Early Music Ensemble, as well as Pit Orchestra for Operas. I loved being able to get so many oppourtunities to rise and learn new things. It is the hardest thing i've ever done, but has given me more skills than I could have imagined.
Pros
Amazing teachers
Cons
no regard for student well being
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
enjoyable
Private Lesson Instructor (Current Employee) –  Oklahoma City, OKMay 17, 2018
I teach private lessons and schedule them personally. The office staff is easy to work with and very accommodating. I will continue to work for them part time.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Exciting place to work
Director (Former Employee) –  Oklahoma City UniversityMay 10, 2018
I enjoyed my time at Oklahoma City University. My colleagues were the top in their field, and maintained relevance on the international level. I was afforded many scholarly opportunities and will always cherish my time there.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Competitive and Fun place to work
Assistant Men's Basketball Coach (Current Employee) –  Oklahoma City, OKMay 9, 2018
OCU is the premiere destinaiton in Small College Athletics. With over 66 national championships, OCU is a very competitive employer with very high standards. I would highly recommend working with this excellent athletic department if given the opportunity.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Disconnected Culture, Poor Management
Athletic Trainer (Current Employee) –  Oklahoma City, OKMay 9, 2018
Hours are very inconsistent, not a supportive work culture, did not feel secure and supported by other staff members. Some Coaching staffs are supportive and encouraging. Teams/Athletes have positive attitudes. Overworked and Underpaid.
Pros
Some Free Meals
Cons
Pay rate, inconsistent hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great people, rough pay
Reports to the Dean and Assistant Dean (Current Employee) –  Oklahoma City, OKMay 1, 2018
The people are really great, especially depending on the department you are in. In most cases, staff is treated to do the grunt work and paid much less but at least they are nice about it.
Pros
free lunches, no unnecessary meetings, nice people, good time off
Cons
low pay, not great delegation of tasks.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not fully supported by administration
Head Men's Wrestling Coach (Former Employee) –  Oklahoma City, OKApril 13, 2018
Lack of job security and stability. Long hours and too little pay for the work that was being done. Did not receive much feedback from supervisor on job performance.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and pays a college student decent money
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Oklahoma City, OKMarch 31, 2018
recommend to work there if you are a student easy work for the amount you get paid it is a work study job so there is enough time to balance school work and personal life
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sharpened my computer and phone answering skills
Technician (Former Employee) –  Oklahoma City, OKJanuary 18, 2018
Pretty laid back, I would answer phones and help people around campus with any tech problems they were experiencing as well and the professors in the classroom. I also reprogramed every computer on campus with new software by my self over a summer.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place
MBA Candidate (Former Employee) –  Oklahoma City, OKNovember 9, 2017
I love OCU - fantastic culture, great teamwork, and tons of fun. Higher education is vital to the success of our country and OCU is a fantastic place to be.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great colleagues
Clinical Instructor (Current Employee) –  Oklahoma City, OKOctober 30, 2017
Great campus amenities, colleagues, activities for everyone. Work-load balance and mentoring from seasoned co-workers. One on one interaction with students - it's a great place to work.
Pros
support
Cons
comp.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Was a wonderful place to work
Lead Cashier -- Bookstore (Former Employee) –  Oklahoma City, OKSeptember 25, 2017
Basically starting my career at Oklahoma City University was a great benefit to me. I was able to learn at a young age what is expected from an employee and an employer. Not everyone gets to experience that and it only helped me learn how to be a great employee.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Adjunct Faculty
Adjunct Instructor (Former Employee) –  Oklahoma City, OK 73106August 15, 2017
I loved teaching and greatly enjoyed the opportunities to provide each of the students basic nutritional information for their lives and careers. My job was to provide that information. The student's job was to accept and utilize the data.
Pros
The pros are interacting with the students.
Cons
There are no perks or benefits as an adjunct faculty
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Technical theatre
Assistant Technical Director (Former Employee) –  TheaterJuly 21, 2017
Assistant Technical Director and Scenic Designer: Responsible for coordinating support for the Technical Director for college dance, music and drama productions. Responsible for set construction, scene painting as well as the execution for load-in, set up, strike/load-out of theatrical productions.
Pros
Good working conditions with very qualified co-workers
Cons
Immediate supervisor difficult to work with at times.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Feast or Famine
Ongoing Resident Assistant (Current Employee) –  Oklahoma City, OKJune 18, 2017
On average as a CA, you will be expected to work at least 50 hours a pay period minimum, but you can easily clock 60 depending on how busy the camps and conferences are.
Pros
Free Housing with wifi, internet and cable
Cons
Low pay, expected to work at a moments notice, even after midnight
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Diverse and friendly
Financial Aid Counselor (Current Employee) –  OKC, OKMay 21, 2017
Oklahoma City University is a great institution of Higher learning. A great culture and friendly, hard-working faculty and staff. A fair balance of work and life. Close-knit staff that really care about their employees and students.
Pros
Fridays off in the Summer
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Oklahoma City University. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.2
Based on 47 reviews
522
416
36
22
11

Ratings by category

3.9Work/Life Balance
3.3Compensation/Benefits
3.1Job Security/Advancement
3.6Management
3.9Culture

Ratings from women

3.0InHerSight Score

3.1Personal Development

2.8Career Opportunities

2.8Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight

Oklahoma City University Reviews by Location