Olameter Cproration Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
If you work hard you can make money
Meter Reader (Current Employee) –  Evansville, INFebruary 12, 2018
I work for a olameter for over a year now and I love my job. Being outside and having nobody over my shoulder is what I like best. I have no problems with the manager and all you have to do is your job and he leaves you alone. I make an average of 650 to $750 a week here.
Pros
Being outside work alone
Cons
Weather
Was this review helpful?Yes 11No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible job.
Meter Reader (Former Employee) –  Evansville, INFebruary 5, 2018
Alone time was nice but that's literally the only good thing I can say about this job. Manager is a terrible person both personally and to work for. The company doesn't care about it's employees and the pay is not worth the effort.
Pros
Work alone mostly
Cons
Everything else
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Family Oriented
Meter Reader (Current Employee) –  Beaumont, TXJanuary 31, 2018
Deal with up to 300 customers on a daily basis, i learned to be patient on this job, although i've been meter reading for 9 years my heart is desiring a promising career where growth can be established
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor poor management
Meter Reader (Former Employee) –  Amite, LAJanuary 21, 2018
Wife is the secretary husband the owner. Nepotism number one problem. Poor communication and management had a low tolerance to train new workers. A young man worked there was approached by a dog on a property and hurt himself getting off of the premises and nothing was done. No compensation for injury on the job. Employer need a lot of improvement or turnover will always be high
Pros
Good work schedule
Cons
Pay to low after training
Was this review helpful?Yes 9No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working independently has it's bonuses
Meter Reader (Current Employee) –  Kalamazoo, MIDecember 16, 2017
Typical work day come into the office grab your equipment and go out to work, you won't have a boss over your shoulder through out the day. They believe in promoting from within the company so advancement opportunities are always available as well as relocation to other areas. You don't have a lot of interaction with your co workers as you are working independently through out your day. Hardest part of the job is dealing with the weather. Pay can vary but depends heavily on you if you work hard and stay motivated you can make great pay checks.
Pros
Advancement, pay, working independently
Cons
Benefits
Was this review helpful?Yes 11No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Job itself is cool. The managers and people you work with are awful
Reader (Former Employee) –  Connersville, INDecember 7, 2017
While working here I was sick from the nasty weather which you're not provided clothing for. I was almost bit by several dogs luckily I played attention to the training and used my spray. I enjoyed developing relations with some of the customers.i didn't like have to go out after my day was done to help others who went home to play Xbox. Nothing ever happened to the Xbox playing reader he's still there
Pros
Work by yourself
Cons
Insurance and management
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Independent low stress job
Meter Reader (Former Employee) –  New Orleans, LADecember 1, 2017
Piece rate .15 cent a meter. If you work hard you get paid. Good manager. Company car. Same routes each month if the office works as a team the job can be easy
Was this review helpful?Yes 10No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Don’t get job here
Meter Reader (Current Employee) –  Corydon, INOctober 12, 2017
The job it’s self is not bad. It’s the people you work with and work for. You are cattle to them. If you think something would be smart to do they will do the opposite.
Pros
None
Cons
The company.
Was this review helpful?Yes 17No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Right hand doesn't know anything about left hand
Electric meter reader (Former Employee) –  Lafayette, INSeptember 8, 2017
Routes may or may not be in any order, no notes, no location codes. Maybe there's a vicious dog or not? If lines are buried, you walk around looking for a meter because you don't know if it's in the right, back, left, etc. or it may be that there should have been a note in the Itron that said to skip one. Very unorganized and no leadership. You won't see the same routes every month so you can't get routes in order.
Pros
Some flexibility
Cons
All of everything
Was this review helpful?Yes 29No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awfulvplace to work
Meter Reader (Current Employee) –  Clarksville, INSeptember 6, 2017
Nothing you can do is ever good enough pay sucks fellow coworkers are cut throat and they pretty much throw u to the wolves unsure of everything dont train properly
Pros
None
Cons
Everything
Was this review helpful?Yes 40No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I want to kill myself
Meter Reader (Former Employee) –  KansasJuly 30, 2017
Drive personal vehicle
Pay for all gas used on the job
No help if your car brakes down no one cares they still want the job done.
You get verbally abused
Told your to weak and stop wining so much
drug abuse is horrible and the drug screen is easy to get by due to the three to four day window anyone can pass
Pros
Don't ever work for this company
Cons
dont
Was this review helpful?Yes 50No 7Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Better off working someplace else
Meter Reader (Former Employee) –  Forrest City, ARJuly 29, 2017
Company went to piece rate (.23 cents a meter) to save company money. Your check could be descent one pay period and terrible the next. In hot weather you have to buy your own water or Gatorade. Company does not provide you anything but dog spray and 5 t-shirts to wear. Trucks you drive are high mileage and you are responsible for repairing them. Sometimes I would have to buy gas for my truck when company issued credit card would not work. Management doesn't care because they are not the ones walking for miles in the hot sun and freezing cold.
Pros
Very little supervision
Cons
Dogs, rude customers, trucks break down a lot, piece rate.
Was this review helpful?Yes 33No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Revloving door
Customer order worker (Former Employee) –  New Castle, INMay 21, 2017
Pay went from hourly to piece rate to save the company money and take it from employees. Take home trucks taken away. Management switched to husband wife team which is again company policy for everyone else
Pros
No weekend work
Cons
Poor management
Was this review helpful?Yes 18NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a bad place if you are willing to work. Saw lots of people come & go.
Meter Reader (Former Employee) –  Ann Arbor, MIMay 11, 2017
Was basically on your own. Had specific route to cover reading water meters, & had so many reads that needed to be complete by time frame. Hours were flexible but rate of pay was piece rate, so the competitive effect was there. If you were lazy, you didn't make money, or if you were shorthanded, overtime had to be made. You were on deadlines. Weather was an issue as all of the jobs were in the elements. Which was a good part and bad part on raining days. Snow was not bad, but I hated the rain.
Pros
Piece rate, could make good money, if you wanted to work harder
Cons
Elements of weather, rain, snow, some areas were more walking than other.
Was this review helpful?Yes 20No 8Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No review
Contract Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Ann Arbor, MIApril 11, 2017
The job is a really good place to start work at if you like the outside environment. Minimum supervision as long you are doing your job correctly in a timely manner.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 10Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive work place
Locate Technician (Current Employee) –  North CarolinaJanuary 30, 2017
Decent job with ok benefits...kinda ok management and a great hr department. You work alone with little supervision and you gotta be perfect to get a raise
Was this review helpful?Yes 16No 9Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall a good place to work. Enjoyed the scenery and alone time.
Meter Reader (Former Employee) –  Conway, ARJanuary 13, 2017
This job isn't for the lazy. You can make a lot of money reading meters. You get paid for the meters you read, not hourly. A lot of walking. Just make sure they pay you your ot. I was awarded employee of the month in September. Management needs work.
Pros
Working alone
Cons
Healthcare
Was this review helpful?Yes 42No 17Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very good job
Dispatcher/Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Little Rock, ARDecember 2, 2016
Dispatching loads for different drivers. Providing very excellent customer service. Management was great in every type of way. I learned how to have great people skills at this job.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 10Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible people
Locator Technician (Former Employee) –  Baton Rouge, LASeptember 18, 2016
I worked for this company faithfully and they did not appreciate my time. I never got paid for over time and they lied on many occasions on me getting a raise. All they did was work me for free and talk about me.
Was this review helpful?Yes 38No 8Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall decent job
Meter Reader (Current Employee) –  ArkansasSeptember 14, 2016
Benefits suck but the opportunity to make great money is there .....the work environment is great .....but this job requires extended periods of walking sometime hours......overall a decent job
Pros
When u finish your assignment you are free to go ....
Cons
Bad dogs, rude people and workloads can sometimes be very overwhelming
Was this review helpful?Yes 35No 16Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Olameter Cproration. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

2.2
Based on 30 reviews
53
44
35
23
115

Ratings by category

2.3Work/Life Balance
2.0Compensation/Benefits
1.9Job Security/Advancement
1.9Management
2.1Culture