OLD KENT BANK Employee Reviews

Showing all 25 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company... very large.
Consumer Portfolio Manager (Former Employee) –  Cadillac, MIMay 7, 2018
My only concern is that obvious avenues of advancement were already slated to 'friends or colleagues regardless of skillsets and education. It causes a great many stellar employees to abandon ship eventually.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Old Kent
Bank Teller (Former Employee) –  Mount Clemens, MIFebruary 13, 2018
It was a very difference and first experience working at the bank. I am glade I had an opportunity to work their. This experience was great to have.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Customer Service Representative
Consumer Loan Assistant, AVP (Former Employee) –  Petoskey, MISeptember 9, 2017
Teller duties, balancing cash, opening new accounts, customer service. Consumer Loan Assistant, worked with auto dealers on new and used vehicle loans by assisting the lender with the debt ratios and automobile values. Managed a staff of 6 people, responsible for scheduling, customer service and opening of new accounts
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great opportunity
Financial Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Okemos, MIMay 13, 2017
Summer internship gave a great opportunity to explore the world of Retail sales. Company car provided to travel from store to store cutting in latest product.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
bought out by another bank
Proof Operator (Former Employee) –  Grand Rapids, MIApril 17, 2017
Proof operator at this bank - 100% ten-key, verifying total of checks equaled deposit slips/cash back. Top ten performer for speed and accuracy. Part Time.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Old Kent doest exist
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Oak Lawn, ILFebruary 24, 2017
Not sure why this review is required because Old Kent has not been around for over 15 years since it was bought out by Fifth Third Bank
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work-they were bought by Fifth Third
Personal Banker (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILOctober 11, 2015
Good mid-sized Bank..They were employee friendly Manager could manage st his discretion which gave him flexibility to help the customers
Pros
Customer oreinted
Cons
Systems needed to be updated
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Old Kent Bank
CUSTOMER SERVICE REPRESENTATIVE (Former Employee) –  28th st . Grand Rapids, MIOctober 10, 2015
Old Kent Bank was a great place to work. I loved working there!
A typical work day involved assisting customers with deposits and withdraws , while suggesting certain financial programs that would benefit them greatly. Also, handling cash , operating a cash register, daily register balancing, operating and completing drive - thru transactions, and aid customers into their safety deposit boxes.
As well as, placing holds on accounts via phone.
We also helped other co - workers with various needs.
The only discrepancy I had was the Friday morning meetings.
Pros
A great place to work.
Cons
Friday morning meetings.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and productive workplace.
Community Development Officer (Former Employee) –  Kalamazoo, MichiganJuly 28, 2015
Implemented the daily operating plan for a $37 million branch employing 11 employees. Rolled out branch sales programs through regular meetings with the sales and operations teams. Monitored daily performance against business development and profitability objectives. Promoted excellence in customer service, cross-selling, and account management. Controlled the monthly audit and management reporting, VIP customer service, and community relations projects. Propelled 400% growth in Michigan State Housing Development Authority (MSHDA) loans.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Teller, Branch Operations, Accounts Controls (Former Employee) –  Grand Rapids MichiganMarch 3, 2015
I would balance account within the bank. Added entrys to spread sheets. Would have to contact other departments when there was an error so we could correct it. Had good co workers and management.
I enjoyed balancing the accounts and finding any errors.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
xxxxxx
Sr. Coupon Paying Agent (Former Employee) –  chicago, ilFebruary 26, 2015
I worked with this company for over 11 years. I embraced the challenges and enjoyed the people I worked with. Worked under a great management team.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This was a part-time job.
Part-Time Teller/CSR (Former Employee) –  Cadillac, MIApril 14, 2014
This job was a learning experience. The most enjoyable part of the job was the customers and learning new things regarding the banking industry.
Pros
Co-workers
Cons
Management, no benefits, low pay
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I very much enjoyed all my positions in my career with Old Kent Bank.
Multiple Titles -22 Years (Former Employee) –  Grand Rapids, MIMarch 4, 2014
Assist 100+ Information Technology employees, order & maintain supplies,develop & create forms & presentations, train employees on applications, maintain databases & schedules; provides administrative support; coordinates managers and executives schedules; answers, screens and directs incoming departmental calls; greets internal and external customers and answers routine questions and inquiries; directs questions of a complex nature to the appropriate individual. Sorts and distributes incoming mail as well as preparing outgoing mail and other correspondence; coordinates and arranges meetings, prepares agendas, reserves and prepares facilities; supports department personnel by assisting with copying, faxing, filing, mailings and other tasks of a similar nature; types letters and reports from rough drafts, making changes in grammar, punctuation or spelling needs; organizes and maintains confidential file system and files correspondence and other records; orders office supplies and arranges for equipment maintenance; responsible for all departmental time card records and working directly with Human Resources Department; responsible for back-up of front desk duties which includes greeting customers and handling multiple phone lines; assist with special projects and creation of forms and documents.
Pros
Keep very busy
Cons
No cons - Ioved this work.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I would give them a thumbs up even though I haven't worked for them in years.
Banking operations please refer to resume (Former Employee) –  Grand Rapids, MINovember 24, 2013
I learned the beginnings of operations starting at the proof dept. level very busy days I worked permanent pt. My mangrs. were usually very nice co-workers the same it just being pt. I loved the challenge of making deadlines.
Pros
Busy
Cons
Pt
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy company with a variety of positions.
Adjustment Specialist (Former Employee) –  Grand Rapids, MIJuly 18, 2013
Learned a variety of jobs from balancing transactions to looking up errors in transactions. Learn what happens to a real estate package that arrives at the Bank
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Was a Good Start
Car title researcher, lost title projects (Former Employee) –  Grand Rapids, MIJuly 11, 2013
My first job was with this company. I advanced within the department over the years that I worked there. I was working toward advancing more within the company when it was bought out.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Owosso, MIApril 11, 2013
I typically took loan payments, deposits, balance cash machine, worked in the main vault and opened safe deposit boxes.
My co workers were really great to work with. My managers were also great.
The hardest part of this job was calming down customers that may have been upset for one reason or another.
Pros
meeting a lot of new people
Cons
nothing i can really think of, it was a great place to work
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very fast paced
Wire Assistant, Clerical Assistant in Collections (Former Employee) –  Kentwood, MINovember 20, 2012
I would typically talk to many people and took wires the best part of the job was that I was able to meet all kinds of different people and the worst part I guess was when customers got mad at you.W
Pros
worked with lots of great people
Cons
very stressful
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Casual and comfortable
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Battle Creek, MINovember 13, 2012
Processed a variety of bank transactions.
Wonderful co-workers and down to earth manager.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
people were easy to get along with
teller (Former Employee) –  Hillsdale, MISeptember 28, 2012
Fun Place to work. Fun people to be around. Worked as drive thru teller, was the same as Fifth third Bank
Pros
people were fun
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at OLD KENT BANK. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 25 reviews
59
49
33
22
12

Ratings by category

3.7Work/Life Balance
3.4Compensation/Benefits
3.5Job Security/Advancement
3.6Management
3.5Culture