Oldcastle Employee Reviews

Found 457 reviews matching the search See all 481 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
long work hours
Door Fabricator (Current Employee) –  Fife, WASeptember 13, 2018
not able to have a healthy personal life outside of work because I have to work so many hours. not compensated enough for the level of work that is performed.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fair to work for
MACHINE OPERATOR (Former Employee) –  Quakertown, PASeptember 11, 2018
Great safety environment. Job function and hours could have been better reflected, and maintained by management. Overall, not a bad place to work for.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very result oriented
Estimator (Former Employee) –  Coweta County, GASeptember 6, 2018
My time with Oldcastle was short but it was challenging for me which I loved, there was never a boring period. The people i worked with were also very welcoming and patient in helping me through the ropes.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Made good friends.
Sales Representative (Former Employee) –  Baltimore, MDAugust 30, 2018
Strenuous, unrealistic expectations of one person. Expected to work 50+ hours a week, including weekends. Constant travel of up to 6 hours each way.
Slow compensation, responsible for purchasing all tools necessary to complete projects.
No bonuses offered.
Pros
Travel.
Cons
Constant travel, expenses paid out of pocket.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Look elsewhere
Professional Truck Driver (Former Employee) –  Indianapolis, INAugust 28, 2018
Complaints fall on deaf ears. Equipment is always breaking down. Lies from management. There is some good people working there. With management changes it has the potential to be a good workplace.
Pros
Decent pay and family time.
Cons
Management, lies and equipment breakdowns
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
poor support by management
Sales Representative (Former Employee) –  Atlanta, GAAugust 18, 2018
management isn't in touch with customer's or employees needs, no job security for long time loyal employees, only concerned about bottom line and having employees do more with less
Was this review helpful?Yes 10No 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst place i have ever worked...
Driver (Former Employee) –  Tulsa OklahomaAugust 16, 2018
Had high hopes soon changed with a cutthroat culture management is to blame, will throw you under the bus quickly, work you like a dog 6 days a week and give you a hard time when you want vacation, hire and fire very quickly for lame reasons, don't wast your time at this company.
Pros
Paycheck
Cons
Management, equipment, screaming militant bosses
Was this review helpful?Yes 9NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Was 1st driver at waterloo IN location was treated poorly and disrespected by manangement
1st truck driver (Former Employee) –  Watetloo INAugust 15, 2018
Have over 14 years driving and was totally disrespected by management they also insulted me several times the equipment constantly broke down and it was common to work 60 + hours a week
Pros
Money
Cons
Disrespectfull management
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 1Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Workday
Crane Operator (Current Employee) –  Covington, GAAugust 6, 2018
I come in and I put on all of my ppe work attire. I go to my department and I look at the workload for the day. Then I set up my work center. I load my table up with glass, then I start to work. Once I meet half of the units on the workload for the day, I clean up my work center and I go home. You have to maintain 15 units of glass per hour, so you have to maintain a steady work pace.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Easy people to get along with and always something to do
Laborer/ forklift driver/ loader operator (Current Employee) –  Sparta, NJAugust 1, 2018
Employees were kind and always willing to help. Got to interact with the truck drivers. Was always something to do and keep you busy. Worked in all kinds of weather.
Pros
Kind people.
Cons
Company is shutting down
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 4Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Production driven don’t not apply
All positions (Former Employee) –  Mansfield, TXJuly 23, 2018
Production driven. They say safety first but production is first long hours 10+a day does not matter how cold or hot it is management sucks most just look out for them and don’t really care about you. You can’t move up here unless you are a favorite
Was this review helpful?Yes 16No 3Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice place to work
Truck Driver Class A (Current Employee) –  Scranton, PAJuly 21, 2018
I enjoy my job at oldcastle. The people in management are nice and laid back. You do your work in a timely and safe manner you have no problems. Pay is good along with the benefits.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 7Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company that continues to grow.
Executive Director (Current Employee) –  Atlanta, GAJuly 19, 2018
Great company with lots of change occurring in recent years.Would highly recommend employment opportunities. Company based in Ireland, but allows for significant autonomy by division.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 6Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Termination
Production Laborer (Former Employee) –  Commerce, CAJuly 19, 2018
They fired me because they said I had too many call outs, being tardy basically all of which were untrue. Based on the information that was given to me, I didn't even come close to being terminated based just on that reason alone. They can fire you for any reason they want to.
Pros
Good hours, pay
Cons
Co-workers
Was this review helpful?Yes 10No 5Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very busy job on the go all the time
Welder/Fabricator/Fitter (Current Employee) –  Madera, CAJuly 16, 2018
I actually love my job. I would like a more competitive pay scale but its a great place to work. Everyone is very professional and has very good attitudes towrad work.
Pros
Family Picnics and Safety lunches are both Awesome
Cons
You have got to perform day in and day out no slacking at all
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Just a job
Technology Administrator (Former Employee) –  Terrell, TXJune 29, 2018
Some of management didn't try to understand what their employees did but was quick to criticize. Felt that women were under valued and treated as substandard.
Pros
Good benefits
Cons
Poor management
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place if you dont enjoy your family
Maintenance Technician (Former Employee) –  Bonner Springs, KSJune 21, 2018
Just like the title says. 50 hour weeks....if your lucky you wont get asked to work more.

Some employees will bend over backwards to help you.
Some employees will bend over backwards to F you.
Pros
Pay, kinda.
Cons
rough environment, employee health, employee safety
Was this review helpful?Yes 9No 3Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Its a job
Saw Operator (Former Employee) –  Dallas, TXJune 21, 2018
It is an okay place to work when you need a job i was okay while i worked there. I dont have much bad to say it just wasnt enough money to help me pay my bills.
Pros
Pay
Cons
Weekly pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 3Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dont work there
Driver (Former Employee) –  Eagle idahoJune 18, 2018
Back stabbers...2 faced employees...favoritism and shifty schedules...they don't care if you have a family and you can never plan on doing anything except working too many days while senior drivers get weekends off...only thing good is the money...still not worth working there though....
Pros
Money
Cons
Favoritism...two faced managers...
Was this review helpful?Yes 11No 3Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A place with a lot of potential that goes untapped
Anchor Products-Sakrete (Current Employee) –  Holbrook, MAJune 17, 2018
This could be a really great place to work for. However, one hand often does not know what the other is doing. Communication is lacking top to bottom.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Oldcastle. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.3
Based on 481 reviews
5103
4137
397
267
177

Ratings by category

3.1Work/Life Balance
3.5Compensation/Benefits
2.8Job Security/Advancement
2.8Management
3.0Culture

Ratings from women

1.9InHerSight Score

1.8Personal Development

2.0Career Opportunities

2.2Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight

Powered by InHerSight