Olin Corporation Employee Reviews

3.7
Overall rating
Based on 149 reviews
Ratings breakdown
542
446
343
29
19
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Found 146 reviews matching the search See all 149 reviews
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The work is not bad but management is horrible!!!
Primer Mixer (Current Employee) –  East Alton, ILJuly 19, 2018
If it wasn't for the poor management i wouldn't be looking for another job. There is constant harassment and not much you can do about it. Other than that its a cool job.
Pros
Money
Cons
Poor management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Need a mechanical background. Willing to work in tight work space
Adjuster (Current Employee) –  Oxford, MSJuly 11, 2018
Good place to work for a person who takes their job with seriousness. Jobs are relevantly easy but can be stressful. Overtime is a must in most departments. Overall good place to work.
Pros
Hour paid break during the day
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very nice work environment
Utility Worker II (Former Employee) –  Oxford, MSJune 29, 2018
I would work there again being that there have been changes in management lately. They have a very flexible point system and work environment. They also gave good overtime hours.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Get a Foothold in the Plant World then JET!
Cell Operator (Current Employee) –  Plaquemine, LAJune 11, 2018
With the buyout Olin performed, taking a lot of Dow's chlorine production, they guaranteed their spot as a global leader in 4- 5 markets. A company with that current standing however, should back up their title by compensating their employees(the people who are the boots on the ground.)

Instead, the leadership at the Plaquemine site continue to say that if we are asked by someone why they should come to work for Olin, we are told to tell them "our story." Maybe the engineers can't wrap their troubleshooting minds around why there is such a high turnover rate, but if you look at the other plants along this area of the Mississippi River, they don't give you a "story", they give their employees better pay and much better benefits (including career development plans).

Years of poor management have allowed some rotten and un-caring people to become established in leadership roles. They do not show interest or care about the future of their employees.

All of this has been brought to leadership and nothing seems to have been worked on going on 3 years now. If things don't start improving they will find themselves yet another operator short. Although, as they have previously told operations who have years of experience here, "There are hundreds of people who will gladly take y'alls jobs."

All of that being said, I believe at the right site this company would be good to work for. Speaking to people at our sister site, across the river in St. Gabriel, they have a much better culture, better pay for work performed, and a more developed path for personal and professional development.
Pros
Easy day to day operations, easy rounds, you get to meet a lot of new and different people due to high turnover
Cons
Micro-managing supervisors, base salary 401k match (not gross like many of our competitors), difficult training system at our site (apparently other sites arent like this), called out after your shift has ended, called out on the weekends, no solid developement plan at our site
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Currently full time after a 6 month contract position.
Customer Service Representative (Current Employee) –  Houston, TXMay 28, 2018
Great teaching and learning environment. Travel as needed. Management supports new ideas. Growing group of new CSR's currently moved to Houston area.
Pros
Contract to Permanent position
Cons
Need to balance desks
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved working there when it was in Stamford, CT
Area Manager, Administrative Support (Former Employee) –  Stamford, CTMay 14, 2018
Company has relocated and no longer offers positions held some 20+ years ago. Not sure of current standing, so cannot comment on culture and job positions.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun hard work
Client Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Stamford, CTMay 10, 2018
Get team effort, great camaraderie. Corporate perks - hard work is appreciated. Managers are fair. Fun work environment Daily challenged, the days fly by
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent
Process Operator (Current Employee) –  Freeport, TXApril 24, 2018
Pay is low for area and benefits have gotten worse. The company doesn't like to spend money on its employees and could work better with the union on issues.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
money hungry company
Plant operator (Former Employee) –  Henderson, NVApril 15, 2018
It was a good place to work until global domination set in. Good pay, good benefits. Not an ideal work shift, but decent time off included in the difficult schedule.
Pros
union
Cons
union
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company
Accounting Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Henderson, NVMarch 26, 2018
This was a great company to work for. I was allowed to manage my departments independently. there was opportunity for advanced . I was promoted 4 time. and relocated to three locations. thew work culture was excellent.
Pros
Advancment
Cons
travel
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was just a job
Adjustor (Full-time) (Former Employee) –  Oxford, MSMarch 20, 2018
This company has potential to be great. The leadership roles are occupied by employees who are not properly trained or qualified for the roles. The jobs are appointed and credentials are irrelevant.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Competitive, collaborative and exciting job
Human Resources Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Lake Charles, LA, East Alton IL,March 18, 2018
There was a high level of company pride when I worked there in the 90's. The upper management was professional, in control of the company and appreciative of all employee efforts. The company was spread out over a large area and different work area could offer very different experiences. I liked the in house cafeteria and the company reward system. It was difficult to get a job there, but not difficult to stay there long term.
Pros
team efforts, company price, paid well, kind company
Cons
old buildings
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
Business Finance Manager (Current Employee) –  Midland, MIMarch 5, 2018
Good place to work. Management seemed to be OK except for my supervisor who all that worked for him, despised him. Management was made aware of his deficiencies by many, but shoes to take no actions. Almost all his direct reports transferred or quit. He did not pay me in accordance with our original agreements.
Pros
good people
Cons
low pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
PrProfessional enviorment U.S. Military, U.S. Secret Service, Olin Corp.
Security Consultant and Security Director (Former Employee) –  Norwalk, CTMarch 1, 2018
When leaving the U.S. Secret Service I became Security Director and Security Consultant at Olin Corp. My duties and responsibilities included interaction with the CEO, President , Chairman and their families, in addition to security responsibilities world wide. My career with the U .S. Military, Five U.S. Presidents, Nixon, Ford, Carter, Reagan, Bush 41, Olin Corporate executives personal families and homes, international travel. Mt work experience has been and is exceptional.
Pros
Professional enviornment
Cons
Nothing
Was this review helpful?YesNo 5Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor place to work
Logistics QA Coordinator/ Chemical Operator (Former Employee) –  McIntosh, ALJanuary 25, 2018
not the best place to have a career. The staff is cut throat, the facility is dangerous and has many safety hazards all in the plant. Management just keeps putting off repairs and keeping the plant at full steam ahead without thinking of safety of the employees.
Pros
Good pay
Cons
Poor management
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
n/a
Team Assembler (Former Employee) –  East Alton, ILJanuary 13, 2018
This was a decent company to work and had a lot of overtime. Good management and benefits and a good pension. It was a laid back atmosphere and stress free.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
caustic and chlorine plant
Main Control Room Operator (Former Employee) –  Augusta, GAJanuary 11, 2018
start day with turnover on plant conditions take readings pull samples make adjustments per readings and samples prepare equipment LOTO for maint. to work on
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Solid company
Lab Process Coordinator (Current Employee) –  Roberta, GADecember 28, 2017
Olin is a great company to be a part of and it has excellent fundamentals that it tries to instill in its work culture. Safety is a priority in the manufacturing sector, and that is what is most important at the end of the day.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy manufacturing plant with 2000+ employees
Watch Engineer (Former Employee) –  East Alton, ILNovember 23, 2017
Worked there 30 years, and intended on retiring from this company . The CEO and Board of Directors sold off the division I worked for with no advance warning resulting in my job being eliminated.
Pros
Good pay and benefits
Cons
No communication from upper management
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a very productive place to work
Shipping Operator (Former Employee) –  McIntosh, ALNovember 20, 2017
it was a great experience and im glad i got the opertunity! the people is what made that a good job! Iy was great experience in the chemical workplace!
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Olin Corporation. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Ratings from women

2.5InHerSight Score

2.4Personal Development

2.1Career Opportunities

2.9Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight

Powered by InHerSight