Ollie's Bargain Outlet Employee Reviews

Found 690 reviews matching the search See all 691 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Company but A Lot of Work
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Winston-Salem, NCNovember 16, 2018
The nature of this beast creates a lot of work for those employed here. But it was enjoyable. Filling up space because they make me put 150 characters.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive work place
Package Handler (Former Employee) –  Columbus, OHNovember 13, 2018
A typical day at Ollie`s would for me would be clocking in reporting to the Domestic department to supervise a team of 3 to unload u boat,stock shelves, price items and cashier.
Pros
N/a
Cons
N/a
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing
Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Ahoskie, NCNovember 13, 2018
Ollie’s Bargin outlet is an amazing place to work.
The co workers there fun to be around, easy to get along with and to talk to.
The management is also good
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's okay
Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Boardman, OHNovember 12, 2018
Caters to a certain type of person shopping for bargains. Some managers are okay, some are a nightmare. Staff is lovable friendly. A sense of community amongst your coworkers is very strong.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Parker, FLNovember 8, 2018
Preparing pallets, putting boxes on pallets, ticketing items, work place cultur fast paced, hard part being fast paced, fun part helping with the truck.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hired to set up store and worked as associate, stocker, cashier
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Zephyrhills, FLNovember 6, 2018
I was hired to set up the new store, I had previous experience doing it. Enjoyed the set up and the excitement corporate put into opening the news store. But then promised experienced people supervisor positions, but did not follow through. Instead placed people with no retail experience in supervisor positions they could not handle and had no idea how to do. Too many personality clashes, with managers who don't want to listen to suggestions on bettering the store. Too many people not being held accountable for their actions. If you can't get anything else - go for it. As a part time job , it makes you some money, and usually have overtime available.But if you want to be happy with the management and not being treated like a slave, Go somewhere else. I liked the other staff members who killed ourselves at work together- it built camaraderie But supervisors in the store I worked in except the ATL that was brouight in after opening treated like you like they were doing you a favor letting you work your rearendoff..
Pros
Half hour lunch, employee discount, Working conditions tend to bind you to your coworkers to survive.
Cons
Was a fun job when setting up store, and enjoyed working with my team mates.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Would be a great place to work if managed better, and not such low wages for supervisors.
Sales Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Wilmington, NCNovember 5, 2018
Ollie's would be a good establishment to work if it were managed better, and paid higher up/full time employees more for the work the employees do. It is a mediocre retail job.
Pros
Laid back work environment.
Cons
Wages, managment.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stressful and unfair
Assistant team leader (Former Employee) –  Steubenville, OHNovember 1, 2018
Hiring and firing was an unbelievable process. They let hard working people go and keep the bad ones for some reason.,I liked working there, but it seemed is was easy to let people go that didn't deserve and kept the ones that have no business there;
Was this review helpful?Yes 7NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Run
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  FloridaOctober 28, 2018
This place will not give you part time hours. Believe me, you'll be working full time for 6 days out of the week. You'll be lucky if you get a break.
Pros
Job
Cons
everything else
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
There is no regard to work/ life balance.
Assistant Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Commerce, GAOctober 25, 2018
There is no balance between what comes in and what goes out. To many trucks come in daily to properly handle them. there is no balance to the amount of trucks that come in, some days 35, other days 65+ to many to handle and still get out at decent time.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good job,sucky pay.
Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Merritt Island, FLOctober 24, 2018
I have worked less hard for more money. it doesn't make sense to pay only 9.25 for throwing truck and setting up the store. I can understand that for cashiers cause that's easy but they need better pay and benefits.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Run!
Loss Prevention Manager (Former Employee) –  Harrisburg, PAOctober 24, 2018
Should've ran after a nightmare of an onboarding. There is absolutely no teamwork and no work life balance. If you plan on taking a position be ready for 7 days a week and at least 12 hour days. Pay is below industry standards.
Pros
Discount
Cons
Work life- pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 7NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Slow
Sales Associate (part-time) (Current Employee) –  Uniontown, PAOctober 23, 2018
Work is very slow and boring. No body cleans their own mess. The store is always a mess. Department supervisors never do their job correctly and everything is out of place.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Review Summary of Ollie's
Sales Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Cordele, GAOctober 22, 2018
I was part of the initial store set up team. When I entered the building it was empty, I was/am a hard worker for this company. I always worked extra hours when asked, worked days off when asked, worked double and over night shifts. I am rarely late or out sick for any job. A typical day at work is busy and stressful. I am expected to do the work of about 4 people in 7.5 hours. That is not possible but that's what they expect. I've learned how the retail business works, which was a new field of work for me. The management varies. It has changed since I have been there. There are some days management is good and some days not.
The workplace culture is good. The hardest part of the job is the unrealistic expectations stated above. The most enjoyable part of the job is helping customers and my co workers are very friendly.
Pros
employee discounts
Cons
irregular hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to meet customer
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Cincinnati, OHOctober 17, 2018
fantastic place to work meeting great people everday. i learned how to be a great cashier how to balance the register to processing checks credits. hardest part of the was dealing with customers, but overall i leared how to deal with it.another thing i leared is how to stay positive.
Pros
contest
Cons
good discount
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great
Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Middletown, NYOctober 15, 2018
no complaints. the staff was great, hours were flexible. there was always an opportunity to move up the ladder there never back unless you did it to yourself.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nightmare
Team Leader (Former Employee) –  Lexington, VAOctober 14, 2018
a typical day would be to unload the truck and pretty much run the freight yourself because the store manager was busy making everyone else happy and telling them they didn't have to run freight. So it would fall on just a few people to do it.
Pros
benefits
Cons
everything else
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Company doesn't care about employees
CoTeam Leader (Former Employee) –  Pittsburgh, PAOctober 13, 2018
This company cares nothing about the people that works for them. They give you 3 times the amount of work you have time to accomplish, because they won't give the store hours! They want you to hire people but won't pay a decent wage or provide any hours for anyone. They care more about profit than people! The managers work freight relentlessly, and it's never enough.
Pros
Decent pay
Cons
Corporate robots, cant seperate reality from expectations
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible place and work environment
Co-Manager (Former Employee) –  Bossier City, LAOctober 12, 2018
Poorly managed company, being in management meant that you were a cashier, stocker, truck unloaded, recovery associate, janitor...no quality of work/life balances, discriminatory upper management.
Pros
a job
Cons
Everything else
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 1Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
never enough labor to get the job done
Store Team Leader (Current Employee) –  MichiganOctober 12, 2018
Company position is that all field work really supports the corporate headquarters not vice versa. They do not care for the employees in the field at all.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Ollie's Bargain Outlet. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.2
Based on 691 reviews
5127
4172
3188
2104
1100

See reviews about

3.0Work/Life Balance
2.7Compensation/Benefits
2.8Job Security/Advancement
2.9Management
3.0Culture

Ratings from women

2.5InHerSight Score

2.3Personal Development

2.8Career Opportunities

2.3Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight

Powered by InHerSight