Omaha World Herald Employee Reviews

Showing all 38 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Culture changing fast
Regional Manager (Current Employee) –  Omaha, NEFebruary 14, 2019
Work/Life balance is non-existent. The people in the organization are easy to work with. Fewer opportunities and activities for employees. I am able to make decisions independently that effect my group.
Pros
Certain level of autonomy
Cons
7 day work week
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Had to be up and at the building by 2am and out on routes by 230am
Contractor (Former Employee) –  Omaha nwOctober 27, 2018
Not good enough pay for the driving you do, in the little time you gotta do it.. people were kool but the lady that was teaching me made me read a spreadsheet the whole time doing the route and idk what houses was what... no longer gonna try n do that...
Pros
None
Cons
Everything
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A Changing industry
PC Support/Network Specialist (Former Employee) –  Omaha, NEOctober 5, 2018
The Omaha World Herald had to adapt to an ever changing world of declining print sales and tried to innovate the process of online subscriptions to keep relevant in the newspaper and information industry.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Job was horrible
Self Employed Contractor (Former Employee) –  Blair, NEAugust 29, 2018
We had to drive our own vehicles and regardless of how bars the roads/streets are in the winter the customers just had to have their paper. It was a job that you may make 100/week profit if your lucky
Pros
None
Cons
Weather
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It is becoming difficult due to increasing workloads due to layoffs in the last year
District Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Omaha, NEJuly 11, 2018
Looking to move forward to a better work environment. I enjoyed the job for most of my time there, and the fellow Supervisors are good, hard working people. But management seems to be removed from what is really important to us in the daily operation of our office. The people here are somewhat frustrated by several changes that makes it hard to do a good job each day
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I should have never left my job at this newspaper!
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Omaha, NEMay 8, 2018
I worked as a circulation customer service rep for about a year. i was voted their " rookie of the year" that year during their circulation awards, lol. i loved my job, but i made a bad decision and moved away. i wish i never left.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced, very repetitive easy work
Private Contractor (Former Employee) –  Bellevue, NEApril 29, 2018
I learned how to independently work at my own pace and some hands on labor but overall very easy work. Hardest part of the job would be working on holidays or when weather was inclement.
Pros
You're your own boss
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Co-workers were nice folks management too
Production Worker/Assembler (Former Employee) –  Omaha, NEFebruary 5, 2018
Was a pretty easy job just as long as u knew how to run ur ad and how to feed it could be stressful sumtimes when there was a deadline and people were goofing up on the assembly line
Pros
Benefits
Cons
Sometimes you would have really short days
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Rewarding Experience
Office Messenger (Former Employee) –  Omaha, NEJanuary 9, 2018
This job has the record of having given me the most diverse experiences in diversifying and strengthening my experience skills more than any previous job. I did bookkeeping, delivery, clerical and news reporting.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Monthly luncheons
Distribution Manager (Former Employee) –  Omaha, NEJanuary 8, 2018
This is a collaborative company with a lot of moving parts. It takes the efforts from Executives, Managers, Supervisors and Carries to make delivering newspapers a success for the customers/company.
Pros
Working with a lot of different departments and getting to know people.
Cons
Sometimes will have to work on days off
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Easy job if your looking for something part time
Delivery driver messenger (Current Employee) –  Omaha, NEJanuary 7, 2018
Fun and friendly place work. Staff are awesome. Easy part time job. Whether conditions is the only that makes it a little rough especially in the winter. Otherwise no complaints at all
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
work
sub contractor (Current Employee) –  Omaha, NEDecember 27, 2017
the hardest part of the job is when it snows and icy out.. takes a bit longer to deliver. other then that it is a great place to work. great place to work, the people are friendly. don't get to meet a lot of your customers
Pros
nice people
Cons
weather
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good environment to work in.
Janitor (Former Employee) –  Omaha, NESeptember 23, 2017
I clean office space, snack-room and public restroom also high and low dusting, pull trash, polishes wood furniture. I learned that your lead had pick and chose of favorite people. Management was very cool.
Pros
can go on lunch break any time wanted to.
Cons
the had his/her favorite people.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good for part time
Newspaper Delivery Carrier/ Independent Contractor (Current Employee) –  Omaha, NEAugust 15, 2017
Perfect job for extra income only. You do have a set base amount that you make but with customer complaints dwindles that amount. Charged for misses.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Start up culture
Director of New Business Development (Former Employee) –  Omaha, NEJune 14, 2017
They purchased our company to build custom analytics platforms for Berkshire Company. Lots of support but it was new to everyone. They eventually abandoned the project.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good experience
Security Officer (Former Employee) –  Omaha, NEApril 21, 2017
I understand things have changed but they do an excellent job. They keep you busy and the coworkers are great. Management is friendly and was easy to talk to and they wanted to be sure you were comfortable. The parties and meetings were always fun to work
Pros
Caring
Cons
a long way from me
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Building Engineer Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Omaha, NEMarch 28, 2017
I liked working with the people at Omaha World Herald It is a great place to work! Great working conditions and benefits and the people there are also fun to work with.
Pros
The people
Cons
Parking
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful place to work
Omaha World Herald (Former Employee) –  Omaha, NENovember 14, 2016
I loved working there and they had wonderful management and I enjoyed working with the people that worked there they were nice and understanding and also they were very helpful
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and focused
Contractor/Paper Carrier (Former Employee) –  Omaha, NEJune 3, 2016
its an extremely easy job. make ur own hours as long as its done by 5pm on wed. my supervisor was very understanding of personal issues and allowed the time I needed to handle them
Pros
make ur own schedule
Cons
dealing with snobby people that never get happy
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Guarantee You Won't Stay
Sales (Former Employee) –  Omaha, NEJune 2, 2016
Unrealistic
Low Pay
Cool co-workers that stay around 3 months or less.
Front the costs of business expenses.
You have to pay for a company phone that you can't keep if you leave before the 2 year contract is up unless you pay full price for the phone.

An over abundance of Managers and Directors with nothing to do.
You will never get a raise.
Parking is 87 to 120 a month.
You have to subscribe to the newspaper.
People Steal.
Pros
Nice Co-workers
Cons
stated above
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Omaha World Herald. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 38 reviews
515
410
38
22
13

Ratings by category

3.7Work/Life Balance
3.2Compensation/Benefits
3.2Job Security/Advancement
3.5Management
3.5Culture

Omaha World Herald Reviews by Location