Omni Hotels Employee Reviews for Guest Service Agent

Found 30 reviews matching the search See all 1,224 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Omni was a stop gap
Guest Services (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXMay 18, 2019
Upper management was horrible. I have been in the workplace for 30 years and have not seen an upper management team so disassembled. They lied to me about the future and were backstabbers and micro managers to the hilt.
Pros
Comradery
Cons
Being lied to and standing 7.5 hours per day, no pto or vacation for the first year.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not a great place
Guest Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Richmond, VANovember 27, 2018
The Omni is not that great of place. Health benefits are all 80% 20% with fairly large deductibles and massive out of pocket maximums. PTO is 13 days for hourly and you only get after a year. Managers get 17 days after 6 months. Don't look into reviews on Indeed or glassdoor. The Omni asks it "best" employees to rate them on glassdoor, so the rating is inflated by mostly managers. Terrible work life balance. Terrible managers, the richmond omni is just overall a terrible environment. the housekeepers come and go its so bad, as well as executives. The overall atmosphere at the Omni is no one actually wants to work and everyone is lazy. Avoid at all costs.
Pros
a paycheck
Cons
health insurance, worklife balance, stressful management
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Flexible enjoyable place to work
Guest Services - Bellman/ Concierge/Valet (Current Employee) –  Irving, TXNovember 14, 2018
The people who I’ve worked with at the Omni have all been pleasant. It’s a very laid back environment and guests are usually very grateful to be treated well.
Pros
$1 meals
Cons
Compensation never rises
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The hotel is a good company to work for mainly for single people or someone with no kids
Front Office Guest Service Agent (Current Employee) –  New Orleans, LAAugust 11, 2018
I think it would be beneficial for the Omni to Revamp everything so that the turn over is not as high. Management is very different as there are some that are involved vs others who are not as helpful.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice place to work.
Guest Service Suppervisor (Current Employee) –  Dallas, TXMarch 30, 2018
Great place to work.
Keep in Mind the pay is not good.
Most Talented Employees can not afford working for the Omni Hotels and resorts for a long period of time no matter what position you are fantastic at.
Pay is the main reason Omni has Employee turnover.

.
Some upper Management will only will speak to you if scores are not good.
Some will not say Good Morning or Evening to you as they walk by. Looks like they are Stressed out.

Keep your Chin up,A Smile on your Face.
Omni Hotel Guests will make your day and appreciate you and your talents that makes their stay at the Omni hotels and Resorts a memorable one.
And you will be the one they will remember!
Pros
1 dollar Lunches
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
omni
Guest relations (Former Employee) –  PennsylvaniaJanuary 3, 2018
Good benefits and professional company. Some jobs are easy to advance in while others are not but overall it is a good company to work for but they don't always listen to employees thoughts.
Pros
free lunches and discounts
Cons
work hours are erratic and sometimes long.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good
Corporate Guest Relations Specialist (Former Employee) –  Omaha, NENovember 6, 2017
the company was good and you can move up to different departments but there is not a lot of people that will help you move up in the company that you can trust
Pros
laid back
Cons
not trust worthy
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 1Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
stressfull
Corporate Guest Relations (Former Employee) –  Omaha, NESeptember 13, 2017
This company is full of double standers. The management is a joke and never follows through. No regards for any personal life events. Some one literally has to die for them to semi understand life happens.
Was this review helpful?Yes 9NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to work.
Bellman / Guest Services Associate (Former Employee) –  Indianapolis, INMay 12, 2017
I enjoyed my time with the Omni. It was a fun place to work. Good pay most days and a great atmosphere. The only drawback was management for my department. They had no real experience and commonly treated people extremely unequal.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company just poor mangement
Guest Services Agent (Current Employee) –  Atlanta, GAMarch 13, 2017
its a great company they just have very poor management here thats why alot of people leave and the pay is not to well for a 4 star hotel. All in all great team to work for
Pros
Great Team and company
Cons
poor management
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The Omni Mandalay at Las Colinas
Guest Services Associate (Current Employee) –  Irving, TXSeptember 29, 2016
The Omni Mandalay provided me with the opportunity to work while I attended school full time. It is a great place to work, especially if you need a flexible schedule. In addition, they find it important that employees are trained in the mannerisms of the hospitality industry, making sure that associates are more than, for instance, a bellman. This helps you grow professionally because it teaches you the proper way to address clientele or fellow associates. Another thing the Omni taught me is the meaning of going above and beyond. What I mean is people are incomprehensible; you do not know if they are having the best or worse day of their life, but a good attitude can help somebody on their worse day or it can continue to enhance their best day. Sending up somebody a bottle of house wine and cheese because they had a long day of delayed flights or travel can truly turn somebody's day around. Furthermore, that mentality as an Omni Associate, in my opinion, will carry over to other occupations in that you know going the extra mile for a customer will increase your standards of service, thereby making you a more valuable employee.
Pros
great customer service experience
Cons
The Mandalay has an old building which creates a lot of additional problems for associates.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
n/a
Guest Service Leader (Former Employee) –  San Antonio, TXSeptember 7, 2016
Good place to work, not all the time because some bad hiring. At all omni hotels is a great company that's I found. But I don't like to back there
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 3Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Job Outlook is Great but not time away for social or personal matters
Guest Services Department-Bellman/Valet (Former Employee) –  Corpus Christi, TXJune 3, 2016
I worked in Guest Services for two years and while trying to accomplish my goal of achieving my Bachelors Degree at TAMUCC, Management specifically the Guest Services Manager made attending school and completing homework a challenge on its own. Each week I had to fight for them to remake the schedule so I can tend to school, but after TWO years they still made it extremely difficult and somewhat a hostile work environment. They work you WAY TOO many hours..around 50+ per week. The only benefit was the tip based pay and good lunch meals in the cafeteria. I do not recommend this company for anybody going to school or want to work their way up the ladder, they do not promote well within the organization.
Pros
Lunch Cafeteria, Discounted Rooms
Cons
Overworked, poor staffing, no time for family, moral and focus become negative, short lunch breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes 11NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice place to work
Guest Services Representative (Former Employee) –  Jacksonville, FLDecember 5, 2015
Nice place to work, I would like to have a chance to go with this company but it just wasn't in the cards. My co-workers were a nice group of people
Pros
Free lunch or dinner
Cons
No room for advancement
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interaction with people
Concierge/Guest Services (Former Employee) –  Austin, TXNovember 3, 2015
It was good to work with great team but yo have to deal with many angry guest that are frustrated with the location of being downtown Austin which it can be loud since it is in the party scene.
Pros
Flexible management
Cons
Deal with drunk guest can be very difficult.
Was this review helpful?Yes 9No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A Multi tasking environment
Concierge/ Guest Service Agent (Former Employee) –  Atlanta, GAOctober 23, 2015
The Omni Hotel was a fun but professional work environment. It taught me great multi-tasking skills and also how to interact with hotel guests positively
Was this review helpful?Yes 14No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Omni Hotels and Resorts
Guest Service Agent (Current Employee) –  Charlotte, NCSeptember 6, 2015
• Processed hotel check-ins and check-outs. Documented guest requests, complaints or problems and notified designated department for resolution. Provided follow up to ensure completion, Set up accounts for stay preferences, assisted with group and wedding reservation blocks, executed all accounting standards ensuring proper settlement of folios, routing of charges and adjustments, cash handling procedures, bank audits, and proper bank deposits. Maintained complete knowledge of hotel features, room types, room numbers, layout, appointments and locations, room rates, special packages and promotions, assisted Rooms Controller, and fulfilled Concierge duties.
Was this review helpful?Yes 11No 9Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Encouraging work place with eager staff.
Doorman/ Guest Service (Current Employee) –  Forth Worth, TxApril 30, 2015
This job is a very customer service based job. Talking with guests and providing information to better enjoy their stay was an everyday task. Making guests feel welcome, greeting them into the hotel, and assisting with help on the valet drive are also part of the job daily. My co- workers work hard and are dedicated to providing great customer service while performing the tasks of a valet. The management team was efficient in creating a great work environment and encouraging better work flow. Over all this is a great job.
Pros
Free lunch every day
Was this review helpful?Yes 27No 9Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
well organized and respectful of employees
GUESTROOM DINNING SERVICE (Former Employee) –  encinitas, CAMarch 23, 2015
During my time at Omni i found that the thing about this company i enjoyed most was the management and employee treatment. Management was very helpful and kind, and the employees were ll very polite.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace management is uptight.
Guest Service Associate (Former Employee) –  San Antonio, TXMarch 3, 2015
Great place to work. Met a lot of new people both employees and guests. You'll be working in a fast pace work environment that will give you plenty of opportunities with face to face customer service.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Omni Hotels. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 1,224 reviews
5469
4353
3226
274
1102

Ratings by category

3.5Work/Life Balance
3.5Compensation/Benefits
3.5Job Security/Advancement
3.4Management
3.7Culture

Women's ratings

4.0Fairygodboss Score

67%say women are treated fairly and equally to men

67%would recommend to other women

Fairygodboss provides free job reviews for women, by women.

Powered by Fairygodboss