On the Border Mexican Grill and Cantina Employee Reviews

Found 322 reviews matching the search See all 327 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It’s a great place to work
Server (Former Employee) –  Mesquite, TXDecember 2, 2018
There are great people to work with. The managers are really great people but they don’t know how to run a restaurant in my opinion very unorganized and not much source of communication
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Any serving job is what you make it
Lead Bartender (Former Employee) –  Peoria, AZNovember 27, 2018
Made a lot of money as a server and bartender, worked hard, learned where I could, and moved up accordingly. Job is what you make it management was garbage where I worked.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great pay but
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Dallas-Fort Worth, TXNovember 23, 2018
The restaurant business is difficult. Some days are worse than others. This job does have some fulfillment, but not my thing. I hope this helps someone.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
amazing company horrible location
host (Former Employee) –  Jonesboro, ARNovember 13, 2018
Overall on the border is a good company. you just have to find the right location in order for things to run correctly. There is little room for advancement and way too much drama in the work place. Hours are unstable.
Pros
half off on food if you worked that day
Cons
no advancement and very unorganized
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management/server problems
Server (Current Employee) –  Indianapolis, INNovember 10, 2018
The serving staff is NOT very good and most workers don’t care about anything except what concerns them. It is pretty relaxed and did have fun but disrespect by some of the managers i feel was unnecessary
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast Paced
Server (Former Employee) –  Lubbock, TX 79424November 1, 2018
Working at OTB you had to be on your toes at all times. There were constant specials or celebrations that brought in a large number of guests. Therefore you need to be alert and ready to help your fellow co worker.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Relaxed highschool job
Server (Former Employee) –  Allen, TXOctober 25, 2018
It's enjoyable and stable. i recommend it to highschool students or anyone seeking stable employment as a server. They work with your schedule and make it easy to stay
Pros
half off meals
Cons
food is not that great the 10th time in a row
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun environment to work in
Server (Former Employee) –  Concord, NCOctober 23, 2018
I worked here for 6 years and loved it. The atmosphere of the places was fantastic and I worked with the 4 best managers I ever could have worked for.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun, but stressful work environment
Server/Waiter (Current Employee) –  Mesquite, TXOctober 22, 2018
There are intelligent managers who are very competitive. Serving can be very stressful at times, but if you work hard you can make a decent amount of money. Although sometimes you can come into situations where we run out of a certain product or it has not been made for use.
Pros
Meals can be discounted after a shift. Good money on weekends.
Cons
Server to kitchen miscommunication. Product shortages.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible management
Bartender (Former Employee) –  Portland, MEOctober 19, 2018
Management was awful and the way the bar and dinning area where run completely differently from each other and caused drama and tension by management.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast Pace, but collaborative
Server (Former Employee) –  Kennesaw, GAOctober 19, 2018
Working at On the Border was a learning experience, but fun one non the less. While I was there my co-workers and manager were very supportive. I established cool relationships with a few co-workers. Lastly when it was busy, which would normally be the weekends, I was able to make a decent amount of money, obviously cause of the high customer volume.
Pros
Great tips
Cons
Quick pace
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good job for young people
Assistant Manager/ Bartender/ Catering (Former Employee) –  Miami, FLOctober 15, 2018
show up to work on time clock in check what are your tables are when you get your gust greet them take the drink order get the drinks then get the food order put food order in the food system wait for the food as you wait you clean or do any other jobs that mite need to be done deliver the food check in then retire there plate ask for and desserts if nit then bring the check
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable yet stressful
Hostess (Current Employee) –  1411 Bryant Irvin RdOctober 14, 2018
Enjoyable yet stressful. Corporate and Management are a dime a dozen. It's a love hate relationship and job. Teamwork and leader are lacking. The customers are great. Under and over staffing is common. The turnover in staff as well as management is high.
Pros
15% discount
Cons
Working on concrete (slab) flooring.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great job
prepcook/dishwasher (Former Employee) –  Edmond, OKOctober 4, 2018
always busy, I learn how to prep certain foods, management was ok at times, everyone was easygoing, hardest part of the day was closing till it got better, enjoyable part of the job was friendly group of co-workers
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a good place to start
Hostess/ To-Go person/ Trainer (Former Employee) –  New Brunswick, NJSeptember 28, 2018
OTB is great place to start in the food industry, and develop your skills even further. you learn from any and all challenges. and also learn about the importance of team work
Pros
1/2 off lunch. flex schedule
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good job
Hostess (Former Employee) –  Gastonia, NCSeptember 27, 2018
hard working people but all they hire are KIDS, i don't know how they are now cause i worked there around 2016...
it was nice to work food was great, nice looking place.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Work Place, Good Teamwork
Line Cook/Dishwasher (Former Employee) –  Allentown, PASeptember 20, 2018
A typical Day at on the border is pretty simple, you go in make sure you station is stocked for the day and everything is good so when you start your shift everything will be stocked and orginized

What i learned at On The Border How to work BETTER as a team to always help when you can

Management i would say is good, whenever the line is backed up the managers always come to the line to help out
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wages
Key Manager/Catering (Former Employee) –  Exton, PASeptember 6, 2018
I think that the biggest problem was with the wages. You had people there that were just coming in and getting paid more than people that have been there for a longer time.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
awful place.
Hostess (Former Employee) –  Kansas City, MOSeptember 4, 2018
they would send me home after working a 2 hour shift. They didn't pay me for my first day. but i got to talk to all the servers and goof off a lot when we weren't busy.
Pros
talk to servers.
Cons
awful hours.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hope this helps
Dishwasher line cook (Former Employee) –  Joplin, MOSeptember 1, 2018
It can be a good place to work if you don't mind being expected to some that they know you can't with the time they really want to be out of there and wonder why we are staying later even after I ask for them to call me tell me to come in a hour early if it got busy so we can catch up and be out of there at the right time they wanted.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 3Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at On the Border Mexican Grill and Cantina. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.7
Based on 327 reviews
5103
495
369
236
124

Ratings by category

3.6Work/Life Balance
2.9Compensation/Benefits
3.1Job Security/Advancement
3.3Management
3.5Culture