OneBeacon Insurance Group Employee Reviews

Found 34 reviews matching the search See all 35 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great
CSR - Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Farmington, CTMarch 26, 2018
Great company to work. very fair Managers, They hire within the company which is a great aspect when you are looking to advance. Would recommend......
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
horrible
claims (Former Employee) –  Albany, NYFebruary 7, 2018
Very unstable environment. Offices closed and with no real explanation on companies business plans. Some very good people worked for the company but were not given any decision making ability
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Audit and Environmental
Consultant (Former Employee) –  Boston, MAAugust 16, 2017
This company has changed dramatically since I worked there. They have relocated their offices, sold all or part of the business (I'm not sure), changed management etc.
Pros
Fun working in Boston
Cons
constant change
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Job
Vice President (Current Employee) –  Farmington, CTAugust 14, 2017
Excellent people, great relationships, great work life balance. Dynamic and great opportunities to develop and grow. Work from options and telecommuting available as well.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 4Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Company part of a larger group.
Senior Claims Representative (Former Employee) –  Farmington, CTApril 26, 2017
Company is part of a large financial group with considerable diversity. Work-life balance is not a priority with the company, and standards for salary and advancement are not adhered to.
Pros
Diverse parent company with a large book of business
Cons
Atmosphere of unsureness.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Downsized, not sure they are still in existance
Sr Programmer/Analyst (Former Employee) –  Foxborough, MAMarch 31, 2017
They continuously downsized while I was there, creating a horrible culture. The location was isolated in an industrial park, nothing in walking distance.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Exceptional peers / good company
Statistical Specialist (Former Employee) –  Boston, MAFebruary 17, 2017
I worked with a great group of people albeit only briefly. I only left for economical reasons. They were downsizing and it was clear based on the monthly layoffs that it was a question of finding another job on my own, or wait to be let go (everyone else had been there 25+ years and I was the most recently hired). I otherwise would have been happy to stay. The pay was fair, the environment was pleasant. No complaints.
Pros
Interesting work
Cons
They were downsizing
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company
Senior Underwriting Assistant (Former Employee) –  Salem, VADecember 13, 2016
It's a good company to work for. Decent salary and benefits.
Some leadership issues, but that's everywhere. Knowledgeable co-workers willing to help each other. Gossip/drama on a daily basis.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good work life balance
Enterprise Market Research Analytics (EMRA) Intern (Current Employee) –  Farmington, CTOctober 20, 2016
Flex time was great and given to all employees so you could come in earlier as wanted and be able to leave earlier. Also working from home was not discouraged.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Flexible Management
Private (Former Employee) –  PrivateSeptember 27, 2016
Very flexible work environment. Generous salary and management that truly understood what a work/life balance was. Nice location and pleasant co-workers for the most part.
Cons
Need more advancement opportunities
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor Management
Underwriter (Former Employee) –  Farmington, CTSeptember 11, 2016
Management consists of individuals that other companies either wanted to get rid of or already did. They do not support their employees & are only concerned about controlling expenses. Favoritism is out of control and the work environment is horrible.
Pros
Fellow workers are very nice people
Cons
Management is the worst
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 3Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it was a great place to work
Staff Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Philadelphia, PAAugust 22, 2016
It was a great company but it is now closed down. if training was required they sent you to class.The nice thing about Management was if you were good at your job,promotions were easy to access.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dynamic work environment
Consultant (Former Employee) –  Farmington, CTAugust 18, 2016
A changing landscape having grown from a larger P&C operation to a specialty group that continues to feel the growing pains associated with driving premium growth.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great place to work
Personal Lines Assistant/Data Entry Clerk (Former Employee) –  Portland, MEApril 14, 2016
A great company to work for. The people were friendly and helpful. We were like one big family. I was so devastated when the company closed. I was there for almost 19 years.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 2Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stay away they are liars
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Canton maMarch 30, 2016
I was due to have a phone interview with this company and they had the audacity to cancel at the last minute. I contacted them because they wanted to reschedule and they never got back to me. When they finally did they gave the lame excuse that the posirion had been filled. I asked for a supervisors name they refused to give it. Obviously a poor company to work for if they can't follow through with the recruitment process
Pros
None
Cons
Everything is bad about this company
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 14Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great People and Working Environment
Examiner (Former Employee) –  Denver, COFebruary 28, 2016
I worked for OneBeacon 6+ years and was generously rewarded for my hard work. I worked with a great group of people. You're considered an adult and as long as you try hard and do the work expected of you, you are not micro-managed. The company has very flexible working hours, as long as you don't abuse the privilege.
Pros
Generous pay, no micro-managing, flexible hours
Cons
Sometimes the work load was a little overwhelming but I considered it job security
Was this review helpful?Yes 11No 3Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stiff insurance company
Associate Recruiter (Contract) (Former Employee) –  Canton, MAFebruary 14, 2016
Small office environment, no real culture between the departments and the team. Not much excitement working for this organization aside from hiring insurance people.
Pros
Lunch breaks and the view of the office
Cons
Culture of the company is dry
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to be
Software Developer (Current Employee) –  Canton, MAJune 22, 2015
This is an awesome place to be.
great life and work balance.
Great people to be around.
the pay rates are fair enough.

I would recommend this employer.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 3Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Could use overall treatment
Legal Secretary (Current Employee) –  MinnetonkaJune 5, 2015
Variety of duties:
Schedule Meetings
Assist with travel arrangements
Respond for Consumer Complaints
Log ISO forms
Maintain spreadsheets
Create spreadsheets
Expense Reports
Was this review helpful?YesNo 6Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly, good pay, high volume workload, limited oportunity for advancement
Senior Claims Assistant (Current Employee) –  Denver, COOctober 24, 2014
Friendly, good pay, high volume workload; however, limited opportunity for advancement without many years experience.
Was this review helpful?Yes 9No 4Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at OneBeacon Insurance Group. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.5
Based on 35 reviews
58
413
37
24
13

Ratings by category

3.5Work/Life Balance
3.5Compensation/Benefits
2.9Job Security/Advancement
3.0Management
3.4Culture