OneMain Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not for me
Branch Manager (Former Employee) –  Mobile, ALMay 23, 2018
The career growth and advancement opportunity was not present. In my 3 years there I had already hit the ceiling when it came to advancement and salary.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great place to work
Collections Representative (Current Employee) –  Evansville, INMay 21, 2018
The company has the worst management teams in any place I have ever worked. It's all about favoritism. Management did not care about being compliant or ethical. They only cared about their numbers to make sure they hit goal so they could bonus. Quality was one thing they did not care about. They make it sound like it's such a great place to work but it's not. I would not recommend anyone to work there.
Pros
Insurance
Cons
Stressful, Favoritism, hostile work environment, retaliation
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Na
N/A (Former Employee) –  Evansville, INMay 21, 2018
The benefits are great. If you get a good manager who will have your back you will do well. Most everyone was great. If you make someone mad they will do everything to get you fired.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive workplace
Personal Loan Specialist Intern (Former Employee) –  Columbus, INMay 20, 2018
Good learning experience for anyone that is interested in gaining experience in lending. Also a good opportunity to learn more about and practice selling skills.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
na
Collector III (Former Employee) –  Fort Mill, SCMay 19, 2018
Onemain is a great place to work at. I started with the company actually back in 2002 and they had several by outs but over all Onemain is a very fair place to work at and i would recommend this job opportunity to anyone.
Pros
na
Cons
na
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Do not apply for a job at one main
Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  LouisianaMay 14, 2018
Poor management, not professional, unrealistic goals, long shifts . Manger is horrible . Manger couldn’t train and didn’t know the system . Their goal for you is to fail!
Pros
Ok pay with good benefits
Cons
Worked long pointless hours, lack of training
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
At times Very Stressful
Branch Manager (Current Employee) –  TXMay 10, 2018
Great company to work for but must be able to multi task to keep up.
Busy
A very Valuable lesson
My Management was great that I had.
We all got along as family we spent enough time together.
Being able to keep up and having to listen to customer's complain about nothing.
Is being able to make customer's happy.
Pros
Great Team to Work For.
Cons
Just very time consuming.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work before bought by Springleaf
Personal Loans Specialist (Former Employee) –  Rock Hill, SCMay 9, 2018
great company before SpringLeaf bought us. All ethics quality of work went out the window. Branch office set unrealistic goals and would rather sell insurance than provide a service that would be beneficial to the customer. Terrible customer service and ethics since spring leaf took over.
Pros
lots of vacation time
Cons
horrible unstable hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great work environment but limited advancement
Sr. Personal Loan Specialist (Current Employee) –  United StatesMay 8, 2018
not stressful & you never have to take your job home but you have to wait around forever for promotions and raises. Extra money is never bad, but bonuses & compensation could be way better.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bad place to work
Sr. Financial Representative (Former Employee) –  Fort Worth, TXMay 8, 2018
Upper management frequently threatens to fire you if monthly sales and collections targets aren't met.
-----------------------------------------------
Pros
Vacation time
Cons
Poor work environment
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and somewhat fast-paced
Branch Account Executive (Former Employee) –  Bethlehem, PAMay 7, 2018
Typical day was spent answering phones, taking applications, and closing the loans.

The hardest part was meeting goals every month. The best part was getting the bonus when you did.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Environment
Vendor Performance Analyst (Current Employee) –  Evansville, INMay 7, 2018
Gives you good opportunity to advance. Great vacation time and good benefits. Work environment and bosses are easy going. Gives you time to do charity work and they pay you for it.
Pros
Environment
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Finance Company- American General Finance
Branch Manager in Training (Former Employee) –  Tallahassee, FLMay 6, 2018
This was a very interesting and self motivating place to work at. We delivered excellent loan services to people who needed it the most. Also, I sold life, health and annuities to those who needed it.
Pros
self motivating
Cons
cut throat
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Santa Rosa, CAMay 6, 2018
I was working face to face with customers. I did not realize that I was leaving a good place and I would that environment again.I love working with customers face to face. phone work is good , but talking face to face is great .
Pros
Good work environment
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Regular hours and good benefits
Customer Account Representative (Former Employee) –  Johnson City, TNMay 6, 2018
A typical day included customer service, taking applications, posting payments, and making collection calls and solicitation call.
I was there before it was One Main and do not know what it is like now. I enjoyed my manager as well as the other employees and we very seldom worked late.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management
Administrative & Data Entry Operator (Former Employee) –  Evansville, INMay 6, 2018
Nice management and good people around work place. would love to join again if i get an opportunity. Such a nice working environment and work culture.
Pros
free coffee
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and fast paced environment with room to grow
Personal Loan Specialist (Former Employee) –  Independence, MOMay 4, 2018
The work environment was fun and laid back. I did love being there. The only bad thing was how terrible the interest rates were. Employees were always nice and so were customers.
Pros
Room for Growth, good pay, and employees who were like family
Cons
I didnt feel as though I was always truly helping the client
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
stressful work environment
Personal Loan Specialist (Current Employee) –  Chase City, VA 23924May 3, 2018
the work environment was very stressful and the training is horrible. the manager was very arrogant and she lacked patience. It was the worst experience of my life
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A fun place to work
Senior Personal Loan Specialist (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILMay 1, 2018
Is a fun place to work if you have a good team, for the most part i had a good and motivated team that wanted to succeed. I've learned that not everybody learns at the same pace therefore you have to have patience to developed others.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Didnt align with the ideals
PERSONAL LOAN SPECIALIST - INTERN (Former Employee) –  Selma, CAApril 28, 2018
Maybe it was just my branch but my manager at the time scrutinized us to the minor task and would leave a sour feeling in the work environment. I was actually really good at the job but wanted leave after management would be disrespectful if a loan wasn't closed. hopefully i just had a bad experience and it doesnt reflect the company as a whole. My last day of my two week notice, my replacement showed up and left during lunch which goes to show the turnover rate at that branch .
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at OneMain. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.4
Based on 959 reviews
5204
4291
3266
2105
193

Ratings by category

3.3Work/Life Balance
3.5Compensation/Benefits
2.9Job Security/Advancement
3.0Management
3.1Culture

Ratings from women

InHerSight Score
3.5

3.1Personal Development

3.5Career Opportunities

3.8Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight