ONR, Inc. / Orthopaedic & Neurological Rehabilitation Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very good
DTS Administrative III (Former Employee) –  Alexandria, VAFebruary 16, 2018
My Navy Capt., he was very helpful to me and trying to let me stay, but Company that I was contract Employee did not want to pay more money, that way I letf
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Time for change
Former employee (Former Employee) –  TexasFebruary 5, 2018
Corporate needs to recognize that their people are their product and taking care of them will make them better at taking care of clients. Many demands are made of employees yet very little is offered in return for their hard work.
Pros
Fast paced and challenging, varied experiences
Cons
No raises, no 401k match, expensive benefits, lack of training and support from corporate, productivity is only priority, unethical business practices
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Company
Director of Rehabilitation Services (Former Employee) –  Austin, TXJanuary 28, 2018
Overall ONR is a good company. I would have continued working for them if there was work in the area. They had longevity incentives with insurance and benefits.
Pros
longevity compensation
Cons
no building in the area, long hours, pay a little lower that the average.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive Environment
COTA/L (Current Employee) –  Greenville, ILDecember 22, 2017
I was hired on as a new grad within a year of graduating. Very welcoming company, you pretty much meet the top people in the company upon hire, which is nice. ONR took over previous therapy company, so fresh start and they are all great people. We work as a team and collaborate with each discipline making us more effective as a therapy team as a whole and ultimately that’s what it’s all about, being a great team to meet your patients needs.
Pros
Ethical, Pretty streamline with no micromanagement
Cons
Health insurance for yourself or family is expensive & productivity based
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun place to work.
Physical Therapy Assistant (Former Employee) –  San Mateo, CADecember 8, 2017
Great support from Supervisor who had 9 years experience with ONR. Computer system could be improved; I'd rate it a good, but not great. Great relationships with the nursing staff.
Pros
Many community events, the nursing home treats you like family and invites you to the holiday celebrations.
Cons
short breaks, but you stay busy all day, time flies.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
daily work
Staff Physical Therapist (Former Employee) –  Chico, CANovember 17, 2017
part-time work only a few patient did Eval's some treatments and progress notes sometimes Oroville only , or then drive to paradise for more patients . I worked with PTA"s in both buildings. staff was nice , interacted with RN's and CNa's
Pros
we ate our own meals
Cons
only temporary work
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I work very hard. Get paid a little less than I would like
Occupational Therapist (Current Employee) –  Berkeley, CASeptember 3, 2017
Losing my job due to non renewal of contract. Otherwise would have stayed at my facility.
Lots of great people that I work with. Too bad that we can't all continue somewhere else.
Pros
close to my home, great co-workers and DOR
Cons
no 401K matching, no overtime allowed, very little training
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work environment with a close team
Physical Therapist Assistant / Director of Therapy (Current Employee) –  Centerville, IAJuly 25, 2017
Lots of online training and CEUs that are all free. I get along with my co workers very well. I enjoy going to word every day and it feels good knowing that what I do everyday makes a difference in someone else's life.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Prod;uctive
DOR/COTA (Former Employee) –  Nocona, TXSeptember 19, 2016
Small town and small facility with a friendly environment. Staff was enjoyable and nice to wor.k with. I enjoyed the one on one challenges. Patient families were very supportive.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good
Occupational Therapist OTR/L (Current Employee) –  Berkeley, CAJune 28, 2016
Good staff, good flexible schedule. Good pay rate, good orientation, good computer system, good documentation. Busy work, but manageable. No micromanagement.
Pros
good staff
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor business ethics and ineffective management strategies
OTR/L (Former Employee) –  Des Moines, IAJanuary 1, 2015
- False advertising and hiring. I was hired on a full time basis, defined as 36+hrs/week. However, mostly got ~30hrs wk on an average. Several weeks when paid work time was ~20 hrs/wk or less, even though hiring was on full-time basis. Difficult to stay with company if you have financial liabilities (student loans, home mortgage, family expenses etc.). I was unable to consider other employment as I was constantly told that workload will pick up and that I would possibly be needed from 8 am - 5 pm. Left company due to same and poor treatment practices.

- Very productivity oriented. Number of minutes/sessions are not proportionate to pt needs, instead they're geared towards maximum billing, often seeming unethical.
*Therapists are "encouraged" (read - implicitly forced) to schedule Max RUG levels for all new Med A pts irrespective of actual need or pt capacity. I had to make multiple visits in a single day for acquiring full number of minutes for pts with low endurance and poor medical condition.
*When issue discussed with DORs, was told that initially high RUG level would be followed and then decreased if necessary due to pt's inability to maximally participate. Seemed like DORs had limited control over setting these RUG levels and were encouraged to set highest possible levels.
*When I wished to d/c or decrease number of sessions/week due to pt not needing high intervention frequency, I was asked by regional manager to be more "creative" in treatment and continue at higher frequency than was necessary for pt's condition.

- No reprimand for unethical treatment practices.
  more...
* A certain COTA very blatantly displayed poor professional practice (using cell phone while pt waited for treatment in therapy gym and was being billed for minutes, using modalities/equipment like SWD/exercise bike when not best treatment intervention for pt, overcharging minutes, falsifying daily treatment records), and was not adequately reprimanded by management for same. I (and another therapist who also reported similar observations) felt that the company cared more about getting more treatment time by retaining that therapist than adopting ethical patient care practices. This particular therapist is most likely mentioned in an older review by an OT who worked for ONR in the Des Moines area.
* This therapist was demoted once for similar complaints, and then put on 1 week suspension almost 3 months later for repeat complaint by then-DOR. However exact same behavior on return to work, with no further action. New DOR did not seem open to feedback on COTA's performance/practice. As supervising OTR I felt uncomfortable counter-signing documentation as treatment and documentation was not 100% accurate based on personal observation and patient feedback.

- Poor team communication at facility level. Instead of discussing performance concerns at DOR-Therapist level, Regional manager often involved. I was asked to sign a performance improvement plan, without management asking for explanation for low productivity levels. (I spent several weeks completing and forwarding documentation to physicians/MDS coordinators etc from 3-6 months prior to my date of joining. Often only 1 or 2 computers available for completing documentation of 3-4 therapists.)

- Loss of paid work time. Company only pays for pre-decided number of minutes of travel between buildings. Time spent from signing out of computer at one building > reaching car & starting travel, and end travel >signing in at next facility is left unpaid, averaging 10-12 minutes for each building traveled to. Sometimes I traveled to 3-4 building s to get 6-7 hours of work, easily losing losing ~45 mins of travelling time spent for company. May seem negligible by itself, but significant monetary loss when considered over the course of a month.
  less
Was this review helpful?Yes 50No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and growth driven agency
Office Clerk (Former Employee) –  Atlanta, GADecember 30, 2014
Working for ONR was extremely rewarding, as a government agency they take pride in the advancement of an individual as well as societal growth and advancement in areas of education, science, technology, military, armed forces and many other areas to ensure a better and advancing world.
Pros
Growth driven enviornment, opportunity for advancement
Cons
further and higher education necessary for continued growth in many areas
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 18Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Positive working environment
Occupational Therapist, part time 20 hour position (Current Employee) –  El Sobrante, CANovember 21, 2014
High quality care by nursing and rehab. Lovely people all around. Staff are friendly and welcoming. Facility is clean and well run
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 12Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor/unethical business practices
COTA (Current Employee) –  hereFebruary 19, 2014
They fire people who defend themselves against workplace harassment. They employ people who change/alter documentation. bill for services not rendered
Pros
none
Cons
harassment
Was this review helpful?Yes 49No 7Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management
Physical Therapy Assistant (Former Employee) –  Vacaville, CAAugust 5, 2013
Regional director and Human Services were both very accessible and very helpful. I worked with a Director of Rehab and Physical Therapist that both had years of experience. They were both very patient and willing to teach me grow.
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 16Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
unethical pressures not recommended
Occupational Therapist (Current Employee) –  desmoine IAMarch 29, 2013
poor management and unethical company expect you to travel for hours with little pay or support
Pros
flexible hours
Cons
poor communication and constant productivity pressure
Was this review helpful?Yes 36No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
lack of part time or full time jobs
COTA/L (Current Employee) –  Tuscola, ILNovember 25, 2012
like working for ONR but their is a major problem with communications between staff and therapists.Childish cliques destory people like my self who dont belong to any specific group.I would give them more stars if they would give me real job
Pros
patients
Cons
back stabbing co workers
Was this review helpful?Yes 26No 5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Example: Productive and fun workplace with ping pong table
Physical Therapist (Former Employee) –  Oroville, CAOctober 29, 2012
Wonderful co-workers with excellent skills and passion for their work.
I was the primary PT @ the SNF but other PT's and/or PTA's also worked there, daily, too. Management supervised 3 other SNF's, so I had limited access to Mngt. Typically, I got my schedule, oriented PT's/PTA's to their schedules, treated Pt's, attended meetings &/or home evals prn, and did PT notes. The hardest part of the job was dealing with 13 different PT's/PTA's the1st 3 months. The best part of the job was patient care-esp. seeing pt's regain their function. I learned to supervise many people in a short time. (I hadn't been told I would be the primary PT @ the SNF!)
Pros
rehab staff with excelent skills and compassion.
Cons
benefits package expensive. mngt not adequately available-also, 4 new rehab mngrs. in 6 months.
Was this review helpful?Yes 21No 9Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best RDO
Area Manager (Former Employee) –  Waterloo, IASeptember 14, 2012
I worked for ONR and really appreciated evey opportunity for advancement I was given.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 25Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A True Team
HR, Purchasing & Executive Assistant (Current Employee) –  Austin, TXAugust 3, 2012
Pleasant people, lots of laughs, very little micro-managing, lots of independence
Pros
great benefits
Cons
red tape
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 19Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at ONR, Inc. / Orthopaedic & Neurological Rehabilitation. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.7
Based on 22 reviews
55
410
33
24
10

Ratings by category

3.6Work/Life Balance
3.7Compensation/Benefits
3.2Job Security/Advancement
3.2Management
3.4Culture

ONR, Inc. / Orthopaedic & Neurological Rehabilitation Reviews by Location