Opportunity Village Employee Reviews

3.9
Overall rating
Based on 90 reviews
Ratings breakdown
541
422
314
27
16
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Showing all 90 reviews
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very productive, diverse and fun filled environment
Job Discovery Program Instructor (Current Employee) –  Las Vegas, NVAugust 1, 2018
I love my job very much, from the timings to weekend offs, paid holidays and paid time off. I work with Individuals with Intellectual disabilities. It's a community based job where I trained students from clark county school district for the community jobs.The most enjoyable part of my job is to work with the Students from different cultures and backgrounds; they love you for who you are and never judge you. The Management is great, we have a open door policy; where you never have to schedule any appointment to see them.
In Short I love my job.
Pros
Work Schedule
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
care taker
Caregiver (Former Employee) –  Mason City, IAJune 25, 2018
i took care of 3 guys in one house and 3 girls in another. helped them cook and made sure they took a shower and brushed their teeth. there was some joking with the ppl i worked with just to make time go faster
Pros
like sitting in your own house
Cons
no set breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
overall they very good to work with
Licensed Practical Nurse (PRN) (Former Employee) –  north las vegasJune 5, 2018
I enjoyed working with them th3ey were the best life experience I ever had the day starts with picking them up from the bus feeding then changing then doing activities with them. The job and work is very organized
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Quiet atmosphere
Case Manager (Former Employee) –  Las Vegas, NVMay 6, 2018
Laid back and relaxed work place. Team atmosphere. The hardest part of the job is having a heavy caseload of 85-100 clients and the paperwork. Being responsible for the safety and security of each client. Must be able to face unprepared emergencies.
Pros
paid lunch, great benefits. discounts throughout the city.
Cons
can be stressful at times dealing with parents.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Family atmosphere
Personal Support Professional (Current Employee) –  Clear Lake, IAApril 23, 2018
Working at the village was a wonderful learning experience.
The staff and clients made the workplace comfortable and enjoyable.
If given another opportunity be be employed by this company, I would suggest this company every time.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No fun
Personal Support Specialist (Former Employee) –  Clear Lake, IAApril 5, 2018
Too many accidents all of the time. I didn't like my position there because the clients would urinate or bowel movement in their pants, shower, beds. Meals were not very nutritious for the clients. Rules were not enforced.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice Enviroment
Stocker (Former Employee) –  Las Vegas, NVFebruary 27, 2018
working for opportunity village was a fun but stressfull working enviroment. You get to work with the mentally handicap but you learn alot from them but all in all it was very nice working for them
Pros
good people
Cons
lack of 401k plan
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive,outgoing
Direct Support Professional (Former Employee) –  Las Vegas, NVFebruary 25, 2018
Opportunity Village is a pretty laid back work environment, the clients there are amazing, as well as certain staff, a lot of community gatherings and non profitable organization events that would bring a lot of individuals together
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cut throat, dog eat dog environment
Management (Former Employee) –  Las Vegas, NVFebruary 11, 2018
Service Contracts as well as Human Resources are filthy, two faced, unethical individuals with a do as I say, not what I do type attitude. Full of favoritism & nepotism. Clients are not held accountable for their demeanor and/or false allegations against fellow staff/supervisors, Human Resources creates a consequence free environment enabling clients to manipulate the system. Reprimanding clients is non existent. Most management is completely incompetent and ill experienced. Although there were some great times there, the negatives far out way the positives.Management picks and singles out whom they want to enforce policy and procedures on. If they saw you had a mind of your own, you were considered a threat.
Pros
Great interactions with certain clients and personnel
Cons
Inept and incompetent upper management, along with a circus of an HR Department
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Always a busy day
Activity Coordinator (Current Employee) –  Las Vegas, NVFebruary 1, 2018
I enjoy what i do for the individual's. The daysare never the same and i always learn something new each day. The hardest part is trying not too get too attached to the individual's. Changing cyckes of 3 months is sometimes ard. Learning how to work with different cultuers with each indivdual.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Personal Support Aide (Former Employee) –  Clear Lake, IAJanuary 16, 2018
Good place to work, friendly and relaxed environment. Clients were treated like family and the bosses were great both knowledgeable and fun to work with.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible
Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Fort Dodge, IAJanuary 12, 2018
This company were only out for themselves. As a supervisor, I asked for assistance on more than one occasion to no avail. They wanted to get paid, but not look out for the best interest for their clients.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best Places to Work
CUSTOMER SERVICE MANAGER (Former Employee) –  Las Vegas, NVDecember 30, 2017
Good health benefits-flexible hours friendly and helpful employees/management this place helping people feel like they truly matter, great job opportunities once you start with the company
Pros
Flexible hours
Cons
N/a
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interest in clients
Adult Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Las Vegas, NV 89113November 28, 2017
Company was interested in the health, well being and advancement of the clients. They truly wanted to help disabled adults prosper in the work environment. They created jobs for disabled adults.
Pros
Good Benefits
Cons
Bad Management
Was this review helpful?Yes 7NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Rewarding Opporunity
Personal Support Professional (Former Employee) –  Clear Lake, IANovember 16, 2017
Chaperoned up to 16 clients in a team environment
Aided in routine activities including hygiene care, medication administration, transportation, shopping, cooking, cleaning and other life experiences
Engaged clients in goal setting that encouraged personal development, achievement and independence
Documented all client interactions daily per state and federal requirements
Pros
Free meals
Cons
Over worked for little pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved my clients, worst administrative team I have ever seen
Personal Support Professional (Former Employee) –  Clear Lake, IANovember 14, 2017
The administration only cares about money. They don't care to see the clients doing well or the staff who work directly with the clients. Lack of appreciation.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Underpaid and overworked
Driver (Former Employee) –  Las Vegas, NVOctober 9, 2017
When you clock in the mornings...
- get your work truck keys
- get your route sheets for the day
- load up your work truck with bins

During your route...
- jumping in and out of your work truck
- swapping filled bins with paper for empty ones or emptying console bags
- getting signatures on the route sheets for every stop

After your route...
- unload filled bins from your work truck
- weigh every bin and document it on the individual route sheets
- stage bin to be ready for shredding

Coworkers...
- have the facial expressions of not wanting to be there
- constantly complaining about being underpaid
- constantly complaining about being overworked
- constantly complaining about staffing shortages
- constantly complaining about there route for the day
- constantly complaining??

Management...
- person in charge seems very lackluster on department issues
- person in charge seems to neglect drivers/ drivers issues
- need to balance being professional with being human, engage in your staff, be personally involved and not with just there output

Conclusion...
- job can be very easy but the company’s policies and procedures make it hard on the entire staff of employees
- unrealistic routes with too many stops and not enough help
- they tolerate poor performance and permit weak links to exist with no consequences
- they treat everyone equally which shows your top performers no matter how high they perform they will be treated the same as the bozo who just punches the clock
- no room for advancement
- issues and concerns that arise within
  more... each department should be addressed but feels like they land on deaf ears
- drivers complaining about more pay should be addressed to upper management but it just lands on deaf ears
- drivers are the backbone of opportunity village but they are not treated as such with insufficient compensation and adequate staffing
  less
Pros
Health Benefits
Cons
Taking breaks when you can while on your route, Low pay for the work being done, Not enough drivers/helpers
Was this review helpful?Yes 10No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Rewarding and fulfilling
Job Coach (Current Employee) –  Clear Lake, IASeptember 5, 2017
Working with clients at One Vision , whether at their homes, work services or at their community jobs is a rewarding experience. It is a demanding job but the efforts are well worth it. The culture at One Vision is being part of a team and family. The clients are the best part of the job and there are a lot of great employees and co-workers.
Pros
Flexible with schedule when needed
Cons
Many changes in work enviroment due to government regulations
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun workplace during the holidays
stocking of merchandise and assisting customers (Former Employee) –  Las Vegas, NVSeptember 5, 2017
Such a wonderful place to work at . The experience is great you get to interact with so many people on a daily basis ,and get to enjoy the holiday season.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a place for me
Activities Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Las Vegas, NVAugust 28, 2017
I worked at opportunity village for about 2 months. While i was there i met co-workers that i thought were awesome at what they did with the clients and individuals and they were also very helpful in getting me enriched with the program itself. The admin was the issue. They provide no curriculum for any of the clients that attend opportunity village. They don't go to bat for their employees and could less about what they need. Seems as if they only care about making money off the clients that are there. The employees that work there actually have a passion for the clients they work with and the individuals that are there and it doesn't seem that the higher-ups share that same passion or concern. I really hope that things change because this could be an awesome place and maybe it just the one sight that i worked at but nevertheless things need to change and fast. I wish them the best.
Pros
great co-workers in enable and individuals to be around daily.
Cons
admin at the sight could care less about either.
Was this review helpful?Yes 7NoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Opportunity Village. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Ratings from women

2.8InHerSight Score

2.4Personal Development

2.9Career Opportunities

2.6Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight

Powered by InHerSight