Orange County Conservation Corps Employee Reviews

Showing all 19 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Anaheim, CAMarch 5, 2019
Very great organization created for the service of the people, in my experience I met the best people and the best workers, always outside helping the planet get cleaner
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work culture
Case Manager (Former Employee) –  Anaheim, CASeptember 12, 2018
I was staff. Deal with the Probation and Parole clients who work at the OCC and go to school to get GED. The work culture can be threatening or stressful if you are not familiar with the participants. Site visits to various sites that are being worked on outdoors for beautification or recycling. OCCC do services for hire with various non profit and for profit businesses.
Pros
Every day is an adventure
Cons
Lots of reports and meetings
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great company
crew member (Former Employee) –  Anaheim, CAJuly 18, 2018
box horse toy diamond money booze fertality mean amazing dinosaur relocate bear monster rugrats chuckee cheese is a miss. pizza is great i think theyre awesome
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Charity
Landscaping (Former Employee) –  1853 N. Raymond ave. Anaheim ca 92801July 13, 2017
Donating and helping to donate is is something I like to do. It's wonderful meet new people. To be able to give something to someone who is in need of something is amazing. Makes my day knowing I did something to help someone other then myself.
Thank you
Pros
Exploring
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great for gaining experience
Landscaping, Machine Operator, Field Worker (Former Employee) –  Anaheim caApril 27, 2017
Great job for someone starting out and looking for experience. The work can be a little tidious but the staff is very helpful and will only try to help you. Work enough hours and you even get a grant for school!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Incentives while completing program.
Office Corps Member (Current Employee) –  Fullerton, CAJune 15, 2016
Gained more knowledge of Microsoft Office.
Getting to work with different types of people with different backgrounds.
Didn't meet up to its expectations.
Pros
Lunch program available
Cons
No benefits, poor communication, no raises, no job advancement.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and helpful to community
Office Assistant (Current Employee) –  Fullerton, CAApril 4, 2016
* A typical day at work is usually assisting the payroll specialist. My duties consist of organizing, checking, filing, and data entry.
*Learned Phone Etiquette skills, use fax, scanner and copy machine.
*Hardest part of the job is it get repetitive and there is some slow days.
*Most enjoyable is when there is lots of work, especially preparing for audits.
Pros
Incentives
Cons
No Advancement
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very helpful staff
Intern (Former Employee) –  Fullerton, CANovember 19, 2015
Staff went out of their way to make the interns feel like colleagues rather than just students trying to gain experience. Learned a lot from working in all the departments to understand how the Corps operates.
Pros
Helpful staff, job is rewarding because helping underprivileged populations better themselves.
Cons
Facility is too small
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good experience and always preoductive
Laborer/Equipment Operator (Former Employee) –  Fullerton, CAApril 27, 2015
every day i clock in and stand in a line to get ready to be put in a van for a job site ive been placed in. ive learned how to use fork lift, chainsaw, and many other tools. the managment was always there when you needed them, for questions, help, etc. the hardest part of the job was having to keep other co workers on task without making anyone upset, but the most enjoyable was going to different places, learning how to do different things and meeting good people.
Pros
Free schooling
Cons
no room for improvement
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Orange County Conservation Corps was a very helpful place.
Core Member (Former Employee) –  Fullerton, CANovember 19, 2014
They helped me get great jobs and experiences. They helped me get customer service certified. The staff there was very helpful.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
i need Forgivness
Corps Member (Former Employee) –  Fullerton, CASeptember 23, 2014
this was my frist job but i was not going to work or treating it serious so i lost it and the thing is i regret not working hard ill never make this mistake again
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace.
Office Assistant (Former Employee) –  Fullerton, CAMay 29, 2014
While working at the Orange County Conservation Corps I have learned many things such as being a team player and, being able to do my task at a specific time as needed. I'm able to manage my time at work in a professional manner. The most enjoyable part of my job I would have to say is learning new things and having the ability to help my co-workers.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bad Management
Worker (Former Employee) –  Anaheim, CAApril 11, 2014
Management does not care about employees. Overworked and underpaid. Goal of the organization is not clear.
Pros
Get to help people
Cons
Company is under bad management.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 4Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Fast paced work enviorment. Very motivating work.
Corps Member (Current Employee) –  Fullerton, CANovember 19, 2013
drove to many different locations and worked on many different projects.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
helpful and resourceful place
Clerical duties (Former Employee) –  Santa Ana, CAOctober 11, 2013
the staff is very friendly and they really care about the youth.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and Motivational
Corp Member (Former Employee) –  Anaheim CaliforniaOctober 9, 2013
A Typical Day Of Work, I Had To Clock In By 6:45 Am. And Then My Co Workers And I Would Load Up In The Van And Our Supervisor Would Drive Us To Different Areas Of Orange County, Where We Were Given Instructions To Do Conservative Related Projects. For Example. Taking Pictures Of Graffiti And Reporting It To The Orange County Sherrif"s Department And Then Painting over it.
Pros
Free Lunch Everyday, only had to work monday-thursday, the job kept me in moving and in shape, always supplied with free water, free gas cards.
Cons
i was always getting bit my Bugs, i would get super super dirty, and the chances of getting inured on the job were high
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Recruitmenta and Outreach
Recruitment and Outreach Specialist (Current Employee) –  Anaheim, CAMay 3, 2013
Recruited and conducted community outreach in Orange County.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 3Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great atmosphere, and awesome co-workers.
Youth Coordinator/Sourcer (Current Employee) –  Santa Ana WORK CenterFebruary 22, 2012
Some of my duties were:
-Called candidates to let them know about recruitments, and see if they are interest.
-Find perfect candidates on Bullhorn for a particular job
-Set up recruitments
-Made copies of perfect candidates right to work documents
-Uploaded resumes onto Bullhorn
-Called candidates to update their information in our system
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 7Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Orange County Conservation Corps. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.7
Based on 19 reviews
56
47
33
21
12

Ratings by category

3.6Work/Life Balance
2.7Compensation/Benefits
2.7Job Security/Advancement
3.5Management
3.3Culture

Orange County Conservation Corps Reviews by Location