Orange County Library System Employee Reviews

Showing all 14 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Access to a world of knowledge and free movie check outs.
Externship Training (Former Employee) –  Orange County, CANovember 12, 2018
My responsibilities included to daily process the patrons’ holds list, which produced 30-50 entries. I daily shelved 3-4 returned books carts holding about 40 pieces of reading materials for both adults and children. I willingly assisted 3-5 patrons looking for reading materials on specific subject matters. I spot cleaned 30 computers daily making them ready for user use. I learned to file library materials using the dewy decimal and the American alphabet systems. I assist in checking in and out on average about 100 books from local patrons of the library.
Pros
County Network Access
Cons
Weekend hours not favorable
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not favorable
Circulation Clerk (Former Employee) –  Windermere, FLNovember 11, 2018
Most difficult part of job was the manner n which I and fellow part timers were treated. Expectation for quantity and quality of tasks performed was the same as full timers.

I was not awarded requested time off. It was mandatory that I work entire weekends even though other part timers did not have to. I made multiple attempts to revise my schedule, but the manager would not adjust the schedule.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent Place to work
TCSS Technology & Customer Support Specialist (Former Employee) –  Orlando, FLFebruary 28, 2018
Great environment a great place to grow and learn on your career a lot of support and continuous skills training fair treatment the hardest part is sometimes dealing with patrons.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Orange County Library System - Central Florida
Technical Trainer (Former Employee) –  Orlando, FLFebruary 10, 2018
The Orange County Library System is a large organization and it is divided into branches. Each location may have a very different work culture and management style.
Pros
Some great people, always an opportunity to grow.
Cons
Low pay.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice Coworkers with Bad Management and Administration
Library Assistant (Former Employee) –  Orlando, FLOctober 1, 2017
Place where you are not respected at any level. The patrons are allowed to haress you and all you can do is to suck it up, even if are being threatened by a mentally ill patron, a pervert, or an physically aggressive stranger. All this in front of everybody, but again, all you can do is to suck it up.
Pros
Nothing, really.
Cons
oppressive
Was this review helpful?Yes 13No 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
People don't leave bad companies, they leave bad managers...
Service Clerk (Former Employee) –  Orlando, FLAugust 15, 2017
A bad manager can take a good staff and destroy it, causing the best employees to flee and the remainder to lose all motivation.

A bad system will beat a good person every time.

If a flower doesn't bloom it's not because there is something wrong with the flower, it's because something is wrong with the environment.
Pros
Flexible lunch breaks, benefits
Cons
Unfair evaluations, Managers control internal transfers, lack of motivation and appreciation, salary.
Was this review helpful?Yes 14NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not your Average Library
Network Administrator (Current Employee) –  Orlando, FLMay 17, 2017
Unique working environment from what you would think in IT. Decent budget for a library so you are using up to date technology and current solutions to support.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 3Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Staff Great, Management Bad
Clerk (Former Employee) –  Orlando, FLApril 18, 2017
The coworkers and staff at OCLS are wonderful committed people who are unfortunately hampered by management. Culture has shifted from an environment where one tries one's best to help patrons to one in which you are expected to help as many patrons as possible which obviously effects customer service. Management is also monitoring staff at a micro level which inspires a culture of mistrust between manager and employee, with managers refusing employees to take earned time off and enjoy their benefits. Additionally, there are no opportunities for advancement of qualified candidates.
Pros
Benefits
Cons
Management
Was this review helpful?Yes 34NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Relax and productive work place
Librarian Assistant (Former Employee) –  Orlando, FLMay 30, 2016
Management is flexible with schedules if attending school. Pay rate not competitive. If you are going to school expect to work night shifts and weekends.
Pros
quiet environment
Cons
long breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 4Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Coolest place to work
Technology & Customer Support Specialist (Former Employee) –  Orlando, FLApril 8, 2014
what more can i say, its the library with a hip to it!! with technology, entertainment, event, and people, the library always has something new to learn from it!
Was this review helpful?Yes 32No 10Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work and contribute to the community
Technology & Customer Support Specialist (Former Employee) –  Winter Garden, FLNovember 12, 2013
I taught computer classes here offered free to library card holders. It was nice to make a difference in the lives of individuals who could not otherwise obtain the skills I helped them attain.
Was this review helpful?Yes 17No 13Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Job
Circulation Clerk (Current Employee) –  Orlando, FLJune 20, 2013
It has been my favorite job so far. It is very rewarding to help people find the things they need.
Pros
Working with books
Cons
Some patrons aren't very happy with their huge fines
Was this review helpful?Yes 26No 8Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Much micromanagement
Computer Equipment Technician (Former Employee) –  Orlando, FLNovember 14, 2012
goal oriented work place. Good co-workers. Yearly evaluation is inconsistent.
Pros
great area to work on
Cons
staff management was not consistent and planning is poor.
Was this review helpful?Yes 22No 4Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Orange County Library System. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.4
Based on 14 reviews
54
44
32
22
12

Ratings by category

3.6Work/Life Balance
3.6Compensation/Benefits
3.0Job Security/Advancement
2.9Management
3.3Culture

Orange County Library System Reviews by Location