Orange Unified School District Employee Reviews

4.2
Overall rating
Based on 37 reviews
Ratings breakdown
520
410
34
22
11
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Showing all 37 reviews
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great schools, not-so-great management
Principal - Esplanade and Nohl Canyon Schools (Former Employee) –  Orange, CAJanuary 22, 2018
Management is all over the place. Lots of movement, lots of turn-over in administrators. You know something's a problem when more than one principal will move to neighboring districts each and every year. Low retention is a problem and bad for kids.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent place to work
Lead Teacher (Former Employee) –  Orange, CAJanuary 22, 2018
trainings provides, great co workers, this employeer is excellent. I would highly recommend working here. I would have worked forever here but had to move.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Must be employed with Seniority to advance
Instructional Aide (Current Employee) –  Orange, CAJanuary 17, 2018
Will not advance if you have not been working there for more than 2 years or more. They already know who they will hire even though you interview. Hard to advance.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible work environment
School Counselor (Former Employee) –  Orange, CAJanuary 4, 2018
Employees are not treated fairly, management was unprofessional in the way they spoke to employees, hostile work environment, rigid leadership standards, administration was extremely rude.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to intern
School Counseling Mental Health Intern (Former Employee) –  Orange, CAOctober 29, 2017
OUSD was very welcoming when I needed a place to cut my teeth as a counseling intern. They were flexible with my availability and provided wise supervision.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I love working for OUSD
Paraprofessional- Orange Pre-K (Current Employee) –  Anaheim, CAJuly 23, 2017
The pay is great and the people I work with are nice and personable. I find this district to be very helpful when you have an issue. If it were allowed, I would work more hours for OUSD.
Pros
Great pay, great staff
Cons
Hard to get more hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
SAC Sub Aide (Former Employee) –  Orange, CAMay 2, 2017
I enjoyed my time working for the OUSD. Although jobs there are not secure, it is still a great place to work. I learned here there are so many different types of children and parents and that patience with any family is a must.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to work
Teacher's Assistant (Former Employee) –  Orange County, CAMarch 7, 2017
typical work day started at 1:00 PM
would help the teacher with student activity's
best part was working with children
hardest part was teaching lessons or tutoring
Pros
free snacks
Cons
low hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good District, Easy Job
Food Service Worker (Former Employee) –  Orange, CAFebruary 21, 2017
Fast paced, extremely focused environment requiring much time management and quick decision making. Doing tasks such as preparing, serving and cleaning hundreds of student meals per day. Cash handling for retail items as well.
Pros
Day moves quickly, close to home
Cons
Fellow employees take too much time gossiping because lack of authority.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Teacher's Aide (Former Employee) –  Orange, CADecember 26, 2016
If you love kids you will love this company. Everybody is friendly. Children will always amaze you everyday. Government job is always good. Must have a lot of patience.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Knowledgeable and great experience
AVID Tutor (Current Employee) –  Orange, CADecember 11, 2016
Being an AVID tutor is a great experience.
Impacting students lives and teaching them is rewarding
Co-workers are nice and friendly
Good pay and flexible schedule
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great School
Instructional Aide (Current Employee) –  Orange, CASeptember 7, 2016
Great Staff
The teachers are very dedicated and the students are eager to learn!
The school campus is great. It is a great place to work and grown in.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great teacher support
Special Education Teacher (Former Employee) –  Orange, CAJune 10, 2016
There are many professional development opportunities for new teachers, as well as mentors. The district will also pay for new teachers' courses for subject certifications.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overview
Instructional Aide (Current Employee) –  Orange, CAMay 29, 2016
Overall I enjoy the work I do with the kids, but the organization is sometimes not the best. It is difficult as we want to do more with the kids but some of the funding is not there or the kids are not placed in the proper environments.
Pros
I enjoy my job and most of the folks I work with.
Cons
Low pay, I only work parttime.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I am proud to be a member of this team
Security (Current Employee) –  Orange, CAMay 28, 2016
Communication to next shift on previous events are enjoyable. Management post updates timely and detailed. Co-workers share data on resolution of occurrences. Radionics are sometimes difficult to read. Professionalism is exceptional.
Pros
Secure work site
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent
School Bus Driver (Former Employee) –  Orange, CAApril 20, 2016
Learned a lot under OCUSD. Everyone was very pleasant to work with. Over 20 years of service provided and never had any issues. Flexible, great benefits.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Student Leadership
Student Leader (Former Employee) –  CAJanuary 6, 2016
I would go to the special needs students class to help the students get better organized and assist the teachers with lessons.
Pros
You feel very good about yourself
Cons
None that i can think of
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun productive work plce
Child Care Aide (Former Employee) –  Orange, CADecember 9, 2015
I worked for OUSD for 5 years and it was a great opportunity, I advanced and had a fun time working with the children and staff.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My most rewarding job
Special Education Inst Aide/Noon Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Orange, CAJune 21, 2015
Working with teachers and students with special needs for the past 7 years has been extremely rewarding. I enjoyed the challenge of providing each individual student with specific goals to help to ensure their academic achievement. I strive to create each lesson to be fun and engaging for students to keep their interest while stay within the curriculum guidelines. The most rewarding feeling I have had throughout my years at the school district has been seeing our special education students transition into the general education classroom.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Organization
Chinese Translator (Current Employee) –  OUSDApril 20, 2015
Very supportive and concerned about their students. Teachers and staff are very friendly. The district office provides good guidance and responsive to meet the staff's need.
Pros
Organized
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport