Orbital ATK Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
slow paced inefficient process
Sr. CNC Machinist (Current Employee) –  Elkton, MDApril 25, 2018
Not up to date with machining processes you don't have a voice towards management on changing the way they machine their processes due to longer team of employees controlling the way things are machined
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Intern (Current Employee) –  Sterling, VAApril 17, 2018
I interned at Orbital ATK for two summers. I enjoyed my experiences there and definitely learned a lot. You work on real, on-going projects that has customer deadlines, etc. It prepares you for a real job.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Contractors Beware
Contractor (Former Employee) –  Dulles, VAApril 16, 2018
The company is above average all around, However, some departments are a revolving door for contractors. In those departments, managers are distant with contractors and have no intention of hiring full time. It appears some managers hire contractors to do the less interesting jobs that the full time employee don't want to do. Hence, new people coming and going every month. Those that are asked to stay are offered lower than market salaries.
I made a lot a friends and on the whole there was good team work, but a department down the hall may be very nurturing, while another may be a bit less friendly. Who you work for matters most in this company. If the hiring manager does not have a upbeat and interpersonal attitude, stay away. Otherwise, you may do well here.
Pros
Employees are treated very well
Cons
Contractors are treated as 3rd class people
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great workplace
Receptionist/ Administrative Assistant (Current Employee) –  Arlington, VAApril 12, 2018
Since i have worked with Orbital ATK. It has given me much more experience than expected and I am thankful to learn all obstacles for my next chapter.
Pros
Benefits, time off, every other friday off.
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
the most enjoyable part of the job the people that may me smile
Janitor Leader (Former Employee) –  Elkton, MD 21921April 5, 2018
the people that i used work with it's nice.as a supervisor i had that person needed supervisor to go classes.he did not have the skills to be supervisor.
Pros
some we would have fee lunch for appreciation
Cons
two 15 minute short breaks. healthcare was not the best
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unusual Atmosphere for the Business Sector
Mission Operations Lead/CAM (Current Employee) –  Dulles, VAApril 4, 2018
Not your typical run-of-the-mill Defense contractor-- treat the people with respect and honesty. Great place to work and balance out your personal life. Oh yeah, you can drown yourself in your job... by why?
Pros
Managers treat people fairly-- not treated like a number.
Cons
Cannot work from home everyday... :)
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive place to work
Production Support A. (Former Employee) –  Independence, MOApril 3, 2018
A typical day at ATK, would be that it is always great to be around the people that you have build a relationship at work with. It took a little bit to get use to it but as soon as I got the chance to know people and their work ethic, it made the day or week easy for me to come to work and be and feel happy.
Pros
pay rate was good and benefits
Cons
broken promises from management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Mechanical assembler
Mechanical Assembler (Former Employee) –  Hopkinton, MAApril 2, 2018
Assemble Missile Tracking Communications for the Patriot Missile System.
• Assemble Electronic Filter System and Microwave Feed Assembly for Radio Communications
• Work on interior equipment for missiles defense air system
• Follow the engineer work instructions and blueprint
• Measuring and installing semi-conductors
• Use microscope, micrometer, caliber to measure semi-conductor contact height
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Relaxed atmosphere, helpful workplace, career advancement friendly
Production Worker (Former Employee) –  Promontory, UTMarch 27, 2018
Slow paced. Extremely meticulous work. Management is wonderful! Very friendly, honest, caring, willing to work with you and your needs. The atmosphere is what made the job enjoyable. Employees are treated very well.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management
Export/Import Control Officer (EICO) (Former Employee) –  San Diego, CAMarch 24, 2018
Orbital ATK is a very loosely managed company at the San Diego location that I worked. This location is run by a click of managers who did not know how to manage and did not follow up on work that needed to done. Managers spent more time looking after peers than about the company. Too many cooks in the kitchen!
Pros
Most of the employees were very helpful and enthusiastic about their work
Cons
Management did not back up their workers
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work with above average compensation
Sr. Mission Assurance Engineer (Current Employee) –  Mesa, AZMarch 17, 2018
Company really values it's employees. Every location I visited really treated their employees like it was a small company, but had the benefits and pay of a larger company.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Start here, don't stay
Buyer (Former Employee) –  Dayton, OHMarch 12, 2018
Management is horrible, clueless and never checks in with employees. No advancement unless you want to move to Utah. Be careful, they tell you there are advancements and there are none. Always in the state of putting out a fire,. Engineering is king, do as they say and when you look for backup from your supervisor it won't be there.
Pros
Benefits
Cons
Poor management, Blame game, no advancement
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company and great Campus
Expeditor/Buyer/Contractor (Former Employee) –  Dulles, VAMarch 9, 2018
OrbitalATK s a great place to work and learn and grow your career. The Management is great and relaxed and takes the employees into consideration when making decisions. A positive place to work and everyone is friendly and helpful. I enjoyed working as a contractor there very much.
Pros
9/80 Schedule, Great pay, relaxed Management, great campus
Cons
There are not many cons to working for OrbitalATK
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ATK is a Very High pace and very demanding job with very high turnover rate
Production Worker Trainee (Former Employee) –  Clearfield, UTMarch 7, 2018
ATK is a Very High pace and very demanding job with very high turnover rate I do not recommend the company for any collage/trade school/or off the street people that need a job
Pros
none
Cons
their is a lot of foul langue, even the bosses do it too, because they think they can get away, with disregard work man place conduct rules
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company
Manufacturing Technician (Former Employee) –  Clearfield, UTMarch 5, 2018
Great company just not stable enough a lot of turnover, Job security was uncertain and unstable. Good benefits and great people to work with. Fun atmosphere
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work at ABL Rocket Center
Utility Operator (Current Employee) –  West VirginiaFebruary 26, 2018
Expanding business, easy place to work, decent pay and benefits, union labor force! Overtime available if wanted, paid time off no hassles to schedule
Pros
Easy work
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Summary of my experience at ORBITALATK
Product Assurance (Current Employee) –  Radford, VAFebruary 26, 2018
I have worked at OrbitalATK for over a decade and it has truly been a learning experience that would be hard to replace. Hourly employees are active in nearly every department from basic operations to supervisory positions.
Pros
Work four ten hour days most weeks and in turn get a three day weekend.
Cons
Rotating shifts
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ok Place to Work
Principle Stress Engineer (Former Employee) –  Brigham City, UTFebruary 23, 2018
A decent place to work. Not a dream job. Adequate work was provided and employees are treated civilly.
The location is very isolated and very cold and lots of snow.
I would describe it as Ice Station Antarctica.

I wonder how they get anyone to work in this bitterly cold and isolated place.
Pros
Ok place if you don't mind being isolated in desert. with no social life.
Cons
Very Cold and lots of snow. Isolated Place
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company, very volitale and brutal layoffs
ALLIANT TECH SYSTEMS (Former Employee) –  Plymouth, MNFebruary 22, 2018
ATK hunted me down for this position. Due to lack of Government contracts, many layoffs occurred. I was one of 51 people laid off on the same day. brutal! Good people to work with but you cannot control the business cycles.
Pros
Salary
Cons
Uncertainty of your tenure duration.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Currently in the process of being taken over by Northrop Grumman
Help Desk Support (Current Employee) –  Promontory Point, UTFebruary 20, 2018
Overall this was a great place to work, but after being swallowed by a major company things are starting to feel... off. There is a shuffling of management and it does not feel safe as a new hire
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Orbital ATK. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.5
Based on 347 reviews
584
4104
397
228
134

Ratings by category

3.3Work/Life Balance
3.7Compensation/Benefits
2.9Job Security/Advancement
3.0Management
3.1Culture

Women's ratings

Powered by Fairygodboss

3.0Fairygodboss Score

20%say women are treated fairly and equally to men

60%would recommend to other women

Fairygodboss provides free job reviews for women, by women.