Oregon State University Employee Reviews

4.3
Overall rating
Based on 362 reviews
Ratings breakdown
5190
4113
343
212
14
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Found 358 reviews matching the search See all 361 reviews
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and Exciting Work Place
Undergraduate Research Assistant (Current Employee) –  Corvallis, ORMay 16, 2018
It was a great time working for my professor in the Nuclear Metals Group. I was able to help PHD candidates, while also working my own projects to assist the team.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work, low salary
Faculty Research Assistant (Current Employee) –  Corvallis, ORMay 16, 2018
OSU is a nice place to be a researcher, it gives you access to all the facilities on campus. The downside is that freedom in the research is linked to how much time the PI can give you for personal projects.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice place to work
LABORATORY TECHNICIAN (Former Employee) –  Corvallis, ORMay 14, 2018
I performed molecular biology techniques in a Nitrogen fixation laboratory. I worked on the cloning and sequencing on hydrogen uptake genes. Restriction length polymorphisms were observed.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Professional
Employment Services Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Corvallis, ORMay 8, 2018
Oregon State University was a very fun place to work. There were many opportunities for advancement in my career. The atmosphere was very professional.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It is a great work environment and I am happy to work there.
Student Worker (Current Employee) –  Corvallis, ORMay 8, 2018
While working at OSU I have started a strong base of my professional career through the guidance of my boss and coworkers. Who gave me many insights on ways to constantly improve on a professional and personal level. I am very happy to work here and hope I can continue to work here for a long time to come.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Opportunities for Students
RESEARCH INTERN (Former Employee) –  Corvallis, ORMay 4, 2018
Worked as a student research intern and had a wonderful experience. I got the opportunity to work with professional researchers and learned a lot. The skills I gained were very useful. Would strongly recommend to any student interested in research and/or pursuing higher education.
Pros
Flexible, great people
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great job
Information Desk Attendant (Former Employee) –  Corvallis, ORMay 2, 2018
Great place to work.
It was a great job as a student who is studying and working.
They let me study when I was not busy.
The school had many good students with a lot of questions so it was very rewarding to work there.
Pros
Free time to study
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great experience
Graphic Designer (Current Employee) –  Corvallis, ORMay 2, 2018
I learned a lot in my time there -- great place to start out a career. Friendly workplace where everyone worked as a team and pushed each other to do their best.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Coworkers and Easy Environment
Front Desk Representative (Former Employee) –  Corvallis, ORApril 24, 2018
I had a great time working at the Alumni Association. A lot of self learning and how to work the office but everyone is very nice and supportive. Even the VP of alumni would remember small things I tell her and it made me feel included and welcomed!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Stepping Stone
Electrical Fundamentals Teaching Assistant (Current Employee) –  Corvallis, ORApril 21, 2018
OSU student employee program is a great stepping stone that allows students to earn experience that relates to their field of study and earn money to help them live.
Pros
great work environment
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Introverted research group - well balanced and professional
Undergraduate Researcher (Former Employee) –  Corvallis, ORApril 20, 2018
I worked with this group a few years ago. At the time, the professor was a great resource and was very willing to invest time into me as a student researcher. Spent a lot of time mentoring me in my MATLAB proficiency and also my ability to autonomously teach myself necessary material.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I am a volunteer -Not applicable
Undergraduate Researcher (Current Employee) –  Corvallis, ORApril 17, 2018
I really enjoy working in research environments so I signed up to work with the OSU Chemistry Dept. they are all great. I enjoy myself alot. The PhDc I work under is really helpful and nice.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
interning at dexon rec
Graphic Designer intern (Former Employee) –  Corvallis, ORApril 13, 2018
weekly meeting with the manager to check how projects are going.
daily work routine includes checking the list of projects, design and \concepts approved,
following brand guidelines.
ordering promotional materials, approving the design before the full production run.
time management is key.
supervisors and administrative staff are very helpful and supportive
Pros
well constructed and organized work environment
Cons
only open to students
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company to work for
Operations Manager (Former Employee) –  Corvallis, ORApril 5, 2018
Oregon State University was a good company to work for, for a while. I worked under the Director of the Memorial Union at first. He was good, spent extra time training me on management and relative people skills. I was then placed under a different manager in the building. He was new to managing the department that I was working for. He imposed his own will on the center.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good, fast paced work environment
Cashier duties and customer relations (Former Employee) –  Corvallis, ORApril 4, 2018
A small cafe in the middle of Oregon State University's campus. Learned to work quickly, efficiently and safely while providing exceptional customer service. Management and coworkers were very friendly and willing to accommodate class schedules.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great team, awful management
Medical Aide (Former Employee) –  Corvallis, ORApril 3, 2018
I worked at the student health center on campus and my co-workers were wonderful. That being said, the management (or lack thereof) was awful. Nobody was around so we often had to make guesses as to how to help students. We were overworked, underpaid, and suffered emotional abuse and had to endure our managers playing favorites.
Pros
Benefits, coworkers
Cons
Everything else
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
If you like the higher ed environment, this is a great place.
Professor (Former Employee) –  Corvallis, ORApril 2, 2018
Casual working environment.Very little supervision. Best part of working with students. Worst part is all the red tape associated with a government employer.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management of Student Athletes
Tutor Manager (Current Employee) –  Corvallis, ORApril 1, 2018
The staff at academics for student athletes is hard pressed to do a good job without bending the rules thanks to low quality athletes that are recruited to play sports at OSU.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work if you can find funding
GIS Specialist (Current Employee) –  Corvallis, ORMarch 26, 2018
My job has been very flexible and interesting with good compensation. Research position with temporary funding that comes from government grant agencies (NSF, etc.)
Pros
flexible schedule, gym onsite
Cons
job security is nonexistant
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Intramural Official (Former Employee) –  Corvallis, ORMarch 23, 2018
Fun, fast paced place to work.
Requires quick thinking. Coworkers are generally nice people.
Customers cac be a little heated and angry.
Very few hours and requires some level of fitness
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Oregon State University. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Ratings from women

3.3InHerSight Score

3.1Personal Development

3.3Career Opportunities

3.6Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight

Powered by InHerSight

Oregon State University Reviews by Location