ORIGINS Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Competitive, cut throat and low paying environment
Assitant Manager (Former Employee) –  Farmington, CTApril 15, 2018
I did not enjoy this job. I was not well compensated for the work I did and I felt there were a lot of inside politics going on. The upper management was poor and I did not feel I had much opportunity for advancement.
Pros
Straight forward job duties
Cons
Low paying, poor management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Origins is a solid company
Manager (Former Employee) –  Dallas-Fort Worth, TXApril 14, 2018
Origins offers an outstanding product line that I would recommend to anyone. Retail is a difficult game, however I do believe that Origins puts its best foot forward in terms of customer satisfaction and taking care of its employees. This was a retail store so one's expectation should be that of most other retail outlets.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive fun place to work
Skin Care Specialist (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXMarch 8, 2018
Great products
I learned more about skin care
Manager was nice
Hardest part was listening to gossip and staying neutral
catering to the needs of clients was the most
t enjoyable part of the job
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent place to work
Part time sales associate (Former Employee) –  Novi, MIFebruary 28, 2018
Origins is an excellent place to work, however, the pay is lower than it should be. The employee perks are good with an employee discount, gratis, medical benefits, 401K. The work environment is peaceful and laid back.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Exciting/ a lot of learning
Full Key (Former Employee) –  Mission Viejo, CAFebruary 26, 2018
Great job, fun and upbeat, gets hectic with personal schedule. It is a retail job so you are expected to make numbers and push client books. You learn a lot of strategies to up sell.
Pros
discounts, great benefits
Cons
retail schedule
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and exciting
Key Holder/Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  San Jose, CAJanuary 3, 2018
I loved working with my small team. I enjoyed fulfilling sales goals. Could get a bit stressful but the manager made work fun and the environment safe.
Pros
Store manager was excellent
Cons
Regional manager was a bully
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and competitive
Key -Holder/Assistant Store Manager (Former Employee) –  Atlanta, GADecember 7, 2017
It was a fun job because you got to do facials and make upon customers so that they can feel the products. The products were natural and you were able to meet different types of people.
Pros
You meet people from all walks of life
Cons
you had to make your sales even if it was slow or you would get in trouble.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Beautiful, local, heart and soul food experience
Assistant Chef (Former Employee) –  Cooperstown, NYNovember 13, 2017
Origins is an amazing place to work, visit, eat, play, etc. The owners do an exceptional job in creating a space that is peaceful, welcoming, and heart warming. I loved working there and learned so much!
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Buford, GAOctober 10, 2017
skin and body products were sold retail I learned alot doing make up massgaes skin care origins was a high end brand great company world wide sold in diffrent major retail stores
Pros
skin care make up brand speaks for itself
Cons
origins stores went out of business
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Place for Temp Work
Intern (Former Employee) –  New York, NYOctober 10, 2017
I was hired as an intern to help with a two month long project. Mostly did work by myself at my desk and saw my managers once a day for less than 5 minutes - we had to be very independent.
Pay was okay for being an intern...I believe my workload was more than my pay.
Pros
Free snacks in the kitchen, great name on resume, free products
Cons
Managers often leave for vacation or meetings throughout the day
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
assisting customers
Guide (Former Employee) –  New York, NYAugust 29, 2017
I work seasonal at origins. It was a great experience. Great workers and nice customers. My job was to check customers out, wrap gifts and inform customers on new and old products.
Pros
great people
Cons
only seasonal
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive fun environment to work
Freelancer / Keyholder (Current Employee) –  Tampa, FLJuly 6, 2017
A regular sales job, where I learned to communicate better with people as well as establish long time friendships. The most enjoyable is learning about the products and having free products sent to you.
Pros
gratis of products
Cons
standing costantly
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
needs impovement
PT Key holder (Former Employee) –  Phoenix, AZJune 28, 2017
most days were slow ..worked alone quite a bit. at times it was competitive. Lots of education. Need better management. Very stressful reaching goals.
Pros
education free products
Cons
management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
exciting place to work
Assistant Store Manager (Former Employee) –  New York, NYDecember 19, 2016
Typical day at work is coming in opening up the store to a sweet aroma of ginger and starting a fun filled day, and updating your clients on products.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Okay place to work
Prepress Manager (Former Employee) –  Burbank, CASeptember 19, 2016
No comment really, very much a layered cast system.you do your job and you get paid not much interaction or movement upward.
Pros
None
Cons
No comment
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Experience
Beauty Advisor/Makeup Artist (Former Employee) –  San Jose, CAJune 9, 2016
loved working here,
learned a lot
enthusiastic mangers
The most enjoyable part of the job was being able to help customers
and educating them about the benefits of our products and doing
demos.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great products!
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Westminster, COJune 6, 2016
Great company, wonderful products, awesome gratis!

The training is awesome and if you are a go getter you can exceed your sales goals. You cannot be scared to recruit clients, you must make business happen!
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great working environment
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Escondido, CAMay 25, 2016
I really enjoyed selling the origins skin care products. It was nice to be able to build relationships with the customers.
Pros
Great working environment .
Cons
The pay could have been better.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Competitive work environment
sales associate, key holder (Current Employee) –  Dallas, TXApril 17, 2016
A typical day at work is standing on the floor about 4-9 hours a day, selling to, giving facials to, or calling clients.

I learned great selling skills, people skills, and management skills.

My co-workers are all very large personalities, they can be somewhat competitive.

The hardest part was the grueling retail hours, missing out a lot in my personal life.

The enjoyable part was getting to work with product I enjoyed.
Pros
Good location, good opportunities
Cons
long hours, competitive environment
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good work place
Key Holder/Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Boulder, COMarch 29, 2016
Great overall experience. Gained a lot of knowledge about the cosmetic and beauty industry and ingredient info. Liked the fact that they lay out your individual sales goals and you know what you have to do as an individual and as a store to meet the day, month, and year sales.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at ORIGINS. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.1
Based on 64 reviews
527
422
312
21
12

Ratings by category

3.8Work/Life Balance
3.6Compensation/Benefits
3.4Job Security/Advancement
3.6Management
4.0Culture