Orkin Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
work with public
Pest Control Technician (Current Employee) –  Davenport, IAFebruary 10, 2018
8 to 10 hours drive to where your working for that day and then stop by stop to take care of customers pest problems the hardest part of job is trying to get everbody done if there is a lot to do the best part is helping people out and talking to and geeting to know them on a reg. bases
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Reliable employment, best pay/benefits in industry.
Route Technician (Current Employee) –  Grand Junction, COFebruary 8, 2018
This position has kept me reliably employed for 10 years. There is no ceiling to the amount of money you can make but your income is directly tied to your effort. I am employed full time year round. Advancement is complicated, for me advancement means travel which is not possible with my family environment. Advancement is attainable if you are willing to transfer and willing to travel, possibly several days per week. At 10 years with company I have 31 paid days off between holidays, vacation, and sick time. That number is 18 days after one year with the company.
Pros
Reliable mid class employment.
Cons
Schedule can be stressful at times especially in the summer.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Solid Job
Route Manager/Residential Sales Inspector (Former Employee) –  Rochester, NYFebruary 7, 2018
Like any other work place or service job there a goods and bads to the job.

If you have done Route related service work then this maybe a great fit.

Decent pay, decent benefits and really good training. Worked with some awesome people and worked with some not so great people.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Orkinexperience
Branch Manager (Former Employee) –  Huntsville, ALFebruary 7, 2018
Orkin offered more training than I could have ever expected, they truly wanted you set for success. They had a great support group and ongoing training. They offered opportunities to advance, and had a good compensation package.
Pros
Training and perks
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great opportunity for growth
Route Manager (Current Employee) –  Fife, WAFebruary 6, 2018
Even if there is no management positions open there is lots of room for growth in this company for goal oriented individuals. There is always sales to be made and advanced training available to help you be more effective at your job the more you learn the easier it is to complete your daily work and make larger sales. Great pride in being able to help customers with there pest issues it allows them to feel at ease that we will be there to help and improves the communities overall health. Management and other employees work as a team and there is always people to ask for help from. 2weeks vacation after 1 year and 3 floating holidays and benefits after becoming full time
Pros
Great benefits
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lack of advancement
Pest Control Technician (Current Employee) –  Shreveport, LAJanuary 30, 2018
promised the world but they give you nothing, good old boy syndrome never a good thing to say to you always negative comments no positive reinforcements
Pros
hours
Cons
money is always messed up, always check your checks because its always wrong
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
none
Sales Inspector (Former Employee) –  Hudson, FLJanuary 29, 2018
I worked only as a temp so i really cant say what a typical day at work is this system needs work i'm just trying to get this to stop asking me about jobs
Pros
none
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good training
COMMERCIAL SALES CONSULTANT & APPOINTMENT SETTER (Former Employee) –  Charlotte NCJanuary 28, 2018
Received 4-6 weeks of training and learned a good basis for pest control.
This was a job they created that worked well in a local office but did not transfer well to a call center.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Customer service
Office Manager (Former Employee) –  Oxford, ALJanuary 25, 2018
Working in customer service is difficult at times, but interesting. Orkin was a fast paced pest control business where customers demanded service on their time schedule. It was always a pleasure dealing with the public
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
awesome companyh
Route Manager (Current Employee) –  Roanoke, VAJanuary 24, 2018
awesome company to work for. I am not really looking not leave but this is a chance to make a diference another company. I have a lot of experience in management.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sales
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Florence, SCJanuary 22, 2018
12 hours work days
I didn't learn anything. I had to teach my self everything
Manager suck at the time when I was working there
The whole job was hard nc people would take the time to talk to you or teach you
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
High level of autonomy
Lead Technician (Former Employee) –  Virginia Beach, VAJanuary 19, 2018
A typical day of work would include 730am arrival at office, collect work, inspect, trench, and treat houses. Direct management was terrific, hands down the best supervisor i've ever had.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Fun Place to be
ROUTE MANAGER (Former Employee) –  Lees Summit, MOJanuary 18, 2018
I learned a lot of things that i didn't know great learning and training job was great and challenging management was great and family orientated nice perks
Pros
Pay company vehicle great management and training and staff
Cons
some late nights
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great woring environment
Residential Sales Inspector (Former Employee) –  Raleigh, NCJanuary 18, 2018
lots of customers to go see on a daily basis whether a lead.referral or already a current customer. very competitive with other sales people and goal oriented.
Pros
lots of products to offer
Cons
cut throat sales people
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Entered ticked from the field techs
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  Denver, COJanuary 18, 2018
Orkin is an ok company. People are friendly, management can be kind of sticky sometimes. Pay was low, only $9.00 an hour. Asked for a raise one day and was denied.
Pros
Steady work
Cons
The pay was low.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
stay on track
Termite Inspector (Former Employee) –  Houma, LAJanuary 15, 2018
A lot of competition and only made a low percentage of actually sales


had time to go to dr visits with my son

a lot of competion

if your employees did bad in the past its more hard to sell
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not for an honest person
Route Manager (Former Employee) –  Huntsville, ALJanuary 9, 2018
money is more important than people. several years ago, it was different. better upper managment. the ones now is all about the dollar and themself. if you are a yes man you will move up. if you have morles you can never move up.
Pros
none
Cons
everything
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sale job.
Inspector (Former Employee) –  Cocoa, FloridaJanuary 7, 2018
Sale job, company car and uniforms. Pay based on sales. More you work the more money you got. managers great but pushed for sales hard. If you did not perform you were replaced.
Pros
Company car.
Cons
push to sell.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyed working with the people. Pay could’ve been better if you wanted to provide quality service
Pest Control Technician (Former Employee) –  McKinney, TXJanuary 5, 2018
Thoroughly enjoyed working with most of the people. Most customers were kind and greatful. Summer was extremely hectic. Pay was commission based, made good money with long hours in summer, a lot less money in the fall months. Was almost difficult to perform, what felt like, outstanding service all day and be efficient at the same time during summer months. Hard to make it by without having money saved during the fall/ winter months.
Pros
Shorter hours in fall, being out not feeling couped up in office
Cons
Commission based, low % commission, hectic summers
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
long hours
Home/ Building Inspector (Former Employee) –  Memphis, TNJanuary 5, 2018
Very educational job and the training is on point but the long hours do not equal with the pay, very stressful, dead end leads, management is OK if sales are up if not its cut throat time
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Orkin. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.4
Based on 524 reviews
5122
4161
3121
263
157

Ratings by category

3.1Work/Life Balance
3.4Compensation/Benefits
3.0Job Security/Advancement
3.0Management
3.2Culture