OSF HealthCare Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable Job
Patient Service Associate (Former Employee) –  Peoria, ILDecember 11, 2018
Working at OSF was the best that I could have gotten since moving to Peoria IL. I'm hoping to find another opportunity to go back and continue to work for a great company. management understanding and tired to help continue my career as a rep in patient services.
Pros
Time off, Family Oriented
Cons
no cons for this company
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
RN - Emergency Dept.
Registered Nurse (Current Employee) –  Bloomington, ILNovember 16, 2018
I love education and training I have received. I love the fast paced work environment and the variety of patient care. Each day is a little bit different and I have learned so much. I plan to stay at OFS for many years.
Pros
Supportive co-workers and management
Cons
Can get stressful when busy or rude patients.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Catty, gossipy and immature childish mentality
Respiratory Therapist (Former Employee) –  Rockford, ILNovember 11, 2018
OSF creates an unattainable work environment. One particular department has been reported by numerous mission partners, including nursing supervisors, yet this department continues to force their mission partners to work short staffed while their manager and supervisor contribute nothing to patient care. This department instills fear in their employees and is overly involved in their mission partners personal affairs. The manager is biased and allows her supervisor to get away with threatening and creating a hostile work environment.
Pros
None
Cons
Management and budget
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Constant changes. Fast paced yet fun, casual enviroment.
Lead Customer Service Representative (Current Employee) –  Peoria, ILNovember 11, 2018
OSF has been great to me. It is a true family feeling and what we do is important. I have learned alot and i feel i have alot to offer. Healthcare is constantly changing and that is a never ending window of opportunity to learn.
Pros
Paid time off, benefits.
Cons
Can be stressful
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
How can managemant be so bad.
Pharmacy Technician (Former Employee) –  Peoria, ILNovember 6, 2018
The work is stressful, unrewarding, but it is a pay check. Might be a good place to start but be looking for a new job immediately since chances are the management and there cronies will make life difficult for you. If you like a place that you are better off not talking with anyone this is it. Anything you say will be used against you. Management talks about working the mission, but when your treated this badly its hard to be a team member. Actually had a survey to do that dealt with the mission, poor reviews were blamed on hourly, not the poor management of the mission. Training does not exist at OSF, although there are a few people that really showed me the jobs, but on average training was poor by management.
The sisters should consider taking the OSF name off the hospitals, they are no longer a Catholic based organization based on treating people with care.
Pros
Got my feet wet in the medical field
Cons
Management, supervision, pay.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Place to work
Senior Physician Recruiter, FASPR (Current Employee) –  Peoria, ILNovember 5, 2018
Really no opportunity for advancement. It is a very subjective place to work. Merit increases are minimal, average 2% and doesn't keep pace with cost of living. They rarely do market compensations reviews to adjust for lacking merit increase.
Pros
Flexible
Cons
Not much for cross training or development
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Barista (Former Employee) –  Rockford, ILOctober 28, 2018
A great atmosphere to work. Everyone from every department always had a smile on their face and was willing and happy to help with anything. Management always treated everyone fairly.
Pros
Free meal tickets when working extra hours
Cons
no room for advancement
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great co-workers, horrible management
CERTIFIED MEDICAL ASSISTANT (Former Employee) –  Monmouth, ILOctober 25, 2018
The management at the RHC in Monmouth is absolutely horrible. She is headstrong and if something doesn't go her way, she is trying to fire you or get you in trouble with HR. She is arrogant and yells at mission partners in front of other mission partners. She is running that office into the ground and is running employees away.
Was this review helpful?Yes 9No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Financial Analyst, OSF Innovation, Jump Simulation (Current Employee) –  Peoria, ILOctober 25, 2018
Great place to work. People are very happy which tells me they are satisfied with the work they do here and how they are treated. However, I do feel I could be compensated slightly better.
Pros
Work-life balance
Cons
Compensation somewhat low
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Learning Opportunity
Registered Nurse II (Former Employee) –  Rockford, ILOctober 21, 2018
Very busy ICU with complicated patients which require more care than some ICU's. Management is distant in addressing problems on the unit and difficult doctors
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
N/a
CERTIFIED PHARMACY TECHNICIAN (Current Employee) –  Rockford, ILOctober 13, 2018
A typical day at work is fast paced, with hard-working people who will help you when needed. The hardest part of the job is working by yourself sometimes
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Employees not treated as mission states
Director (Former Employee) –  Peoria, ILSeptember 25, 2018
The way OSF treats employees in certain departments is not inline with the mission. OSF is a very closed minded environment that is trying to be innovative. Work days are very full. I learned alot about communication, change management, and current trends in healthcare. The hardest part was the lack of integration into the department as a new employee and how backwards they are as an organization in some ways compared to other organizations in the United States like with onboarding, training. There was no mentoring and people don't do very much to welcome you nor does the leadership make an effort to integrate you. There are some kind and wonderful people there however, there are some serious weaknesses with the lack of support for new employees. This is the case in many areas throughout the organization like HR and Performance Improvement. The performance improvement department is catty, closed minded and promotes a culture of favoritism. The current environment is chaotic, unorganized and not transparent. That starts at the top and has become a culture that is not a positive one. If you have an opinion, are a strong intelligent personality or are from outside the organization or Peoria area, you will not be supported.
Pros
new building designs, some great people, profit earning, lunch at work
Cons
unorganized, gossipy-y, small town, mediocre
Was this review helpful?Yes 9No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Executive Assistant (Current Employee) –  Rockford, ILSeptember 21, 2018
Management is changing but it is a good stable place to work. The hours are good and there is opportunity to further your education. The pace is not stressful.
Pros
Benefits
Cons
changing management
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor Management
Nurse (Former Employee) –  Champaign, ILSeptember 19, 2018
Poor Management that existed prior to OSF take over. Loss of benefits, higher insurance costs, less reimbursement, impossible work schedule. Manager attempts to divide staff with petty gossip and dishonesty. There were a lot of promises by OSF upper management to invest in “mission partners” satisfaction that simply never happened. Bait and switch for sure
Pros
Wage
Cons
Poor Management
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This job stole my SOUL!
Not a nurse (Former Employee) –  Central City, ILSeptember 14, 2018
First 4 years were great-unfortunately, things changed. If you aren't a doctor or BSN, find a different place to work! The pay and benefits are absolutely amazing but in the end, it wasn't worth it. Huge mistake for the sisters to take such a passive role and let business people run this once great company into the ground, reputation wise. After working for them, I even hesitate to go there now as a patient. All they care about is money, unfortunately. Very sad.
Pros
Pay, excellent benefits. I was proud to say I worked for them. Wonderful mission.
Cons
In the end, all they care about is MONEY, not people. Back stabbing co-workers and managers.
Was this review helpful?Yes 7NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Warm environment within each department
IT Project Manager II (Former Employee) –  Peoria, ILSeptember 6, 2018
Each department holds pot lucks and events - all are very friendly and departments work well together.

Management is like management anywhere - some are wonderful and some are not as great. On a whole I would say that OSF has fantastic managers in a multitude of departments.
Pros
discounts around town
Cons
political
Was this review helpful?YesNo 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work.
Database Administrator (Former Employee) –  Peoria, ILAugust 29, 2018
OSF Healthcare is a good place to work. Their IT department is mainly focused on their Electronic Medical system. Worked for an excellent manager while there.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management has no idea how to manage.
Pharmacy Clerk (Former Employee) –  Peoria, ILAugust 27, 2018
Appears management wants there employees to be against one another. Special deals for special people if your part of the clic. You are better off not saying anything in rounding meetings because some how some time it will be used against you. They think everything is rosy when in fact it is emotionally draining trying to deal with the lousy way your treated. And don't tick off one of the elite members of the team , or management will make your life miserable with the work schedule.
Pros
It was a beginning job
Cons
Management, supervision, Hr
Was this review helpful?Yes 7NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Laid Back
Housekeeper (Current Employee) –  Alton, ILAugust 25, 2018
My job as a housekeeper is pretty laid back. My second shift boss is very understanding. The benefits are good but I don't make enough money to purchase them (medical, specifically). The PTO is really good. If the pay was better it would be ideal, but they do pay competitive wages in comparison to other hospitals in the area.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work!
Data Engineer (Current Employee) –  Peoria, ILAugust 16, 2018
OSF genuinely cares about their employees as they do their patients and provides competitive wages, benefits, and opportunities for advancement and training.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 3Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at OSF HealthCare. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 299 reviews
593
487
346
241
132

See reviews about

3.3Work/Life Balance
3.5Compensation/Benefits
3.1Job Security/Advancement
2.9Management
3.3Culture

Ratings from women

InHerSight Score
3.2

3.1Personal Development

3.9Career Opportunities

3.0Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight