Oshkosh Corporation Employee Reviews

Found 400 reviews matching the search See all 449 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun and productive
Forklift Operator (Former Employee) –  Greenville, WIJuly 20, 2018
i had a good time working for this company and really enjoyed my time that i was employed there. It was a very friendly enviornment to work in and everyone there was very helpfull.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast Paced
Material Handler (Former Employee) –  High Point, NCJuly 19, 2018
Osh Kosh allowed you to be a leader. They allowed you to make your own decisions on what would make the business better. There was no micromanagement. Everyone knew their job and did it well.
Pros
Autonomous Environment
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work - little mobility
Parts Sales and Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Dallas TexasJuly 16, 2018
Oshkosh Corporation is a great place to work. Salaries are good and they have a robust benefits package. However, if you look towards upward mobility you might want to look elsewhere. The management teams from 20+ years ago are solidly rooted in the company and have formed alliances and bonds that are not easily broken. If you are not in the 'old-school' club you are not welcome and are seen as a threat to the older schools of thought. In all my years there I never got an offer to get a new job in a new city, an offer to get promoted to a new position within another segment, or anything of the sort. I did get a promotion, which came with zero training, zero support from the managers and very little guidance on what the hell I was supposed to do.
Few opportunities appear at Oshkosh for people who want to grow within the company and this is a place where you want to go work if you want to spend 30 years in the same position doing the exact same thing with very little chance of mobility. The salaries are good, though. So you want to spend 20 years of your life earning 80k per year droning away mindlessly in a cubicle - Oshkosh Corporation is for you.
Pros
Good salaries, good benefits, the people at Oshkosh are good too
Cons
Sub-par facilities, zero continuous training, pointless conference calls, no upward mobility, poor leadership.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun enviroment
Custodian/Maintenance (Former Employee) –  Appleton, WIJuly 14, 2018
Would go back if I moved to back to Wisconsin. The work enviroment was fun sometimes we were stressed especilly during shut downs. the shut downs were on average 1 week every 6 months.
Pros
Fun co workers
Cons
shut downs
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great enviroment
General Assembler (Current Employee) –  Oshkosh, WIJune 28, 2018
great energetic work environment...
people work great in teams...
good benefits...
great union...
people first community...
good bonus every year...
great learning for new employees
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Manufacturing Job
Manufacturing Associate (Former Employee) –  Shippensburg, PAJune 25, 2018
This is an average manufacturing job. Benefits are good not great.
There is a lot of "mandatory" overtime. Many of the full timers don't show up for the overtime, so new people have to find ways to get the work done on thier own
Pros
Benefits
Cons
See above
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Use to love it, now not so much.
Employee (Current Employee) –  Oshkosh, WIJune 13, 2018
The internal politics is a joke. Its not what you do, its who you know. Many people get promoted well before the have the business experience or ethos to cover a higher position. No career advancement, unless you ride someone else coat tails. I did once love coming into work, but after getting passed over for promotions over and over again really changed my perspective. No direct answers when it comes to career advancement, just more smoke and mirrors.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
100 year old company and acts like it
IT (Former Employee) –  Oshkosh, WIJune 2, 2018
This is the most boring company you will ever work in. My boss had been there 40 years. Just a very boring and dead place - and the area of WI that it's in is just as bad - a boring industrial area with terrible winters.
Pros
Stability - 100 years old
Cons
Boring - dull, lifeless management.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and productive place to work
Production Worker (Former Employee) –  Oshkosh, WIMay 29, 2018
I was able to advance and learn new job's pretty quickly. If you got your work done, you were in a very stress free environment. People are very nice here and help you if you need it.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Manufacturing
Senior Risk Administrator (Former Employee) –  Oshkosh, WIMay 29, 2018
Manufacturing environment working with many government contracts for military and commercial heavy equipment. Multiple locations in the United States and abroad.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Contract Proofreader
(Cadre) - Copy Editor/Desktop Publisher (Former Employee) –  Oshkosh, WIMay 22, 2018
I worked 90-hour weeks to proofread military vehicle proposal documents. It was a lot of work, but great experience and would recommend people to do at least one contract for experience.
Pros
Great colleagues, catered meals, overtime pay
Cons
No benefits, felt invisible and unappreciated, 90-hour work week
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
decent place to worl
Fitter - Welder (Current Employee) –  Kewaunee, WIMay 5, 2018
Kewaunee Fab is kind of outdated but the work is steady and secure. All in all not a terrible place to work, would recommend to any one looking for a good job
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent Benefits and Pay
Industrial Painter (Former Employee) –  Appleton, WIMay 4, 2018
This company offers excellent benefits and pay with chances of advancement given. I also noticed that people who have difficulty with the job in their department are offered another position in another department that was more suited to their needs.

They have something in place to help employees deal with problems in their life outside of work that I was very impressed with.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Oshkosh
Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Woodinville, WAApril 28, 2018
I enjoyed work at Oshkosh/Carters as a mother due to the nice work environment and convenience of shopping for my children. The hours were flexible and management was very accommodating to my limited availability in the evening hours and busy family life.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
horrible place to work.
Material Handler/Forklift Operator (Former Employee) –  Fort Wayne, INApril 27, 2018
poor management they did not treat me fair just all round bad place to work.they targeted people never listened to more experienced people based on there jobs.
Pros
hours
Cons
management sucked
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Workplace Culture
Senior Scheduler (Current Employee) –  Appleton, WIApril 27, 2018
Not all areas are treated the same. Some areas experience gender bias (i.e. in the truck building business only males understand about building trucks; male dominated).
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Felt proud to work at Oshkosh Corp.
Quality Control Specialist (Former Employee) –  Oshkosh, WIApril 25, 2018
Worked together with the employees on the floor as well as the Engineering Department to solve Quality problems. Performed incoming inspections on parts coming in from vendors.
Pros
Good positive atmosphere
Cons
Government contracts dictate work loads
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent culture
Traffic Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Orrville, OHApril 23, 2018
High turnover rate with leadership and team members at certain divisions. Continuity was lacking because of high turnover rate and it significantly impacted production, moral and camaraderie. Corporate offered great leadership, but divisional leadership was retractive.
Pros
great incentives and huge push for moral building
Cons
high turnover rates of team members at divisional level
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
long rooted company, but in dire need for some organization
Welder set (Current Employee) –  Kewaunee, WIApril 15, 2018
work environment is very laid back jobs are pretty simple to preform,seasoned workers are very much set in their ways,and do not like to help newer employees
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyed
Assistant Store Manager (Former Employee) –  OregonApril 11, 2018
I enjoyed it for the most part. My manager was terrible and caused very high turn over. Retail schedules can be hard to have a good work/life balance but I really loved the company itself.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Oshkosh Corporation. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.7
Based on 450 reviews
5139
4138
3105
234
134

Ratings by category

3.5Work/Life Balance
3.7Compensation/Benefits
3.1Job Security/Advancement
3.2Management
3.5Culture

Ratings from women

2.2InHerSight Score

2.5Personal Development

2.0Career Opportunities

2.0Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight

Powered by InHerSight