OSMOSE UTILITIES SERVICES INC Employee Reviews

3.1
Overall rating
Based on 182 reviews
Ratings breakdown
532
445
344
225
136
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Found 173 reviews matching the search See all 182 reviews
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great flexibility but culture needs some improvement.
Project Manager (Current Employee) –  Atlanta, GAAugust 7, 2018
Working remotely helps to offset the cons of frequent travel and long days. Job security is good, but folks don't practice career planning/coaching. If you want a personal development plan, it's 100% on the employee. Much of management started in the lower ranks of the company and worked their way up. There is a therefore a lack of acceptance for people who come from other companies. The culture is one that is not supportive of work/family balance. I was unable to take bereavement when my father in law passed because I was unable to find someone to help with my workload. I've frequently had to cancel planned vacation days with my son at the last minute in order to meet emergent work requests. Technology and tools are very lacking making many work processes administratively burdonsome. There are, however, many hard working employees that support eachother and give their all to the company. Company events are very focused on teambuilding and help to provide a time/place to blow off steam.
Pros
Working remotely, some work hour flexibility
Cons
Work/life balance, lack of tools, 'old school' culture
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible Company
Field Foreman (Former Employee) –  Atlanta, GAAugust 1, 2018
Management doesnt care about you or your family. Crewmembers get treated like they just came of the boat like the year was 1600. Avoid at all cost unless you can get hired on as a supervisor or higher
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Got to walk alot and meet some pretty nice people
Utility Worker (Former Employee) –  Logan, OHJuly 20, 2018
It was a good job, you would walk along a telephone pole line and inspect anywhere from 60-100 poles a day depending on terrain really. Sometimes you had to walk through creeks and up and down hillsides and through weeds. A lot of physical labor.
Pros
Good pay and Garanteed overtime
Cons
you were out of town for a week at a time
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work place
Laborer (Current Employee) –  United StatesJuly 19, 2018
It was hard to work around people I new and never got appreciated for working hard but the supervisor for do anything for you and you can work your way up there to company
Pros
Got to be out side
Cons
The people I work with
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Employees are just numbers
Foreman (Former Employee) –  EastJuly 18, 2018
Care more about productivity than quality of work. Employees are just cogs in the machine. The company is geared toward meeting units per hour. They say that safety is the most important thing, but it's more about how many units can each employee get. The company says they are a family, but if you are not fast enough or have one issue, you are gone.
Pros
Possibility to make money based on production
Cons
More you do, the more that is expected
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
If you can handle it
Treater (Former Employee) –  New Boston, TXJuly 17, 2018
If you can handle the rain snow heat cold and really rough turane then the job ain't so bad it has a lot of physical aspects of the job from carrying 50 pounds all day to walking 3 to 7 miles a day
Pros
Off weekends
Cons
Dogs
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard work very stressful
Foreman (Former Employee) –  LaJuly 12, 2018
You have to sleep in the same room as a coworker which sucks. They won’t even attempt to put you in your own room. Very hard labor. You work in rain and snow
Pros
Pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very unfair
Treater (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXJuly 9, 2018
it was easy to get hired. but the manager was simply taking advantage of who he thought was uneducated and desperate.
they try to fore people out, who could posibly be managers themselves.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very productive and time consuming
Crew Leader (Former Employee) –  Little Rock, ARJuly 9, 2018
The typical day at work would consist of placing steel against power poles. I learned how to handle negative situations, upset land owners, etc. The hardest part of the job in my opinion was that there was no hard part about the job at all.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Slave labor
Foreman (Former Employee) –  Lansing, MichiganJuly 4, 2018
Unreal expectations and very high turn over due to no home time and living in roach motels.
Management has no realistic idea of possible expected rates due to varied terrains. HR ignores complaints and concerns, once hired your ignored.
Pros
Its a job
Cons
Poor management, no home life, cannot keep crewmembers.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I love this job
Crew Member (Former Employee) –  Peachtree City, GAJuly 1, 2018
Exercise drink alot of water make sure u stretch before work to warm up ur muscles before digging all day make sure u wear all ur PPE that is needed when applying the preservatives
Pros
2 15 minute breaks 1 30 minute break
Cons
Alot of short breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company, great leadership
Crew Member (Former Employee) –  San Bernardino, CAJune 25, 2018
Was a joy working for such a dedicated company and such dedicated co-workers. Unfortunately I was young and did not advance my relationship with this company eventually leading for the crew to dump me for an older more experienced worker.
Pros
Travel, great pay
Cons
New foremen can stress pay rate
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good job if you don’t have family
Digger (Former Employee) –  Fresno, CAJune 22, 2018
You travel a lot and work long hours so it’s not a job for a family man but the pay is decent and it’s a union job so you get good benefits as well they pay for the hotel aswell
Pros
Pay for hotel
Cons
Gone all the time
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work for.
Inspector (Former Employee) –  WISCONSINJune 21, 2018
Good place to work for. Extremly hard physical labor outdoor work over the road home every 2 weeks. Definately a good bachelor job for a single man who likes physical labor recieve weekly bonus as well.
Pros
Outdoor labor
Cons
Away from home 2 weeks at a time or longer
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fine Job
Data Analyst (Former Employee) –  Detroit, MIJune 21, 2018
Job was fine enough, it just was not for me. I worked here a few months. The work was not terribly difficult. There are high expectations. If you meet requirements you will be fine. You must be willing to travel and put miles on your own vehicle. Overall, just not for me
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good job
Crew Member (Former Employee) –  Peachtree City, GAJune 18, 2018
Good place to work if ur single. Is a great job to learn a bunch of stuff at. You meet a lot of new and different people and see a lot new and cool things.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
safety is number one
foreman (Current Employee) –  Ohio City, OHJune 18, 2018
great place to work and can take you places they don't want to see anyone get hurt and willing to go the extra mile as long as you do the same for them
Pros
benefits pay for hotel rooms traveling
Cons
no perdiem, traveling always in a hotel
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Outdoor working
Temporary Field Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Phoenix, AZJune 6, 2018
Working for Osmose, your pay is based on the amount of work you are willing to put out. You are paid based on your production goals. Travel is a requirement with the company.
Pros
Good pay
Cons
Extensive traveling
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Osmose
experienced crew member (Current Employee) –  Atlanta, GAMay 29, 2018
I currently work here and i love the job. Management is good here very easy to get along with . Its all hard until youre used to it and im okay with hard work. My favorite part of my job is reinforcing utility poles keeping the grid alive as mich as we can possible. Doing anything i can to help
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working in different areas
Foreman (Current Employee) –  CaliforniaMay 23, 2018
The hardest part of the job is that you are always on the move. Hardly home and spend time with your family but you do get to see new areas you never been to.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport