Osmose Utilities Services Inc Employee Reviews

Found 180 reviews matching the search See all 190 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst place to be, trust me.
Crew Leader (Former Employee) –  WisconsinOctober 17, 2018
I was with Osmose for a year and a few months. I know the in's and outs. It's true, you're home for only the weekends... If you're lucky... You're better off working at your local factory. The pay sucks! The BENEFITS SUCKS! They will screw you when they don't want you at any given time. Management and communication is terrible, so does the HR. Production and overworked is what they want. If you're not wearing that white helmet, no one knows you. You're just a number in the system. Your foremen gets the credit of what you did and you get none. They'll laid you off when they feel of needs even when there's work needed to be done around the states.
Pros
None as a yellow helmet.
Cons
Hardly saw the front door step of my home.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Flexible hours with little to no work life balance. constant travel
Foreman (Former Employee) –  Buffalo, NYOctober 1, 2018
(data collection, not PIT foreman)

Management is typically friendly and helpful in my experience as we try to build confidence in a challenging workplace. Constant weekly travel to new and different locations is the nature of this job. Osmose does everything in its power to save money, so we the employees pay for this effort. our hotels (motels) and per Diem is heavily throttled. OUTDOOR work year round ALONE. Rough terrain with little to no communication or assistance. This company does put safety first in terms of preparing it's employees with the tools needed to protect him/herself from elemental factors.

This job pays well if you're a young man/woman who is single and doesn't mind being away from home. This makes saving money easier and faster. You will be using your OWN VEHICLE to travel well over 1000 miles a month with little cellular service in rural areas.
Pros
Flexible schedule, much of worklife spent alone. easy to save money
Cons
Zero work life balance/constant travel, throttled promotions, outdoors year round.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
if your up to the challenge its and excellent job
Foreman (Current Employee) –  Houston, TXSeptember 25, 2018
very labor intensive but not a horrible job. id recommend it to anyone whos willing to put in the time and effort. i decided i needed to be closer to home
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Mental stress is the bigest thing
Utility Worker (Current Employee) –  Peachtree City, GASeptember 17, 2018
Its a good place for somekne to work if you dont want a wife or kids or anything you spend more time on the road than you do at home so you dedicate your life to q company that can replace you by tomorrow if something was to happen. All they care about really is their numbers and work being done, they really dont care abiut how you feel, or that your back hurts, or any of that they pretty much just pay for your hotel and everything else is on you like you flight or if you drive you pay for your own fuel or spend 700 on a flight but they pay is good i make 1000 a week but it dont help that i cant be home with family or any of that
Pros
Pays good
Cons
No paid trip home/to work, you pay for your food, no per diem, no time home, share a hotel room with crew member, travel
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced, fun work environment
Human Resources Assistant (Former Employee) –  Peachtree City, GASeptember 7, 2018
A typical day at work went by extremely fast because of the wonderful work environment. The management was very easy to communicate with and helpful at all times as well as understanding. I learned many valuable skills including team work and communication. I would highly recommend working at Osmose.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company if you can travel often
Supervisor (Former Employee) –  NortheastAugust 19, 2018
This is a great company to work for salary, wages and benefits are amazing. You must be able to travel and this is hard to balance a home life. If your young or single then you would enjoy seeing the country.
Pros
Great people to work with and for
Cons
Traveling weekly
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great flexibility but culture needs some improvement.
Project Manager (Current Employee) –  Atlanta, GAAugust 7, 2018
Working remotely helps to offset the cons of frequent travel and long days. Job security is good, but folks don't practice career planning/coaching. If you want a personal development plan, it's 100% on the employee. Much of management started in the lower ranks of the company and worked their way up. There is a therefore a lack of acceptance for people who come from other companies. The culture is one that is not supportive of work/family balance. I was unable to take bereavement when my father in law passed because I was unable to find someone to help with my workload. I've frequently had to cancel planned vacation days with my son at the last minute in order to meet emergent work requests. Technology and tools are very lacking making many work processes administratively burdonsome. There are, however, many hard working employees that support eachother and give their all to the company. Company events are very focused on teambuilding and help to provide a time/place to blow off steam.
Pros
Working remotely, some work hour flexibility
Cons
Work/life balance, lack of tools, 'old school' culture
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible Company
Field Foreman (Former Employee) –  Atlanta, GAAugust 1, 2018
Management doesnt care about you or your family. Crewmembers get treated like they just came of the boat like the year was 1600. Avoid at all cost unless you can get hired on as a supervisor or higher
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pay is good, not much time home.
Foreman (Current Employee) –  Peachtree City, GAAugust 1, 2018
Good pay as long as you are in the Foreman position, you travel all around the US working in different states and different contracts, you just don't get much time spent at home.
Pros
Insurance
Cons
Travel always away from home.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Got to walk alot and meet some pretty nice people
Utility Worker (Former Employee) –  Logan, OHJuly 20, 2018
It was a good job, you would walk along a telephone pole line and inspect anywhere from 60-100 poles a day depending on terrain really. Sometimes you had to walk through creeks and up and down hillsides and through weeds. A lot of physical labor.
Pros
Good pay and Garanteed overtime
Cons
you were out of town for a week at a time
Was this review helpful?Yes 12No 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work place
Laborer (Current Employee) –  United StatesJuly 19, 2018
It was hard to work around people I new and never got appreciated for working hard but the supervisor for do anything for you and you can work your way up there to company
Pros
Got to be out side
Cons
The people I work with
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Employees are just numbers
Foreman (Former Employee) –  EastJuly 18, 2018
Care more about productivity than quality of work. Employees are just cogs in the machine. The company is geared toward meeting units per hour. They say that safety is the most important thing, but it's more about how many units can each employee get. The company says they are a family, but if you are not fast enough or have one issue, you are gone.
Pros
Possibility to make money based on production
Cons
More you do, the more that is expected
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
If you can handle it
Treater (Former Employee) –  New Boston, TXJuly 17, 2018
If you can handle the rain snow heat cold and really rough turane then the job ain't so bad it has a lot of physical aspects of the job from carrying 50 pounds all day to walking 3 to 7 miles a day
Pros
Off weekends
Cons
Dogs
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard work very stressful
Foreman (Former Employee) –  LaJuly 12, 2018
You have to sleep in the same room as a coworker which sucks. They won’t even attempt to put you in your own room. Very hard labor. You work in rain and snow
Pros
Pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very unfair
Treater (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXJuly 9, 2018
it was easy to get hired. but the manager was simply taking advantage of who he thought was uneducated and desperate.
they try to fore people out, who could posibly be managers themselves.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very productive and time consuming
Crew Leader (Former Employee) –  Little Rock, ARJuly 9, 2018
The typical day at work would consist of placing steel against power poles. I learned how to handle negative situations, upset land owners, etc. The hardest part of the job in my opinion was that there was no hard part about the job at all.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Slave labor
Foreman (Former Employee) –  Lansing, MichiganJuly 4, 2018
Unreal expectations and very high turn over due to no home time and living in roach motels.
Management has no realistic idea of possible expected rates due to varied terrains. HR ignores complaints and concerns, once hired your ignored.
Pros
Its a job
Cons
Poor management, no home life, cannot keep crewmembers.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I love this job
Crew Member (Former Employee) –  Peachtree City, GAJuly 1, 2018
Exercise drink alot of water make sure u stretch before work to warm up ur muscles before digging all day make sure u wear all ur PPE that is needed when applying the preservatives
Pros
2 15 minute breaks 1 30 minute break
Cons
Alot of short breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 4Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company, great leadership
Crew Member (Former Employee) –  San Bernardino, CAJune 25, 2018
Was a joy working for such a dedicated company and such dedicated co-workers. Unfortunately I was young and did not advance my relationship with this company eventually leading for the crew to dump me for an older more experienced worker.
Pros
Travel, great pay
Cons
New foremen can stress pay rate
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good job if you don’t have family
Digger (Former Employee) –  Fresno, CAJune 22, 2018
You travel a lot and work long hours so it’s not a job for a family man but the pay is decent and it’s a union job so you get good benefits as well they pay for the hotel aswell
Pros
Pay for hotel
Cons
Gone all the time
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 2Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Osmose Utilities Services Inc. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.1
Based on 190 reviews
535
447
345
225
138

Ratings by category

2.6Work/Life Balance
3.1Compensation/Benefits
2.8Job Security/Advancement
2.8Management
2.9Culture