Otis Elevator Company Employee Reviews

Found 206 reviews matching the search See all 618 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pridutive
Machine Operator II (Current Employee) –  Florence, SC 29501February 9, 2019
Learning new skills and making a difference. Diversity does exsist. The person best for promotions does not always get the positions. Buddy system does exist and in the long run may hurt the company. I knew I was qualified for a position, but it was recommend for a friend
Pros
Self reliant
Cons
Buddy system
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
BRANCH MANAGER (Current Employee) –  anywhereFebruary 5, 2019
Good Company and offers lots of training and good culture. You learn mostly on the job, but once you prove your skills you can move up in the company.
Pros
Good Pay
Cons
Healthcare
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company
Account Manager/Sales Representative (Former Employee) –  Kernersville, NCJanuary 8, 2019
Very organized company structure, good management, cares about employees, room for advancement, good training program and resources for success, family environment
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
was a great company, affirmative action ruined it
Supervisor/Manager (Former Employee) –  North CarolinaJanuary 5, 2019
very unethical
grossly negligent
does not care about people, your just a number
company is consumed with affirmative action
have managers who have no business in there jobs
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work environment
TOOL FACILITY SUPERVISOR (Former Employee) –  Florence, SCDecember 29, 2018
Good place to work, but very unpredictable. They change their agendas constantly, and effect employees. Very difficult to move up in this company. Low pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Construction environment
Project Manager (Current Employee) –  Seattle, WANovember 29, 2018
Good working environment with a variety of different groups and interactions. Vendors, customers, general contractors and mechanics. Learn both technical aspects of elevators and taking care of customers.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company
elevator mechanic (Current Employee) –  Orlando, FLNovember 13, 2018
Top company to work for if your in or looking to get into the elevator business. Top company for safety and a great pay as you learn and become a mechanic.
Pros
Learning a great trade
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
hard work
Assembler/Production (Current Employee) –  Florence, SCNovember 5, 2018
lots and lots of 10 hour days along with Saturdays average of 56-58 hours a week 30 min lunch ad 2 ten minute breaks. very hard work for a woman.... not a pleasant place to work
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Otis Elevator
Mechanic Assistant (Former Employee) –  Dallas, TXOctober 26, 2018
I worked four years for Otis Elevator. although the pace was slow, it was hard to learn because we were working on big jobs. There was little time for one on one training, so you you did the best that you could to watch and learn. It was a physical job, but it paid well. I worked on three major jobs before being assigned to Dover by the Union in 1987.
Pros
Good pay, benefits
Cons
Dangerous occupation
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Otis
Warehouse Worker (Former Employee) –  Florence, SCOctober 23, 2018
I use to work night shift which was pretty intense. I learned how to operate a forklift, and that is actually where I got certified at. Management was good. I never had a problem with any of my bosses. The culture was great. I was steady, and defiantly quick paced. The hardest part was the night shift, but even that wasn't to bad for me at all in fact I actually grew to like it. I enjoyed everything about my job. I loved the work, the people, and the pay.
Pros
Great company in general.
Cons
I was through a temp service and got laid off
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Internship
Sales Intern (Former Employee) –  Columbus, OHOctober 16, 2018
It was a pretty solid internship. They gave me experience in an individual and team setting. Only advice I have for management is to provide me with feedback along the way, so I can work on getting better during that time.
Pros
good benefits
Cons
no feedback, not much of a supportive staff
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unprofessional work place
Customer Service Associate (Former Employee) –  Columbia, SCOctober 4, 2018
The management was horrible.i hated it.bad hours no benefits.i was really a stepping stone for the time being.the best thing I did was leave.i would not recommend.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 4Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Difficult but possible
Account Manager (Current Employee) –  Houston, TXSeptember 19, 2018
The commission structure is awful. Very intense job. You can make a lot of money. Culture is not great. Learn a lot because you have to manage many things at once.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Was a great place to work.
Welder/Fabricator (Former Employee) –  Bllomington, INSeptember 19, 2018
I enjoyed welding and all the overtime. This was a union place and got laid of due to seniority. A few years later they closed the Bloomington plant.
Pros
Enjoyed welding everyday.
Cons
Long Drive
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best elevator co there is
Elevator Mechanic (Former Employee) –  Washington, DCSeptember 6, 2018
Would still work here if I didn't screw it all up. Excellent equipment awesome coworkers decent bosses easy to advance had work speaks for itself here.
Pros
Tons of work can make alot of money
Cons
Isnt any
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
High Turnover
Anonymous (Current Employee) –  Jacksonville, FLAugust 31, 2018
Employees are overwhelmed. There is an emphasis on hiring inexperienced and poorly trained workers as project managers, service managers and other management roles. Company keeps implementing new procedures which add to inefficiency.
Pros
Free lunches and good benefits
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging work
Elevator Apprentice (Former Employee) –  Miami, FLJuly 30, 2018
Great place to work. Would greatly recommend.
Growth opportunity. Great benefits. Possible travel at times. Enjoyed very much. Would like to return given the opportunity.
Pros
Challenging work
Cons
Management
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work life balance
Finance Processor (Current Employee) –  Jupiter, FLJuly 23, 2018
Work was overbearing because they refuse to hire people to match the maximum growth of the department, which came from the opening of new branches in many states.
Pros
good community adventures
Cons
Over extended
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
Emergency Dispatch Operator (Former Employee) –  Farmington, CTJuly 22, 2018
Dispatched police, fire, medical, proprietary security companies and other emergency agencies for callers in distress.

•Asked probing questions to get to the root of caller's issues.

•Submitted daily reports, forms and other documentation in a timely and accurate manner.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible
Administrative Assistant (Current Employee) –  Roseville, MNJuly 16, 2018
Horrible. Did not keep to what they promised. Promised that they would hire me on. After 2 years of being jerked around, they fired me due to being beyond sick.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Otis Elevator Company. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.0
Based on 618 reviews
5236
4218
3103
234
127

Ratings by category

3.7Work/Life Balance
3.7Compensation/Benefits
3.4Job Security/Advancement
3.4Management
3.6Culture

Ratings from women

2.4InHerSight Score

1.8Personal Development

2.8Career Opportunities

2.6Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight

Powered by InHerSight