OU Medical Center Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
amazing
Respiratory Therapist (Former Employee) –  Oklahoma City, OKMay 3, 2018
amazing staff, amazing hospital. all around 1 of the best jobs ever. great management, coworkers. cant think of a bad thing to say at all. great schedules
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Patient care is a passion of mine, but poor management causes numerous issues...
Medical Assistant (Current Employee) –  OKC, OKApril 23, 2018
Patient care is a passion of mine, but poor management causes numerous issues.
Hard to keep all areas staffed due to lack of competent hires and lack of management knowledge of how everything works.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Quick paced, great learning environment
CRITICAL CARE RN-CONTRACT (Former Employee) –  OKC, OKApril 16, 2018
Took temporary 13 week contract, stayed 17 months. Good teamwork overall which makes the task at hand enjoyable. Would recommend to others interested in a similar position.
Pros
pay was decent
Cons
Temporary position
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
enjoy the people
STERILE PROCSSING CASE CART SPECIALIST (Current Employee) –  SPD DeptApril 6, 2018
I enjoy working at O.U. there was a lot of ups and down. the turn over there is something else. A great place to get the training need to work in the Medical field.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible place to work or be a patient.
CST (Former Employee) –  Adult SurgeryApril 4, 2018
Management plays favorites with people that continuously cause problems with others. Not uncommon for a select few to berate a co-worker in front of others or patients and not receive disciplinary action. The o.r. is a constant political nightmare and those who stay only do so for the experience of a level 1 trauma center. The day shift blames midshift and night crew. While the midshift blames the day crew. Night crew are lazy and blame any other shift.
Pros
Most of the Dr's are competent in what they do.
Cons
HCA owned facility that will burden you with more and more responsibility, and refusing to compensate for aquired skills.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Care Team Associate
Care Team Associate (Current Employee) –  OUMCMarch 14, 2018
Great place to work. Managers do a good job of working around your personal schedule. Policies and procedures are presented upfront so you know exactly what is expected of you. The benefits offered are unbelievable. Tuition assistance is available for those who would like to advance. Overtime contracts are available and a great way to make extra cash.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor management. Competitive environment. Care about bottom line more than patient satisfaction.
N/A (Former Employee) –  Edmond, OKMarch 4, 2018
Poor management. Competitive environment. Unprofessional management. Excessive flex-out. Management is bullying, passive-aggressive, and back-stabbing. Senior management is not interactive with employees. Mediocrity is the preferred employee standard...not excellence as in the mission statement.
Pros
Coworkers. 401K matching.
Cons
Management, Communication, Respect. Senior management. Lack of follow through. Lack of respect for employees.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved this employer
Referral Case Manager (Former Employee) –  Oklahoma City, OK 73104February 24, 2018
I hated to leave this employer, however husband was relocated. Work load was evened out within the office, proivders were easy to approach. Stayed busy with the large office.
Pros
Benefits
Cons
had to relocate
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a productive and great place to work
Receptionist (Former Employee) –  Edmond, OKFebruary 21, 2018
It was a great experience. I remember the first day I was nervous because I knew the job was more serious then some of the other jobs I had. I was stuffed with papers I had to organize, I made sure all the files was in a folder with the person last name and first initial of there first name.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable
Administrative Assistant (Current Employee) –  Oklahoma City, OKFebruary 12, 2018
They teach you as you go which is nice.
They're patient and are always there if you have any questions.
Great group of people and they make coming to work enjoyable.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work with some challenges
Sterile Processing Technician (Former Employee) –  Oklahoma City, OKFebruary 8, 2018
Great pay . Great benefits. Great coworkers. Great environment for learning. Not always well managed. Understaffed. High turnover rate. Very heavy workload.
Pros
Great pay . Great benefits.
Cons
High turnover rate. Heavy workload.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
n/a
Pharmacy Technician (Former Employee) –  Oklahoma City, OKFebruary 2, 2018
i had a great experience working for OU Medical system. I do think there are a few things they could improve. so the general idea of how they operate is a good overall system.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worked in Supply chain and I would never tell anyone to work there.
OR Supply Technician (Former Employee) –  Oklahoma City, OKJanuary 30, 2018
Racist and if you are not friends with management there is no opportunity for advancement, Again I am talking about the supply chain department. Inexperienced people work there and it is awful.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Organization
Surgical Technologist (Current Employee) –  Oklahoma City, OKJanuary 26, 2018
There is minimal organization. From going to get the patient, going to sleep, the procedure and waking up, it's chaos. There are so many people involved and so many hoops to jump through it takes a long time for anything to get done and we cant do our jobs effectively.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
One of my favorite places I’ve worked in years. Staff and co-workers were second to none. Would love the opportunity to work with the company again i!
Credentialing Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Oklahoma City, OKJanuary 15, 2018
Had the absolute best supervisor and director anyone could ask for. They would work with you if you needed unexpected time off and would look for ways to help you advance in your career!
Pros
Co-workers, advancement in career available always a possibility
Cons
N:a
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great oppurtunity
CNA - Certified Nursing Assistant (Former Employee) –  Oklahoma City, OKJanuary 4, 2018
great opportunity for someone who is wanting to advance in the medical field.OU medical center makes it very possible and gives all the resources and help needed.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
none
Telephone Transfer Center Nurse (Current Employee) –  Oklahoma City, OKDecember 12, 2017
I do not wish to respond. I will not say anything one way or another. I have worked at this job for more than 11 years, it has had it's up's and downs..
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ou medical center
CST (Former Employee) –  Oklahoma City, OKDecember 8, 2017
The best hospital in Oklahoma, advanced teaching, wonderful docs and staff, up to date on all procedures , turnover in surgery is awesome for patients and staff, incrediable patient to staff relationships
Pros
teaching
Cons
parking
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Postive environment and great people.
Patient Access Scheduler (Current Employee) –  Oklahoma City, OKDecember 4, 2017
Overall, I love working here and don't want to leave. The people are amazing and my manager and director are both great. The issues I have are that we do not get paid holoday time, the hours come out of our PTO, and I need a higher pay. I feel like we are under paid for the job we do.
Pros
Bonuses
Cons
The dental insurance is not great and the pay should be raised.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lots of call
RN PACU (Former Employee) –  Oklahoma City, OKNovember 7, 2017
Nursing staff was very supportive of each other. Turnover was high. likely due to call schedule seven days a week. Nurses often worked late even when not on call due to patient load to support co-workers.
Pros
good experience
Cons
work schedule
Was this review helpful?Yes 7NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at OU Medical Center. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.5
Based on 151 reviews
543
444
330
219
115

Ratings by category

3.5Work/Life Balance
3.4Compensation/Benefits
3.3Job Security/Advancement
3.1Management
3.3Culture

OU Medical Center Reviews by Location