Overland Contracting Inc. Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great
Working Ironwoker Foreman (Former Employee) –  Fort Lauderdale, FLJuly 13, 2018
This company went above and beyond at all times for their employees. The benefits with this company has been by far the best that we have ever had in the 13 years I've been in construction.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive day
Leadman Machinist (Former Employee) –  Garner, NCJune 13, 2018
good paying job and easy to work for. wish they had more work with out laying us off. we need more projects to countine working all year around to support our families.
Pros
good benifets
Cons
wish we had work back to back with out being laid off
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Heavy Equipment Operator (Current Employee) –  Melbourne, FLMay 8, 2018
I always had a fun loving day at work. I learned about solar panels. The management was very good. I enjoyed the people i worked around. The hardest part of the job is working out in the heat all day.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great job to have
Machine Operator (Former Employee) –  Vero Beach, FLApril 15, 2018
Wonderful job to have. Great learning experience and handled very professional. Due to inclimate weather, hours varied, but in all, it was a great place to start a career.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stressful Situation
Construction Manager II (Former Employee) –  Walnut Creek, CAMarch 5, 2018
This was a great place to work. However with so many management changes and not much communication. It was very difficult to stay on top of what was going on in the workplace. One day you are assigned one job and before you could get it complete it was handed off and you were on to something else.
Pros
Great people to work with.
Cons
Too much micromanagement
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
learning experiece
heavy equipment operator (Current Employee) –  Micco, FLFebruary 27, 2018
something new daily, enjoyed coworkers and management, safety is absolutely most important and drilled into each associate daily, also accountability for ones actions
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place.
Foreman (Former Employee) –  Vero Beach, FLFebruary 15, 2018
Big job sites and great benefit packages. Long layoff though but when employed they do have long job sites to keep you busy for a while. I would consider working for them again
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Tower tech ll
tetelecommunication (Former Employee) –  Kansas City, MOFebruary 10, 2018
Put in some long hours did a lot of work for the company for the most part they're okay 44 they have there pros and cons like every company of course but more Pros for sure
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
WAREHOUSE / RT FORKLIFT OPERATOR (Former Employee) –  FloridaFebruary 6, 2018
Very good company. Safety culture, BBQ lunches, Raffles etc. People matter most policy. Safety first not productivity, Everyone is a brothers keeper. Very detail JSA and STA's. Employee's always planned their work and work the plan.
Pros
BBQ lunches, Safety training, Room for advance
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a great company to work with.
Warehouse Manager (Current Employee) –  Raleigh, NCJanuary 30, 2018
Will go back with them anytime. Its all about Safety first not productivity, Everyone is a brothers keeper. Very detail JSA and STA's. Employee's always planned their work and work the plan.
Pros
Great benefits
Cons
Sometimes Coordinations from sections to Warehouse
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Job
Equipment Operator Light (Former Employee) –  Sebastian, FLJanuary 28, 2018
Anyone who is willing to temporarily relocate for work, this job is for you. Perdiem based also. Safety is the number one priority, quality, and production.
Pros
paid every friday.
Cons
All types of nature and weather conditions.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Safeties company ever work
P.V. Installer -Team leader (Former Employee) –  Indiantown, FLJanuary 25, 2018
Solid safety culture company ever work. Learn every day best way to lead, manage and take care my crew. Demonstrate personal responsibility for own safety of others.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast-Paced, Hard Labor
Electrician (Former Employee) –  FloridaJanuary 20, 2018
Overall it is a good company to work with, they are willing to show you new things so that you can excel in their company. they are open to hearing new ideas and plans!
Pros
Per Diem
Cons
Lay Offs
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company Overall
Electrician Helper/operator (Former Employee) –  Garner, NCJanuary 16, 2018
You just have to remeber why you are working and that is to provide for my family. Also, know that everyone in a higher position don't deserve it and focus on doing your best job for the company.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fantastic company to work for
Electrician's Helper 1 (Former Employee) –  FloridaJanuary 15, 2018
I loved working for OCI and I am very much looking forward to working on another of their projects.It was a team environment with an emphasis on safety.
Pros
Open and friendly upper management team
Cons
working in the Florida heat
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Solar Technician (Former Employee) –  Indiantown, FLJanuary 11, 2018
Good place to work everyone seem to get along, upper management didn't hold up to their word but all employees pull together to get the job done in a timely manner.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful Experience
Electrical Helper 3 (Current Employee) –  West Palm Beach, FLDecember 28, 2017
Great place to work for advancement
Will train you
You can travel endless with your career at Overland
Dedicated and Loyal Company
Family Friendly
Pros
Solid Jobs
Cons
Needs to more diverse
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good company
Project Facilitator I (Former Employee) –  Pittsburgh, PADecember 14, 2017
Good Company to work for but there is lack of work.
I worked at Object Computing full-timeĀ  for 4.5 years. A well established company that has been doing business for over 24 years.
Built on a foundation of education and solid software engineering. Amazing people to work with at all levels of the company.They have training programs, reimburse tuition for education outside of work, have professional mentors and provide pathways for non-traditional career paths.They understand people have lives outside of work, and attempt to keep a good work life balance for all.They treat people fairly.Leaders are open about the challenges, as well as its successes.Leaders seek feedback.Leaders are accessible and approachable.
Pros
Pay, benefits
Cons
favoritism
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Higher ups looked out for one another
Solar Installer (Former Employee) –  Parrish, FLDecember 13, 2017
OCI was an amazing place to work and the pay was great. I had gotten laid off due to the project being finished early. I would love to work again with the company treats all employees with respect and encourages workers to finish their projects on time.
Pros
Hours and pay
Cons
Work ended to soon
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Job was nice, good pace to work with.
Solar Panel Installer (Former Employee) –  Vero Beach, FLDecember 11, 2017
Typical day at work would be breezing through the work. I learned alot more than I expected. I learned how to square the racks, connect splice plates, and how to throw up the panels properly but at a really fast pace. Management was okay, more than bad. The workplace culture was good. Everyone got along, i had no bad altercations. The hardest part of the job I say would be the heat. The panels attract more heat rays than anything else out there, but for the most part the work environment was enjoyable.
Pros
Pros are that we had microwaves on the site to heat our food.
Cons
I don't think there were any cons.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Overland Contracting Inc.. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.1
Based on 74 reviews
530
425
314
23
12

Ratings by category

3.7Work/Life Balance
4.2Compensation/Benefits
3.5Job Security/Advancement
3.7Management
3.9Culture

Ratings from women

InHerSight Score
1.6

1.6Personal Development

1.8Career Opportunities

1.6Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight