Owens Corning Employee Reviews

Found 601 reviews matching the search See all 773 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Found to be hierarchical
Global Mobility Specialist (Former Employee) –  Toledo, OHJuly 16, 2019
Found to be hierarchical. People are very nice and for the most part easy to work with. Great location that was just re-done inside. Onsight gym was a bonus.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management was absolutely horrible
Production Worker (Former Employee) –  Wabash, INJuly 16, 2019
On a daily basis the job environment was extremely stressful. Management was absolutely horrible. HR Did absolutely nothing to fix work issues. Supervisors and the line operators on 2nd shift for the Owen's Corning Thermafiber in Wabash Indiana stand around all day on their phones and walk around and sit in the foreman's office. And when something messes up they yell at the production crew and they stand around and watch the production crew struggle when insulation starts coming off the conveyors and laugh instead of helping their workers
Pros
Absolutely none
Cons
Very stressful and unorganized. Management does not care whatsoever about their employees
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Drab, depressing place only for those who put limitations on their own potential
Machine Operator (Former Employee) –  Brentwood, NHJuly 15, 2019
Mostly a revolving door for temp help. They don't hire most, despite claims they will after three months. Its a classic good old boys system here. Never witnessed so little congeniality among many 1st shift workers. Some are downright rude and say things which clearly suggests they have little, if any life ambition. And when workers aren't given the means to succeed, most with ambition realize its time to move on. I got a chuckle to hear some of the old timers' and management's puzzled commentaries regarding so many always quitting. Naivety at its extreme.

Even had my meals thrown out overnight, including good tupperware, because management doesn't communicate they are removing refrigerators and lazily hang with their old buddies all day in the offices. Inexcusable. And nobody gives newer workers positive feedback. Ever. Team leads, supervisors, management. This place hasn't gotten caught up to the 21st century let alone, 2019! Only a one month and two month "poll" where you answer questions like how you like it, was it what you expected, and such. Never any feedback, one way or the other. Tell you to fill out an app on the Owens Corning site, and then they drop you after three months.

Would be nice to learn some of the skills necessary to do other jobs proficiently, but even when you offer, team leads tell you "no, we're all set". Often times it results in holding up a broomstick to make yourself look busy for 11 hours (yes machines constantly have issues at this factory, and in fact one day didn't run for 11 hours out of a 12 hour shift). Gets very boring and unless
  more... this is your lifeblood, you will hate it here. Supervisors should be up front with you if they feel like your not a good fit, but they just let you wallow in the wind for three months, don't communicate, and move on to another poor sucker from an array of temp agencies. Sorriest excuse for a work environment I've seen in my lifetime, bar none.  less
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
worked as a contractor, ttreated as an Owens Corning employee
Buyer (Former Employee) –  Aiken, SCJuly 14, 2019
Worked as a contractor, ttreated as an Owens Corning employee.
I worked as a buyer for 10 years I enjoyed my job.
I was laid off due to end of contract
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The management sucks if you don’t move fast enough they get rid of you i was only there 3 weeks on training and i got a phone call on the third day of
Production Utility (Former Employee) –  Kearny, NJJuly 14, 2019
The management sucks if you don’t move fast enough they get rid of you i was only there 3 weeks on training and i got a phone call on the third day of my third saying not to go in without an explanation! That place is ridiculous.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor management
Electro Machanical Technician (Former Employee) –  Fairburn, GAJuly 12, 2019
Management is lost. College degrees but no experience. They dont know good talent. No electrical work, even though the title says Electro- Mechanical Tech.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stay away!
Dryend / Wetend / Warehouse Equipment Operator (Former Employee) –  Aiken, SCJuly 4, 2019
The only good thing about OC was the pay and the fact that it is a union plant. Management is completely disconnected! Safety is reactive instead of proactive! High school drama everywhere you turn along with the rumor mill!
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good work
Worker 1 (Former Employee) –  Wichita Falls, TX 76306June 13, 2019
work was pretty laid back but demanding at times. I didn't feel like I was appreciated for all I did. I would go back to work there if they would let me however.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Its ok to work there
Technicial support (Former Employee) –  Clara, MSJune 9, 2019
Lot laid off every year Because slow business or market.its ok to work but every year busines change and cost to people get to live the company every time
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No
Machine Operator/Forklift Operator (Former Employee) –  Santa Clara, CAJune 4, 2019
Long hours and Rotating shift are very hard.a very far commute no breaks only lunch break no feed back from management .loads were all done on a Rf system
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Day in the life.
Materials Management Specialist / Office Admin. (Current Employee) –  Summit, ILJune 4, 2019
Day starts the minute you hit the door (which I do not mind, makes time go by) and does not let up until you walk out the door. Management is often not present and this leads to a stressful work atmosphere for all. Many hats to be worn.
Pros
Person I share my desk with, free lunches once in awhile.
Cons
one lunch break that is a working lunch break at my desk, training that really does not pertain to my position.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Advancement, but poor funding
Maintenance Engineering Leader - Fairburn (Current Employee) –  Atlanta, GAMay 29, 2019
Company will purchase systems and not fully implement them, leaving the engineering and maintenance department to figure out how it works. This means time needed to maintain equipment is spent getting it to function
Pros
New stuff
Cons
cost to own is high
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very good remuneration almost non-existence balance of life
Plant Controller (Current Employee) –  Kearny, NJMay 28, 2019
The day start early in the morning (7 am), the operations team is around the clock so te decision making is fast pace and there is no much room for analyzing, procedures and tool are archaic so that have to be exchange by time and manual rework, long journeys and there is no accuracy on the measure systems.

The best day is pay day.
Pros
very good benefits, health insurance, annual bonus and stock options
Cons
Non-balance of life
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No good for job security
FHW (Former Employee) –  Amarillo, TXMay 26, 2019
Towards end of employment, they were firing guys left and right for any and everything so they would not have to pay them unemployment during the furnace rebuild. Managers have no training and its more of a "do as you're told or i'll fire you" type of attitude with majority of them. Pay is poor for the work you do and auditors always seeking ways to make their jobs relevant by picking on the worker bees.
Pros
Had pool tables in dining room
Cons
Literally, everything.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
professional growth and work opportunities
Mechanic (Former Employee) –  Waxahachie, TXMay 21, 2019
You can improve on your knowledge with a better opportunity, more challenges, and career growth. Everyone I spoke with had a minimum of 15 years experience. Ever had a problem someone could guide you through
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good pay benefits.. Management lacking leadership pepple skills
Warehouse Associate (Former Employee) –  Portland, ORMay 21, 2019
The pay was good the health insurance was so so they paid for preventive but out of pocket max for family was high. There were some great employees and some bad employees like anywhere else the management ran a high performance organization which means little to no supervision I personally like this system but it did create backstabbing and tattling on employees this was encouraged by management and rewarded seeing this is the only way they knew or thought they knew what was going on on the floor
Pros
Pay
Cons
Management style
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good grou[p of guys to work with
MAINTENANCE TECHNICIAN (Former Employee) –  Bella Vista, FLMay 20, 2019
Inability to shut down operations to fix things correctly, therefore fixing the same things repeatedly. poor training for operators. management only worried about numbers.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
bueno
operador técnico devanado, creel y winder. (Former Employee) –  Doddridge County, WVMay 17, 2019
una empresa comprometida al desarrollo de sus empleados
Pros
transporte
Cons
manejo de la fibra
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not what I was expecting
Production Technician (Former Employee) –  Portland, ORMay 13, 2019
First production job, was not thrilled with the days on days off 6 week days 6 weeks night rotation or the management style but learned a lot and feel that my skill base benefited from the experience
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
“Tribal” Culture, Hamstrung Management
Production Operator (Former Employee) –  Minneapolis, MNMay 13, 2019
12 hr workday. Start with 15 min safety huddle. Then operate & troubleshoot in a position for 12 hours. Learned a lot about time management, gained some factory wherewithal. The work can get tough, but typically it is not. Training is a work in progress. Management is good but minimal, easily overloaded. Domineering & predatory long-timers. Culture is very “tribal”. Typically when someone speaks, nobody but that person knows anything. The individual people are mostly good. The hardest part is the culture. The most enjoyable part is teamwork on the line.
Pros
Pay, benefits
Cons
Culture & administration
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Owens Corning. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 773 reviews
5253
4256
3152
259
153

Ratings by category

3.5Work/Life Balance
3.8Compensation/Benefits
3.4Job Security/Advancement
3.3Management
3.5Culture

Diversity score

Comparably
Diversity Score
TOP5%
In the Top 5% of similar size companies

The Comparably Diversity Score tracks how positively diverse employees rate their experience at Owens Corning.

Powered by Comparably