Oxfam Employee Reviews

Found 56 reviews matching the search See all 1,904 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Humanitarian Services
Planned Giving Officer (Current Employee) –  Boston, MAApril 3, 2019
Humanitarian Services. Very strong moral commitment However at this time in my career I am looking to shift direction into more structured planned gift setting.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A place that push you to be creative
Hygiene promoter (Former Employee) –  SyriaFebruary 6, 2019
On my year and half in oxfam I found that it is amazing place that activate your passion and help you with huge motivation to do your best with a joy.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My experience was great with Oxfam over the years
Public Health Promotion Team Leader (Former Employee) –  Sierra Leone, Nigeria and BangladeshOctober 1, 2018
I have great experience working with vulnerable people , helping them to find solutions to change their lives. It helped me to understand cultural dynamics and the essence to adapt interventions for the target groups.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
oxfam
Canvasser (Former Employee) –  New York, NYOctober 1, 2018
Working at oxfam was really great when I believed in the cause. I felt like I was doing my part in making the world a better place but Its a difficult job to sustain
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work (Oxfam Glasgow)
STOCKS RESPONSIBLE, SELLER (Former Employee) –  GlasgowSeptember 22, 2018
Volunteer in charity shop
Volunteer in a charity shop. I learned how to deal with the till, how to manage the clothing stock, and how to sale.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Oxfam GB
HR Advisor (Roving) (Current Employee) –  JoradnSeptember 19, 2018
Oxfam is an employer of choice due to its conducive environment specifically for females. They provide good learning and development opportunities.

Oxfam's has made numerous contribution to achieve its strong vision and mission. Oxfam's vision is a just world without poverty. We envisage a world in which people can influence decisions that affect their lives, enjoy their rights, and assume their responsibilities—a world in which everyone is valued and treated equally.
Pros
Reputable Brand name, Conducive environment particularly for females, career growth opportunities, Flexible hours, Working remotly
Cons
Shortage of funds
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
An experience training for me as a junior casual job
Water trucking monitor (Former Employee) –  WajirSeptember 3, 2018
Although I was a young man at time,oxfam is a great place to work, i was satisfied with the wage and more concerned about the experience gained. Wages i have received during the time helped me pay my school fees. It was a great opportunity.
Pros
Experience, uplifting life and hopes
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very good
Security and Fleet officer (Current Employee) –  Belknap County, NHJuly 29, 2018
Oxfam is very good organisation and it's a good chance to have and rich my experience.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Volunteer
Volunteer (Former Employee) –  County DublinJune 11, 2018
Sell fair-trade and donated items in network of shops
Visual merchandiser, configuring weekly rotation of window and in-store displays
Greet and help customers with a positive friendly attitude
Pros
Sense of Community
Cons
No pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very political atmosphere
Information Technology Manager (Former Employee) –  Boston, MAMay 22, 2018
The political culture at Oxfam can be very distracting and disturbing - especially if a worker has opposing political views or party affiliations. This can be detrimental to a successful work environment.
Pros
good benefits
Cons
lack of professionalism
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I enjoyed my job in Oxfam GB
Governance and Partnership Officer (Former Employee) –  LodwarApril 23, 2018
Oxfam GB, Governance and Partnership position I held, exposed me in policy advocacy and engagement with the national and county levels of Government in connection with citizens.
Pros
The Medical health cover was comprehensive.
Cons
The job was much but I could mangement.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Organization!
Donor Specialist (Former Employee) –  Boston, MAMarch 14, 2018
Oxfam America really was a tremendous organization with great people doing their part to change the world. Although I very much enjoyed my job and coworkers, I felt it was in my best interest to leave and pursue other opportunities.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great!
Development Division Employee (Former Employee) –  Boston, MAJanuary 14, 2018
Nice community cafe for Lunch. Complimentary Coffee, Tea, and Filtered Water. Relaxation Room and Shower available. Close to transportation. 2 Annual Events: Summer Outing and Non-holiday Holiday Party. Union Body for Non-Management. Knowledgeable and Caring Staff.
Pros
Flexible Work Hours / Work From Home or Office
Cons
Open Work Environment / Headphones Provided for Privacy
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Average
Volunteer (Former Employee) –  Manchester, NHJanuary 4, 2018
It was a decent place to get work experience, but I would not plan on working there.
On a typical day, I would steam clothing, hang clothes and do some work on the till. That was it really.
I learnt basic customer service.
The management was average.
The hardest part of the job was steaming clothes for extensive periods of time.
The most enjoyable part of the job was working with decent staff.
Pros
Good for work experience.
Cons
Extensive tasks.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Works on important social issues
Senior Research Advisor (Former Employee) –  Washington, DCDecember 28, 2017
Oxfam is a global leader in working on issues of poverty and economic development, labor exploitation, natural-disaster and war relief. Many interesting people work for Oxfam and, if you are progressive, its politics are likely to align with yours.
Unfortunately, bureaucratic, not very nimble, some poor management.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work and learn
Global Resilient Livelihood Advisor (Current Employee) –  OxfordDecember 15, 2017
The organisation values people; it has policies to support personal development;provides opportunities to learn. The brief descriotion about the organisation is as follows:

Oxfam is a global movement of millions of people who share the belief that, in a world rich in resources, poverty isn't inevitable. In just 15 years, extreme poverty has been halved. 15 more years and we can end it for good.
Pros
Value-based work environment
Cons
Restructuring broaught uncertainities
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Oxfam is a great place to work
Coordinator, Human Resources (Former Employee) –  Boston, MADecember 11, 2017
I really enjoyed my time at Oxfam. Co-workers are smart and collaborative. It's a common joke that everyone has too many degrees for their position. There are two problems to note - the compensation is very low for low-level employees while it's quite high for the higher ups. There's also no clear career paths, so you have to figure out your own path to advance.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
its a good place to work.
DevOps Engineer (Former Employee) –  Boston, MAAugust 8, 2017
It is very good working in this company. I enjoyed very much working here. everyone in the company are super friendly. I learnt great things while working here.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Service
Computer Operator (Former Employee) –  KalmunaiAugust 2, 2017
I was work as computer operator in this company.i worked in sub agent e power
This society did follow jobs
Make toilet and selter and lively goods...
Pros
Free lunch
Cons
1 hour
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent and rewarding workplace
Program Manager (Former Employee) –  CaliforniaJuly 27, 2017
A nurturing workplace which fosters team work and provides for personal staff as well as the organisational growth. The role of the individual in the team is accentuated by the support structures in place and diversity is encouraged and embraced
Pros
Team building activities, staff benefits such as HIVcare support
Cons
short contracts
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Oxfam. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.3
Based on 1,904 reviews
51K
4570
3219
244
137

Ratings by category

4.2Work/Life Balance
3.1Compensation/Benefits
3.6Job Security/Advancement
4.1Management
4.2Culture

Women's ratings

4.0Fairygodboss Score

80%say women are treated fairly and equally to men

100%would recommend to other women

Fairygodboss provides free job reviews for women, by women.

Powered by Fairygodboss