Oxford Instruments Employee Reviews

Found 20 reviews matching the search See all 35 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard work for good wage
Production Worker (Current Employee) –  Scotts Valley, CAJune 8, 2018
You will work hard at this company and there is high turnover which is typical of a manufacturing business. Culture is in transition with new CEO in England and new President in Scotts Valley which should address a lot of the issues. Engineering lags but all other areas are strong and productive. Some great people.
Pros
Good people, interesting product
Cons
Benefits are not great.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interesting work, with great co-workers.
Production Technician (Former Employee) –  Scotts Valley, CAJanuary 8, 2018
It was a great place to work, most of the co-workers were great to work with. Management was good, but could use some help on time management. Probably one of the most competent pays in the Santa Cruz area.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My Opinion
Office Co-ordinator (Former Employee) –  Fremont, CaliforniaOctober 14, 2017
This place was an excellent learning process for me. It was head quartered in Concord, Ma. Sometimes the communication between the headquarter and us was poor but workable. The communication between the technicians and the parts that were available to them to complete them work was poor but we managed to keep all of our customers up and running as long as we could. The other employees were kind and refreshing to work with and although we had some difficulties we worked hard to complete the tasks on hand.
Pros
Providing customer service to our customer in a timely manner
Cons
Receiving product in a timely basis
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
enjoyable workplace with questionable supervisor
Production Technician (Former Employee) –  Scotts Valley, CAApril 14, 2017
I enjoyed the work that i was doing there and got along well with most of my coworkers. my biggest issue was with a supervisor that used questionable methods regarding sick days and advancement paths
Pros
fun coworkers, affordable food truck
Cons
couldn't trust what supervisor said
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Company to work for.
Quality and Safety Systems Manager (Former Employee) –  Carteret, NJApril 5, 2017
It was a nice experience to work at Oxford Instruments. Management is very committed to Safety and Quality. Great team of colleagues; very knowledgeable in their fields. Smart president and down to earth included employee's opinions.
Pros
Pay/benefits, opportunities to improve.
Cons
Work overload; elimination of positions and redistribution of duties.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very unorganized upper management
Production Manager (Former Employee) –  Austin, TXFebruary 20, 2017
The Branch i was part of was sold off after I left. Before that we acquired by Oxford. We were "Austin Scientific" and a very nimble organization
Pros
good management team
Cons
lack of vision, too myopic
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
used to be an awesome place to work
Service Engineer (Former Employee) –  Concord, MADecember 29, 2016
HR needs to focus on bullying, also the toxic work enviroment needs
to be eliminated, and the managers who are thirty something
should all be FIRED!!!!
Pros
used to have good managers
Cons
the exsisting magers SUCK!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lots of potential,
Logistics Manager (Former Employee) –  Carteret, NJOctober 5, 2015
26 years with company, provided significant training and ability to learn and grow with in company. very fair management group as well as great work force
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun work place
Lab technician, here my work responsibilities are (Former Employee) –  Carteret, NJJanuary 26, 2015
Nice and friendly work environment, Whole new work experience in super conducting industry. Hardest but important part was providing accurate test results whiten time limit to support production. quarterly and annually profit share and good health benefit.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good first line management, long drive for anyone living north, management team is cohesive in most areas
Materials Manager (Current Employee) –  Austin, TXJanuary 17, 2015
Somewhat flexible hours when needed
Benefits not the best
Most co-workers are united in desire to move the company forward
Good first line management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrific environment
Marketing Communications Manager (Former Employee) –  Dallas, TXOctober 28, 2014
Oxford Instruments is a great place with a global reach and vision. A typical day would include correspondence with offices in Boston and the UK as the team would collaborate on upcoming trade shows or ongoing projects. As with any place the most difficult part of the job would sometimes include difficult co-workers, but for the most part I had too much to do to worry about how they affected my day.
Pros
Friday company lunches in the Dallas office!
Cons
Limited exposure or information on upcoming projects.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Seasonal warehouse job during summers of college
General Warehouse (Former Employee) –  Elk Grove, ILMay 8, 2014
Very basic shipping and receiving in a standard warehouse.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sales assistant - bookeeper
Executive and Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Austin, TXFebruary 14, 2014
Not a happy experience,
1/2 lunch break, company was in the middle of nowhere.
Manager was not a good or effective communicator.
Low morale
Pros
None
Cons
Everything & the kitchen sink
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Oxford Instruments
MRI Engineer (Current Employee) –  Vacaville, CAAugust 21, 2013
Performed MRI service
Pros Free Lunch
Cons Poor Management no Communication Very Micro Managed
Pros
Free Lunch
Cons
Poor Management Communications
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ok place to work just don't get comfortable. You are replaceable..
Chemical Technician (Former Employee) –  Carteret, NJApril 7, 2013
A typical day at Oxford for me was collecting the scheduled work orders for the day and then stategizing the game plan for the team so that the work would be done efficiently and everyone would have their scheduled breaks and lunches.
I learned how to manage a team and work with different chemicals and get tasks completed ahead of time.
My co-workers were great for the most part. But management constatly switched personnel for me to work with.
The most enjoyable part of the job would have to have been the hours and the location and of course, the people.
Pros
profit sharing
Cons
job security
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Increasing workload and no increase in pay or room to grow.
Production Technician (Current Employee) –  Vacaville, CAMarch 5, 2013
A few low level people taking care of all aspects of business. No communication between management and employees.
Pros
free lunch
Cons
no room to grow
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
X-ray Tube Mfr
Equipment Maintenance Engineer (Former Employee) –  Scotts Valley, CAAugust 9, 2012
Great co-workers, Learned many valuable skills, X-ray spectroscopy,Industrial X-ray imaging, Maintaining and building the equipment that made them.
Company has good benefits
Pros
free coffe and water
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stable company
Production Scheduler / Buyer (Current Employee) –  Carteret, NJJuly 28, 2012
very stable company. An industry leader. Not strong leadership.
Pros
stability
Cons
management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Only to have a Check
Worker (Former Employee) –  new JerseyDecember 19, 2011
If your in need of a job with not a lot of risk this is the place. All you need to do is show up.
Pros
easy work
Cons
low pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

See more Oxford Instruments reviews

You may want to try:

Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Oxford Instruments. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.4
Based on 35 reviews
57
411
38
27
12

Ratings by category

3.5Work/Life Balance
3.2Compensation/Benefits
2.8Job Security/Advancement
3.0Management
3.0Culture