P&S Transportation Employee Reviews

Showing all 51 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's not good for me.
Driver (Current Employee) –  Birmingham, ALSeptember 12, 2019
First off, automatic trucks are terrible hunks of junk. Freightliners are the absolute worse. Chances are you will be in a auto frieghtliner. No room to store equipment. The company also blocks usage of the onboard GPS standard with most ELD systems. They say use a map, or buy your own GPS.
They told me the pay would be .51cpm. it's not. It's 27% of line haul, 35 for tarpping. No empty miles paid.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This company sucks
Driver (Former Employee) –  Birmingham, ALSeptember 4, 2019
Dispatch drags their feet finding freight, they dont care about their drivers, nice hotel and great orientation but i know from experience if you quit even with giving a notice THEY WILL NOT GET YOU HOME they lied to me just to get the truck back to the Birmingham yard and they kept my entire last check, stay away
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It an okay place but the unpaid dead head miles an loads time kill you
Truck Driver Class A (Current Employee) –  Birmingham, ALAugust 13, 2019
But other then that it a good place to work for they are nice friendly employees and service they will help you out just the pay and dead head miles kill you maybe it was just our fleet I’m not sure tho
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Driver
Truck Driver Class A (Former Employee) –  Birmingham, ALAugust 7, 2019
Good company to work for if your OTR, only reason I left cause they gave me a rookie dispatcher. Overall tho good money, good home time, u got to choose what freight you wanted to haul.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No retirement
Truck driver (Former Employee) –  Emporia, VAAugust 1, 2019
All vehicles governed 65
Forward facing and backwards camera
Flex dispatch, but if you refuse loads they'll have you sit out of retaliation
Collision mitigation on truck , annoying af.
Load planner and Driver manager are an item.
No diversity in office
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not as advertised.
OTR Driver Flatbed (Current Employee) –  MIDWESTJuly 28, 2019
Not a good place to work. Trucks are governed at 65, have very little hp, and are bare-bone( no apu/epu,inverter or refrig). Equipment issued has ran its' useful cycle and should be replaced( tarps, binders).Company drivers are mostly relegated to hauling sheet rock and lumber with some pipe and coils thrown in. Expect a lot of deadhead. Getting home on the weekend can be a hassle, depending on where you live.

All in all, I wouldn't recommend this company.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
You cam make money and get home
Driver (Current Employee) –  FloridaJune 20, 2019
Great starter company good paying frieght get you home
If you want to be an owner op and you can't get a truck thier lease purchase is straight up you can't lose if you are willing to work
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 3Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
They have Cameras facing the outside and inside their trucks
Truck Driver (Former Employee) –  Birmingham AlJune 19, 2019
This company was fine until they start using their cameras illegally.. I Got called in the office for a write up for cell phone use while driving which is wrong on my behalf I admit that... BUT the cameras was ONLY supposed to record when an event happens. The videos they showed me was me just driving down the highway and all of a sudden it starts recording... hhhmm... And the fact that every video they had was me holding my phone just cruising down the highway. No events no potholes.. None was any Events that happened bc I would have seen it record. . If I hit a small pothole I’ll look at it to see if it records or not and I’ll write that event down so I’ll have records when I had an event . So I know when it records for a fact.. None of the events matches my day/time events. All the events was seemed to be chosen clips of me while cruising down a open highway where there was no events . . . I never seen the camera record until I hit a pothole or I hit the brakes hard, and a red flashing will show and you’ll know it’s recording I Never seen it just record ..But now I see they record you 24/7.. So that made me realize they can look at those cameras at anytime and can hear everything you say .. You don’t have the feeling of freedom in thier trucks . . They’ll use that camera against you at any time they want. Speeding, following too closely anything. Micro Managing your every move . That’s not the way You want to feel when driving a truck. . We drive trucks to feel that freedom. Not someone looking over us 24/7.. Even if ur in the sleeper u don’t have ur privacy . God forbid  more... don’t have ur wife or girlfriend with you.... You’ll be hanging by a thread and they’ll Continuously threaten you’re employment with them bc they have so much against you. . . If you want Something Secure this isn’t the place . . . Not my cup of tea  less
Was this review helpful?Yes 12No 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
CDL Class A Driver (Former Employee) –  Coshocton, OHJune 5, 2019
Excellent pay good home time very good dms plan your home time you ask for no forced dispatch was good flatbed experience was welcome to come back when I left
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent truck driving job!
Company Driver (Former Employee) –  Dallas, TXJune 2, 2019
Made very good money some weeks 2k plus a week sometimes gross! You have to get the good loads though I think they try to keep you in a certain pay range but they defiantly have great paying loads. You need to have some experience in knowing what you should make for a load. If not you may pick something not good for you, hence the saying all money is not good money! Yes you do have to pick you load and i was not penalized if i didn't like a load. You typically get a call with two options if you dont like they will ask were you want to go or what you are looking for and try to get you what or were you want.

Cons: I didn't like that the trucks do not have inverters and they don't want you to get one installed either so you have to get a cooler or eat out of truck stops! No fridge or microwaves even in the 2019 trucks governed at 65 you can idle the truck with the idle up option but the truck regen's really loud! Freightliner old body style all of there trucks the same.
Pros
Percentage of load pay
Cons
Need to up grade there trucks! No inverters only cigarette lighter power options
Was this review helpful?Yes 7NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very good company
Company Driver - Solo - OTR (Former Employee) –  Birmingham, ALMay 28, 2019
These folks always treat you right from orientation to placing you in a brand new semi.
Breakfast, lunch, and dinner on them. Spacious room during orientation. Even allows spouse's and pets to keep you company
Pros
Decicated to Excellence
Cons
Depends
Was this review helpful?YesNo 5Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nashville terminal
OTR Company Driver (Former Employee) –  Birmingham, ALMay 26, 2019
When roger for a good driver to quit, he will start sending lies to saftey to make a driver want to quit for them not to put that lie on your dac to harm you
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 5Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great
Professional Truck driver (Current Employee) –  Birmingham, ALApril 9, 2019
Great company. They care about the safety and well being of each if their employees. Great benefits. Home time is better than most. Family oriented. One of the best trucking companies to work for.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 3Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Funeral
Flatbed Truck Driver (Former Employee) –  Birmingham, ALMarch 26, 2019
Complaining bout seven day off for brother funeral more than I could give a 24/8 job. Don’t think was inter ended to be rude but then that’s jus a guess. Overall the company good they even have a prayer dude to call. Or they did not sure current status on that one. Fright not pay enough for percentage pay. Was at bout .30-35 com average.
Pros
Plenty freight
Cons
Won’t use one.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 4Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
stressfull day
OTR Truck Driver (Current Employee) –  Nashville, TNJanuary 31, 2019
p&s will wait till the driver is empty before finding them a reload. P&s will not do a preplan in advance. The loads pay on percentage which can be good and bad at times
Was this review helpful?Yes 17NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very relaxed
Driver/Operator (Former Employee) –  Birmingham, ALDecember 14, 2018
pretty relaxed place but the whole no forced dispatch is a lie. they will stave u out if u exercise this perk. managers are good. no paid holidays and 12$/hr and low tarp pay.
Pros
relaxed
Cons
low pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 12NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and safe work environment
Driver (Former Employee) –  Birmingham, ALNovember 18, 2018
Great running lanes, time management important, management open-minded to unforseen situations. Equipment sound able to trade up or lease to own tractor.
Pros
Great equipment
Cons
Opinionated
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cheap freight
Driver (Former Employee) –  Wichita FallsSeptember 20, 2018
Cheap freight stressed to know if I'm going to make a good living. You can work local and make the same amount of money and be home every night. Dispatch and management suck they don't care about driver concerns. The trucks are slow as a turtle can't get anything done with a slow truck.
Pros
Health Insurance
Cons
Slow trucks & cheap freight rates
Was this review helpful?Yes 13NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
steady work
Truck Driver (Former Employee) –  Birmingham, ALAugust 29, 2018
P & S Transportation. This was a good company to work for . unfortunatley i could'nt make enough money doing this job. As a flatbed truck driver. to many bills
Was this review helpful?Yes 10NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pulled Flatbed
Truck Driver (Former Employee) –  Birmingham, ALAugust 18, 2018
It was a great place to work at, the management was great, and they always seemed to be there when you needed them. I would recommend P&S Transport to anyone looking for a trucking career
Pros
New Trucks, and always felt secure
Cons
No tarp pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 7Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at P&S Transportation. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.4
Based on 51 reviews
513
414
312
26
16

Ratings by category

3.1Work/Life Balance
3.5Compensation/Benefits
3.4Job Security/Advancement
3.3Management
3.5Culture