PACIFIC STATES MARINE FISHERIES COMMISSION Employee Reviews

Showing all 16 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible all around
Biologist (Former Employee) –  CaliforniaMarch 25, 2019
Work days were often upwards of 16 hours in loud, cramped, hot and wet environments. Had to use own vehicle to travel to work sites, sometimes upwards to 2 hours away. Terrible communication to employees. Schedules were constantly changing and covered insane start/finish times, and often released the weekend of; there was no way of planning ahead of time. If you got hurt on the job, you were out of work with no compensation. Staff used intimidation and bullying tactics to keep people in line and were only concerned with own advancement. Complaints went unaddressed. No breaks at all, not even for lunch, shifts were packed solid. Sites were dangerous and were often where there was no viable communication method, emergencies were addressed only during normal business hours and our shifts went well beyond those before and after.
Not sure if the rest of the company is like this or if it was just this region, but as-is it's an awful company and I would never recommend working for them.
Pros
Could listen to music while working
Cons
Abysmal morale, utter lack of communication, unreliable management, no breaks, use of own vehicle to and on site
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Benefits are why I stay
employee (Current Employee) –  Portland, OROctober 23, 2018
The benefits for a full-year employee really are outstanding. However, there is no upward mobility or interest in providing job training to advance your career, telework is only available to those in the "inner circle", and there is little flexibility from management on setting schedules to maximize a work/ life balance. If you are a salaried employee, you can pretty much get away with anything. If you are an hourly worker, the attitude is "there's the door".
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Office not great.
Fisheries Technician (Former Employee) –  Santa Rosa, CASeptember 5, 2018
Worked with California Department of Fish and Wildlife. Poor morale in office, probably due to management that isn't as good with people as it is with data. Good projects.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No professional development, low pay but good work experience.
Data Management Specialist 2-GIS (Current Employee) –  Fortuna, CAFebruary 13, 2018
I don not recommend PSMFC for long term employment but it is does give opportunities to gain entry level experience. Jobs are grant funded with no expectation for long term employment and do not provide professional development.

PSMFC wages are not competitive with private or government jobs. Raises are minimal and I have yet to see a bonus even though I have excellent evaluation reviews.

PSMFC does have good medical benefits, vacation time and sick leave.

Management tends to be antagonistic towards working moms and woman, judging by comments made during my reviews.
Pros
Benifits
Cons
Managment attitude towards working moms.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lots of great entry level research positions
Salmonid Fisheries Technician (Former Employee) –  Fort Bragg, CANovember 11, 2017
I worked with PSMFC for 2.5 years. Most of their research technician positions are seasonal and consist of 5-11 month contracts. As a technician, the responsibilities are field work intensive (which I loved). Most projects enabled their employees to return home every evening but some overnight travel/camping was required. In my experience, PSMFC hired really well qualified, passionate, fun employees. You spend a lot of time with your field partners and I enjoyed every minute of their company!
Pros
Awesome co-workers; great starter job
Cons
Limited career advancement potential
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Perform Stream surveys on the hanford reach
Fisheries Technician (Former Employee) –  WASeptember 8, 2017
Fun, short job that includes the use of jet boats to collect deceased fall Chinook salmon in the Hanford Reach. Got to see very beautiful landscape that not many people get to see, abundant wildlife and swift/clear water
Pros
Love the landscape
Cons
Cold in December
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place that does important work
Survey Specialist (Former Employee) –  Portland, ORJune 27, 2017
Beurocratic but fun at times and the location is great. The culture is supportive if you are a self-starter. Office politics can be confusing and long standing people are resistant to change.
Pros
location is great!
Cons
poor office communication
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place
Data Management Specialist (Former Employee) –  CaliforniaJune 13, 2017
I loved working here. The only problem is many jobs are contract based so advancement and job security are dodgy. Management and other staff are a team and work well together. I really genuinely miss this place!
Pros
Great env, pay, benefits
Cons
Little job security
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to Work and to Grow
Data Manager/Natural Scientist II (Current Employee) –  Belmont, CAApril 30, 2017
The job expectations are reasonable and challenge one to grow. There are many great opportunities that come after working with PSMFC. More challenging work will be presented if one shows skill and eagerness to learn.
Pros
Good reputation; reasonable workload; good coworkers
Cons
low pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
working with good people
Fishery Biologist - Tagging Trailer Operator (Current Employee) –  Lewiston, IDDecember 29, 2016
Co workers are fantastic. Upper management needs some work but are ok. lots of work out of town. Working with fish on a daily bases. Hardest part of this job is the travel for most people.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent benefits
Supervisory Fish Biologist (Former Employee) –  Portland, ORDecember 22, 2015
The benefit package was great, with excellent office people to get you through any question you had. Most enjoyable and important part of the job was saving fish.
Cons
Given the responsibility but not the authority to do certain aspects of the job.
Was this review helpful?Yes 10NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lots of outdoor time!
Scientific Technician (Former Employee) –  Kennewick, WAApril 3, 2013
I walked along the riverbank interviewing fishermen, gathering samples from any fish they had caught for a study.

Had a great boss... never really saw my co-workers as we were assigned to different locations every day.

Hardest part of the job was getting people to realize I wasn't enforcement and didn't care about their license or how many fish they had, just needed data on the ones they had.

Best part of the job was watching someone catch a 36in stealhead!
Pros
lots of free time between things, i read an entire book series and learned to knit.
Cons
it was cold at times, occasional uncooperative public
Was this review helpful?Yes 31NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace outdoors
Lobster Surveyor - Seasonal (Former Employee) –  Ventura, CAJuly 17, 2012
• Collect information for the lobster database by measuring and weighing lobster •Interview lobster fishers at the boat ramps. • Answer fishermen’s questions about the lobster study and regulations
Pros
outdoors
Cons
only temp
Was this review helpful?Yes 14No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Job
Ground Fish Sampler (Current Employee) –  Monterey, CAJune 12, 2012
I really enjoy this job - it's a good balance between office and field work.
Was this review helpful?Yes 14No 4Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great to work for, easy communication and lots of freedom.
Fisheries Technician (Former Employee) –  Eureka CADecember 2, 2011
Collaboration of several agencies with a common goal, conservation of marine species. Really enjoyed the work and received a great education. Easy communication with higher-ups, very positive.
Was this review helpful?Yes 27No 1Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at PACIFIC STATES MARINE FISHERIES COMMISSION. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.1
Based on 16 reviews
57
45
33
20
11

Ratings by category

4.0Work/Life Balance
3.6Compensation/Benefits
2.8Job Security/Advancement
3.8Management
4.0Culture

PACIFIC STATES MARINE FISHERIES COMMISSION Reviews by Job Title

PACIFIC STATES MARINE FISHERIES COMMISSION Reviews by Location