Packaging Corporation of America Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Positive
LAB TECHNICIAN & PACKAGING CONSULTANT (Co-op) (Former Employee) –  Mundelein, ILMay 20, 2018
My experience was pretty positive. Especially having worked at a few places since then. I was always busy, but not overly busy. Management and coworkers were personable and professional. Pay wasn't the best though.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall I Loved being a machine operator
AUTO FIELDER GLUER ASSISTANT/ MACHINE OPERATOR (Former Employee) –  Pearl, MSMay 18, 2018
A typical night at work was our team effort to out number the first and second shift as far as production and few or no mistakes. I have learned that even if you disagree you have to find a point of agreement. The work culture is strong and competitive. Management changed a lot within the past 5 years. The most enjoyable part of my job is receiving our NO Injury - production check at the end of the year.
Pros
Free lunches, bonus checks, great benefits, 401k, overtime, pay
Cons
short breaks- 10 minutes every two hour.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not really appropriate time to ask about your former employer
Pressroom and Corrugating Supervisor (Current Employee) –  New Oxford, PAMay 17, 2018
Not really appropriate time to ask about your former employer. For proper evaluation you should ask a person about the former employer after they secure a new position.
Pros
Strong overall company
Cons
Management stuck in the past
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent snd fun
Roll Tender (Current Employee) –  Omaha, NEMay 15, 2018
It could be a better place to work but like most fortune 500 companys the proscess and what they should be happening is never hand in hand .so there is a drop off from management to corporate mansgement
Pros
Get a bonus
Cons
Your just a number
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
produtive
Helper/Stacker (Former Employee) –  Morganton, NCMay 11, 2018
fasted paced,learned how to stack boxes,pretty good management,friendly,having to do someone else job,people i worked with.They were very big on safety which made me feel save to work there
Pros
pay
Cons
health care
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very fast paced and competitive pay
Machine Operator (Former Employee) –  Trinity, NCMay 4, 2018
Absolutely loved working for this company, 50 hours a week, pay was excellent, benefits were great! People were friendly, started off as a temp, quickly excelled and got hired on full time. I would work there again.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun place to work
BELLY BANDER OPERATOR (Former Employee) –  Plymouth, MIApril 24, 2018
The environment is a great place.

The employees are always happy and productive. Management is helpful and always have time for their employees.

I would recommend this place to work
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
production
Asst. Operator (Former Employee) –  Waco, TXApril 19, 2018
its a production job so your work schedule depends on the products that need to be shipped sometimes, its hot. the environment is okay , the hardest part of the job would be setting up the machine in a fast manner and making sure it does not malfunction
Pros
pay rate
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
i didn't intend to leave but.
Forklift Operator (Former Employee) –  Phoenix, AZApril 14, 2018
I pretty much lived in there & never had the time to see my family. I wasn't able to make plans on the weekends with family or even have time for myself. it was always sleep then work or call when needed.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Organized understanding hardworking company
Internship (Former Employee) –  Denver, COApril 10, 2018
It was a great internship experience with PCA. I got to spend time in all sorts of departments including production, marketing, sales, management, and warehouse experience. It was great to learn the business from the ground up.
Pros
Internship good training and understanding
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very hot in summer and fast paced
Machine Operator Helper (Current Employee) –  Gallatin, TNApril 9, 2018
I came in and was told by machine operator what we were going to do.
Forklift driver would put bundles of plain cardboard on rails, you cut the bands and protective paper then put that into trash, you then push it towards machine.
You look at order sheet then move guards on machine to correct measurements.
You start loading the machine and don't stop until it is done, you load a stack at a time many,many times and sometimes is very hard to keep up especially if you are on the bigger boxes.In the warmer months YOU will sweat like crazy.
Work area is not climate controlled unless you work in the office.

It is very hot in here and very dry. No jewelry is allowed not even wedding bands or watches.

Only 2 clocks in the building for some reason, I was told they hate people looking at the time.

They only give you a couple hours to tell you that you are working over and they work a decent amount of Saturdays.

If you smoke you must go outside in back of building off company property,this is normal but with only 10 minutes for breaks and 1- 15 minute lunch you wouldn't have time to eat lunch and smoke since you have to walk so far

If you are a big guy they put you on the harder stuff even though you will make the same pay as someone of a smaller body structure and they get the easier work..
Pros
Paycheck
Cons
1- 15 minute Lunch and 2 -10 minute breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast pace box company
MACHINE OPERATOR (Former Employee) –  Omaha, NEApril 4, 2018
Decent place to work. Pay was fair. There was quite a bit of overtime for certain positions. Monday through Friday with occasional mandatory overtime on Saturdays.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was cool
FLOATER (Former Employee) –  Kingsburg, CAApril 2, 2018
It was a good job but not meant for me.
Good for anyone trying to get back on there feet or trying to raise a child, doesn’t really work with school so I had to quit
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very tight staffing
IT Network Security Administrator (Current Employee) –  Lake Forest, ILMarch 26, 2018
Be prepared to complete work of 3 people in your position. Overall good place to work with sufficient benefits, but no opportunity for career growth or promotion.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
PCA - a satisfactory, honest living
Corrugated Packaging Design Intern (Current Employee) –  Plymouth, MIMarch 18, 2018
PCA specialized is paper packaging solutions, so you will get familiar with the properties of paper & respective machines very quickly after beginning work there. The people are nice and make working there an enjoyable time. Management all have expertise in the industry and are very involved in operations. They provide many hourly paying jobs in the plant as well as salary jobs for the sales reps / teams working with the customers directly.
Pros
Great culture, gain knowledge of containerboard, good benefits & compensation
Cons
limited to paper industry
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good pay but no life
Mobile Equipment Operator (Current Employee) –  International Falls, MNMarch 13, 2018
If you have kids your never going to get to see them. HR is out to fire you. Management doesn't care what happens as long as they look good in the end.
Pros
Good pay
Cons
No life outside of work. Poor work environment
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
You’ll stay in the bottom of the barrel
Floater (Former Employee) –  New Oxford, PAMarch 5, 2018
The coworkers are wonderful. The management and the way they run things are comparable to a rollercoaster ride that never seems to stop. You’ll work 6 days a week every week. You’ll work 12 hour shifts everyday unless you never agree to one to start. You’ll be judged very harshly. You’ll be belittled until you’re a zombie walking around. Breaks are 2 10 minute ones and a 20 minute lunch. Every Monday meeting you feel less and less valued as an employee.
Pros
Coworkers, decent pay
Cons
Short breaks, no advancement, judgement, rushed, stressful
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work your life away here for the man
A Maintenance Mechanic (Current Employee) –  Minneapolis, MNFebruary 25, 2018
60 hrs a week 6 days a week. One day a week off is not the life to live. The management only cares about making their numbers look good. They don't care if you ever see your family
Pros
None
Cons
Necer see your family
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best Job I've Had
Reliability and Maintenance Engineer Co-op (Former Employee) –  Tomahawk, WIFebruary 23, 2018
Working at a paper mill was the best job to date. A lot of quick pace work and day to day tasks/jobs varied. Never the same thing. Safe and fun place to work.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive Fast Paced and Competitive Work Place
Contractor (Current Employee) –  Mundelein, ILFebruary 19, 2018
There is plenty of room to grow and learn in your position. there is always a new challenge approaching that you and the PCA team can work together to overcome.
Pros
Good People and Great Enviornment
Cons
Location
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Packaging Corporation of America. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 253 reviews
579
488
351
221
114

Ratings by category

3.5Work/Life Balance
3.9Compensation/Benefits
3.3Job Security/Advancement
3.2Management
3.5Culture