Packaging Corporation of America Employee Reviews

Showing all 289 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Family atmosphere
Project Manager (Former Employee) –  Ashland, OHDecember 2, 2018
PCA offers a great opportunity to work in a friendly office setting. A typical week doesn't require overtime but it does require extra time during high seasonal hours. Management does a good job at making the employees feel important.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced, ever changing.
Supervisor (Current Employee) –  western USNovember 29, 2018
PCA is a very driven company with heavily involved corporate management. Corporate mananement is very committed to their operations and demands the same commitment from their employees.
Change and redirection is an everyday occurence which results in a high degree of stress. Definitely a fast paced world.
Pros
Always something new.
Cons
No balance for personal life.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This job is for someone with no social life or family
Module Face Operator (Former Employee) –  Omaha, NENovember 22, 2018
I understand production is king but pm the equipment with proper maintenance so the employees and their family don't suffer. Worked pretty much seven days a week for 3 months. Everyone worked nearly every Saturday. In-fighting with management. No true leadership at any level.
Pros
pay
Cons
mandatory overtime-management-equipment always breaking down
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Used to be a great place
FORKLIFT OPERATOR (Current Employee) –  Fairfield, OHNovember 9, 2018
When I first started with pca I intended to stay for a long time and possibly retire with them. After new management and horrible Human Resources that is over.
Pros
Good pay and benefits
Cons
Hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Culture is toxic! Political Correctness on steroids
Maintenance Technician (Current Employee) –  Farmville, NCNovember 2, 2018
Bad behavior is tolerated by management. If you’re protected class employee you can do whatever you want. Political correctness is out of control! HR will leave you in a bad situation rather than address bad behavior over political correctness. Stay clear!
Pros
Good benefits
Cons
Political correctness, no work life balance
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The pay is ok. ... it pays the bills
Clamp Truck Operator (Current Employee) –  Plano, TexasOctober 26, 2018
Management has gotten very poor . They only advance they people how are lazy and don't have a clue on how to be in management this odds a dictatorship "do as i say not as I do" they preach safety but really don't practice it. There is no representation for the employee due to the lack of a union. They keep it that way by striking fear by saying"they will shut the plant down" it is the blind leading the blind you move up by who you know not by actual work ethics
Pros
It pays the bills and if you live being worked like a slave you can work all the over time you want
Cons
Poor benefits no home life no consistency made up rules for their benefit
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Managment is horrible. Time off whats that.
Operator (Current Employee) –  Walla Walla, WAOctober 24, 2018
Not enough workers,way to many salary. Mico manage. Hostel work environment. Can't afford to fix things. ITS THE WORST COMPANY TO WORK FOR.
You do the work of 3 with no help.
Do not apply.....
Pros
Pay
Cons
Lack of leadership, hours, no family life. Micro manage. Over worked under appreciated..
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work place
Machine Operator (Former Employee) –  Vernon, CAOctober 22, 2018
Most employees have a bond good times on lunch breaks poor management though . The peak season is always great for over time 50-60 hours weekly . Benefits were great
Pros
A lot of over time
Cons
Lack in union representatives
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Place
Forklift Operator (Former Employee) –  Garland, TXOctober 22, 2018
I worked for this company for over 15 years. It allowed my family to have stability and security. They always looked out for me as an employee. If I did not move out of state, I would've continued working for this company.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Internship Experience
Packaging Design Intern (Former Employee) –  Plymouth, MIOctober 3, 2018
Everyone worked hard and expected the same of others. Positive company culture. It's not the most relaxed environment, but definitely not harsh by any means. They never neglected an opportunity for learning.
Pros
Good exercise at work, occasional free lunch, willingness to teach others, hard workers
Cons
staffing companies, production runs in design center
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Machine Operator I (Current Employee) –  Phoenix, AZAugust 29, 2018
This is a good place to work, good pay and a lot of over time. Good grup of people to work with a different. It is a good place for multitasking people.
Pros
3 breaks a day
Cons
Schedule changes drasticaly
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and was able to learn
FORKLIFT OPERATOR (Current Employee) –  Jackson, MSAugust 27, 2018
Productive place to work give you opportunity to learn. Also small warehouse and hardest job was keeping up with the floor and unloading truck at same time. Most enjoyable part of job was being a Forklift operator and some of the employees
Pros
Free lunches
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I am currently still employed here.
Production Machine Operator (Former Employee) –  New Oxford, PAAugust 23, 2018
I am looking for a job to better suit the needs of my family, I work 2nd shift 6 days a week and hardly have any time with them because theres work to be done at home too.
Was this review helpful?Yes 9NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
do what you are told
Manufacturing Lead Forklift Operator (Current Employee) –  McClellan, CA 95652August 22, 2018
do not question management even when they are wrong. nothing will change anyways. they are themselves lost and have no idea what they want. they are not listening to their employee. some supervisor are very cool. especially the swing and night.
Was this review helpful?Yes 11No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great hourly workforce. Great benefits.
Manager/Supervisor (Former Employee) –  El Paso, TXAugust 20, 2018
The people at the plant level are a pleasure to work with. They are hard working, dedicated and establish a true family atmosphere. If the Captain was able to sail his own ship without outside interference, things would go much smoother.
Pros
Benefits
Cons
Micromanagement
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun but stressful
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Gallatin, TNAugust 19, 2018
Working for PCA was fun and very relaxed but very stressful, like there was never a break. The staff was very nice but some were unpleasant to be around.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Boring
Warehouse worker (Former Employee) –  Liverpool, NYAugust 16, 2018
Rainbow rainbow rainbow long boring boring boring LOL me some more gourmet dog and I don’t even know where else to say because the sober and is so whack
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 8Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good paying job in fl
Machine operator (Current Employee) –  Winter Haven, FLAugust 13, 2018
i have learn alot in the time that i have been there i learn how to manega with people i learn how to comunicate with other and the importance of taking your job very seruious since it is a dangerous job
Pros
alot of hours
Cons
alot of hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 4Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
hot and stressful
Machine Operator (Current Employee) –  Omaha, NEAugust 5, 2018
very stressful. and hot place to work. Pay is pretty decent. Could use better benefits like vision insurance. Hard to advance. Wish they were more family orientated.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Relaxd atmosphere, opportunities for advancement
Package Handler (Former Employee) –  Griffith, INAugust 3, 2018
Overall I enjoyed working for this company. Unfortunately I was laid off. The people were pleasant to work with. This plant has recently closed due to business.
Pros
Good location. Paid lunch if worked overtime.
Cons
Cold in the winter.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Packaging Corporation of America. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.7
Based on 290 reviews
584
497
363
229
117

See reviews about

3.3Work/Life Balance
3.8Compensation/Benefits
3.3Job Security/Advancement
3.1Management
3.4Culture