PACKAGING SPECIALTIES Employee Reviews

Showing all 23 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Could be better
Machine Operator (Former Employee) –  Newburyport, MAFebruary 7, 2019
Managers and supervisors on production line not helpful. Only the floor manager is professional. Warehouse not organized hard to find anything. Mechanics not even helpful and likes putting you down when no one is around.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stressful work environment
Plant Manager (Former Employee) –  Newburyport, MADecember 4, 2018
Not recommended if advancement is a goal.Ownership was very reluctant to listen to ideas or to institute policies that were geared toward making the workplace a safer and more productive work environment.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Warehouse
Laborer (Former Employee) –  Broken Arrow, OKSeptember 13, 2018
The typical work day would be, Id pick orders from the line and package them up to the correct shipping location and send the off to companies such as FedEx and UPS, Ive learned Both Forklift Machines as well as assemble packaged boxes, labeled and recorded what was packed, i also inspect packaging for tears, cracks and dents, and make sure the materials inside are packed in a way to minimize breakage during transit.
There wasnt really any " Hard Parts " during this job it became easy over time. It was a great job i would still be working there today if i didnt have to relocate..
Pros
Salary and Great working environment
Cons
N/a
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was an eye opening experience to say the least
Hand Assembler (Former Employee) –  Romulus, MISeptember 12, 2018
Seniority ruled, the other female employees acted catty, supervisor wasn’t helpful at all. Snooty attitudes and not much room for advancement. Lack of order and a lot of times I’d just be standing around, not knowing what to do, because supervisor wasn’t very approaching.
Pros
Decent pay, decent benefits offered
Cons
Bad management, lack of communication, no room to really advance, very rude female coworkers
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fast-paced work environment.
Parts Hanger (Current Employee) –  Medina, OHAugust 7, 2018
Certify employees with operating a tow motor. Employees are quickly cross-trained in order to be able to fill any position. Managers are eager to jump in to help. Many employees are handy and willing to help out to get the job done.
Pros
Healthcare
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive day
Paint shop supervisor (Former Employee) –  Medina, OHJuly 10, 2018
Productive , mixed matched day. with alot of jumping around on the jobs.The work force for the most part is easy going people and that makes the days go faster. The management is not experencied in some of the fields of work but like to think they know whats going on.
Pros
Dont have to see the bosses very much.
Cons
Healthcare, wages
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
long hours
Press Operator (Former Employee) –  Burley, IDMarch 2, 2018
very long hours and very low pay for what is required for the company, i have heard that they have a new manager so i think the place has improved and has gone forward
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Uncomfortable
Class A Truck Driver (Current Employee) –  Romulus, MI 48174December 14, 2017
I am uncomfortable writing a review of this company. The family that owns this company was good to me. They are moving to a more corporate based company and I believe that there are more changes coming.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast Paced
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Newburyport, MANovember 21, 2017
Not a bad company to work for. Inventory system was almost always inaccurate which made it a challenge when entering orders. Orders needing to ship same day would come into the office at end of day with a "no stock" even when the system states we have the stock. Many customer complaints about this issue which is ongoing and seems to not be a priority to fix. Warehouse is not organized which is a big part of the problem with finding stock resulting in orders not being filled and shipped on time.
Pros
Pay and benifits are competitive
Cons
Warehouse and shipping issues continue with no resolve
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Okay place to work
Pressman (Former Employee) –  Fayetteville, ARJune 25, 2017
Good hours and great employees. Have 4 days off every week is the best part. Every other month you have 7 days off which is even better. Good place to work but management needs to be more involved in the night shifts.
Pros
None
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Family Oriented
Flexographic Press Operator (Current Employee) –  Portland, ORMay 5, 2017
Typical small office 8-5 great place to work for. The coworkers make this company a great place to work. Recently bought by a larger company and as it goes lots of changes being made.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to work at
Machine Operator (Former Employee) –  Ecorse, MIApril 5, 2017
I loved working for that company but there where things that wasn't right so I left and I found a better job for me and my family I worked on a machine I was a hi-lo driver I loaded trucks for the company a did everything that was good for the company
Pros
free lunch
Cons
short brecks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place
Slitter / Bandsaw operator (Current Employee) –  Romulus, MIDecember 11, 2016
The hardest part of the day before its time to get production out they put a slow helper with me. To make me work faster harder.
Cons
2 breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly atmosphere
Temp position only (Former Employee) –  Burley, IDApril 19, 2016
Typical day was tp answer phones and greet customers.
A cuople of new things , the ordering of supplies and taking care of invoices.
Management and co-workers were easily to get along with very friendly atomosphere.
Remembering everything I had to do in a short time.
That evryone was happy and friendly.
Pros
Hour lunches
Cons
Only a temp position
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great way to add silk screen to my resume
Screen Printer (Former Employee) –  MassachusettsFebruary 17, 2016
Needed experience in silk screen. learned enough to level up my skills to continue working as a screen printer anywhere id like to live.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nothing
Assembly (Former Employee) –  Warren, MIFebruary 11, 2016
Sometimes the work will be slow and then catch up. They don't like when workers take bathroom breaks and the lunch breaks be so short.
Pros
nothing
Cons
problems
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fast paced, clean inviroment
Primary Lift Truck Operator (Former Employee) –  Ecorse, MIJune 17, 2015
excellent hours 6-230. good location. good people from the management on down. Nice insurance package with 401K and life insurance options. a little stressful but overall a good place to work
Pros
insurance package
Cons
lack of warehouse space for the volume housed
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
printing labels
Pressman (Current Employee) –  Fayetteville, ARApril 25, 2015
2 people work on a printing press
make you the ink color yourself
clean the presses
lift roles of film on and off the press
co-workers are helpful and fun to work with
most enjoyable is learning something new when I can
hardest part having time limits
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced busy environment
Warehouse Lead/Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Newburyport, MAOctober 6, 2014
Fast paced environment - great learning opportunity. Great people to work with
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
lots of overtime
Machine operator/forklift driver/truck driver (Former Employee) –  Ecorse, MIAugust 8, 2014
Worked a press and forklift operator. We worked as a team building boxes for the auto industry for their shipping needs.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at PACKAGING SPECIALTIES. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.1
Based on 23 reviews
54
44
37
26
12

Ratings by category

3.3Work/Life Balance
3.0Compensation/Benefits
2.7Job Security/Advancement
2.7Management
2.9Culture