Pandora Media, Inc. Employee Reviews

Showing all 36 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
xxxx
Operations Manager (Former Employee) –  Oakland, CAAugust 22, 2018
Working at Pandora was a wonderful learning experience that helped me grow in my career today. They have wonderful benefits and an amazing culture. I would highly recommend working at Pandora.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome culture, Zero career advancement
Account Manager/Sales (Current Employee) –  Santa Monica, CAJanuary 31, 2018
I've worked at Pandora for just about 4 years and have never received a promotion or title change. On 2 separate occasions I have gone up for promotions within my department, which I did not secure. The manager feedback was vague and gave me no clear plan for how to achieve this goal. I also went out for 3 roles outside of my department that I did not secure, and lost contact with those teams immediately after. The impression that I get is that Pandora only valued me in the original role I was hired in, and nothing else. That was frustrating because this role has no higher level, nor path to a future or higher role.
Pros
Benefits, Snacks, Great Culture, In-Office Performances
Cons
Very little attention on career advancement
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Flexible & Fun but Getting Worse
Senior Financial Analyst (Current Employee) –  Oakland, CAMay 6, 2018
Pandora used to be an amazing place to work. Recent changes to management have led to shifts in company culture and an overall decrease in morale. Structural changes often lead to the promotion of unqualified individuals in an effort to maintain business continuity but it's at the cost of team relationships and the feeling of trust and transparency.

That being said, peers, coworkers, and cross-functional partners are generally awesome and the flexibility is refreshing.
Pros
Coworkers, Flexibility
Cons
Management
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Culture
Senior Account Strategist (Current Employee) –  New York, NYMarch 8, 2018
Pandora is a great place to work for. It's a fast paced company that's being innovative within the digital media space. They're figuring out great ways to monetize their audience and products in order to become leaders within the digital audio and video advertising space.
Cons
401k benefits, tuition reimbursement
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company, Lackluster experience
Lead Music Curation Librarian (Former Employee) –  Oakland, CAAugust 2, 2018
As a contractor, I wasn't expected to stay on long.
Soon, I got an extension and the responsibilities of a supervisor.
I was hiring, training, doing extra work for my supervisors, but I was still a contractor being given two-week extensions at a time.
The team had expressed a strong interest in keeping me on as staff,
but I got a notice that it was to be my last two weeks.
I felt as if I was so close to staying at Pandora, and then suddenly it didn't.
I wish they rewarded hard working contractors with positions, but it is what it is.

The culture, the amenities, the people, and good music playing constantly all around made Pandora a great place to be. If I was asked to return, I would in a heartbeat.
Pros
good people, good culture, competitive pay, snacks and lunch, listen to music all the time, offices are large and full of character, very easy to commute to.
Cons
frequent large-batch firings left employees uneasy, communication within my department could have been better
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very hostile environment
Manager Assistant (Former Employee) –  New York, NYJuly 13, 2018
I work for one of the franchise location in the city and it was very stressful place to work.The management team lack of communication, and professionalism with each other.
Pros
Discounts
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved working at Pandora
Financial Analyst (Contract) (Former Employee) –  Oakland, CAApril 16, 2018
I think Pandora is a really interesting company in a very dysfunctional industry. I believe the company's vision for what they could do within the music industry is very compelling, and I wish them nothing but the best. However, market forces don't seem to be in their favor, and I wonder about how much longer they can hang on.

My particular experience there was as a temporary worker, and while I was in contention for a full time position, management offered the position to an internal hire from a different team, and I was let go. I would have loved to have stayed, but I have no hard feelings.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pin pon table & Music
Accounts Receivable Specialist (Former Employee) –  Oakland, CAJuly 25, 2018
Busy all the time.
New System
Manager point what you need to do by day.
Company had Discrimination where you come from.
English is your second language, some workers did not talk to you because you're Latina.
Pros
Free snacks & drinks
Cons
short breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pandora Media
Campaign Specialist - Client Services Department (Former Employee) –  New York, NYAugust 13, 2017
Pandora has an excellent working environment. They treat their employees with respect and provide great benefits. However, there is little opportunity to move within the company making some roles not motivating and dull.
Pros
benefits, culture
Cons
lack of growth
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 3Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Payroll Department
Senior Payroll Specialist/Analyst positions (Current Employee) –  Oakland, CAJune 15, 2017
I loved working at Pandora.....I love the culture, the people, and what is available as benefits!!

Work hard because the job came with little knowledge of what was done before I came. So, coming in was hard and liittle room for errors!!
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report

Want to know more about Pandora Media, Inc.?

Ask a question
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Renegade sheriffs in management positions
Fry Cook (Former Employee) –  Oakland, CAApril 13, 2013
There are great people at Pandora, but the overall business lacks the necessary members and managers lack management training and/or skills. Most people I know/knew were not satisfied, but stayed on with the start-up loyalty the company has survived on.

The overall experience was not great. Benefits were not great. The name looks good on a Resume in Nor Cal/Bay Area.

(This is for Pandora Internet Radio)
Pros
you like music?
Cons
very little actual music perks. unorganized.
Was this review helpful?Yes 40No 6Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Contracted position
Technical Project Manager, Information Services (Former Employee) –  Oakland, CAMay 17, 2018
I was employed as a contractor - plain and simple, I was there to get the job done. I did build relationships, however, my focus was to the job and tasks at hand.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Thriving culture with innovative thinkers
Artist Support Representative (Current Employee) –  Oakland, CAJanuary 11, 2017
Thriving culture with innovative thinkers. Room to grow and learn. Nice office space. Management shows trust to employees.
Pros
Snacks and Social Events
Cons
No 401K matching
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great people, cool job
Associate Music Librarian (Former Employee) –  Oakland, CAApril 11, 2018
I worked on a temporary basis for a specific project. The deadlines were intense but the collaborative work environment was awesome and our managers were great. I would love to work there again in either a contract or FTE scenario.
Pros
co-workers
Cons
no free lunch
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's fine.
Manager (Former Employee) –  Oakland, CAMarch 2, 2018
When I first started, there was a lot of excitement, but since 2015, innovation has stalled and sales people are left selling the same products they have been for the past few years. Sales has increased goals with less appealing products to sell when you look at the rest of the market. Additionally, sales doesn't hit their goals, but it's the rest of the company that is left to deal with the impact.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a very competitive office
Senior Account Executive (Former Employee) –  Santa Monica, CAFebruary 6, 2018
All in all it was a great product and I learned a lot. My manager was very supportive and taught me a lot. Management squeezed everything out of you. Overall a great experience
Pros
Great product
Cons
It was a stressful office
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice friendly atmosphere, but very competitive
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Alpharetta, GAMarch 19, 2018
Every day after clocking in I had to be briefed on the store numbers and told about my goals for the day and my numbers to meet. With the amount of stress put on my numbers should have been paid commission.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 4Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun atmosphere
Salesperson (Former Employee) –  Atlanta, GAFebruary 28, 2018
Fun atmosphere, fast paced environment. Required outside sales, making appointments, cold calling and managing existing accounts. Worked internally with teams
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A true dream job
Musician Analyst (Former Employee) –  Oakland, CANovember 30, 2017
I got to do the thing I loved best, in the field of my greatest competence. I paid to listen to music and analyze it from a musicological stand-point. Complete schedule freedom, surrounded by like-minded, fun, and artistic people.
Pros
Best job ever
Cons
Laid off due to 2008 recession
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company
Executive Assistant to VP of Sales Operations (Former Employee) –  Oakland, CAJanuary 26, 2015
Pandora has it all for their employees. You can work, listen to music and have great relationships with your co-workers.....Who wouldn't want to work there!

I worked a 4 month maternity leave assignment. Pandora has a great work/life balance culture. Options to work from home and a fun environment.
Was this review helpful?Yes 23No 5Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Pandora Media, Inc.. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.9
Based on 36 reviews
511
415
37
22
11

Ratings by category

4.0Work/Life Balance
3.7Compensation/Benefits
3.0Job Security/Advancement
3.3Management
4.0Culture