Parr Lumber Company Pay & Benefits reviews

Found 10 reviews matching the search See all 38 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great coworkers, bad management
Inside associate (Current Employee) –  OregonNovember 28, 2018
My coworkers are like family to me. I enjoy being around most of them. We have great benefits as well. Only issue is that management is driven on money and not the well being of their staff. During the summers you are overworked and underpaid. You are lucky to make more than $20 an hour regardless of your job and how many years you have worked there. There is no room for advancement if the managers dont feel like letting you go from your position.
Pros
Nice coworkers, good benefits
Cons
No accountability, low pay, money-driven management
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Steady customers, great co-workers
Sales Coordinator (Current Employee) –  Spokane, WAApril 18, 2018
Great place to work, looking for advancement that isn't currently available.
Great customer base, steady orders flow daily. Great benefits.

Hardest part of the job is the slow season with road restrictions.
Learn new things daily, depending on status of builds
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good corporation, poor local management
Contractor Sales (Current Employee) –  Klamath Falls, ORJanuary 17, 2018
I believe that Parr is a good company on the corporate level, but local management in Klamath Falls and Bend is horrible. I worked 11-12 hour days, sometimes 6 days a week, trained two new employees and after a year was let go. I was given no reason, and lied to about the store closing by the manager. The people I met from corporate seemed very genuine and easy to work with. The manager from the Klamath Falls store lied to me about the following: my raise was "pending" (for 6 months), I was going to become the store manager, the store was closing down at the end of 2017, and more others than I can remember.
Pros
I received a paycheck
Cons
Poor regional management
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a challenging job
Yard Worker/Forklift Operator (Former Employee) –  Pasco, WAOctober 17, 2017
good place to work if you have good math skills and like to put together puzzles. you do need to work in all weather conditions.
they do provide company clothing to help with some weather conditions
Pros
great benefits
Cons
if terminated they do not pay saved vacation pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 3Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great
Load Builder (Former Employee) –  Ridgefield, WAOctober 14, 2017
I really enjoyed working for Parr Lumber. They were a family first customer friendly company that I would have continued working for if they could have paid me a better wage. But I also understand they need to be competitive so that's why I had to leave.
Pros
Every Sunday off
Cons
Very long days
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I'm a valued employee & part of a family, not just a worker.
Sales Coordinator (Current Employee) –  Ridgefield, WAMarch 22, 2017
I work with people who I genuinely enjoy seeing daily.
I feel supported, encouraged to grow & challenged daily in my job.

I feel valued, it's clear that Parr wants their employees to enjoy working here. They are consistently evolving/improving how they support their employees. It's a great place to work.
Pros
opportunities for advancement, supportive environment, great benefits
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Family Atmosphere with Pride in delivering Excellent Service
Sales Manager (Current Employee) –  Hillsboro, ORMarch 13, 2017
If you want to actually build a career rather than just have a job, Parr is the place. Lots of opportunity to advance and they really care about their employees and families. Always something new and challenging work to keep you motivated. Love this company and the people I get to work with and the customers I get to work for.
Pros
Fun, challenging, great benefits and dedicated team.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company to work for
Sales (Current Employee) –  Prineville, OROctober 3, 2016
Parr has been a great company to work for. Everyday brings new challenges, whether it's working with customers helping to solve their needs or working with contractors to assist in keeping their jobs running smooth by having the right materials delivered on time to their job-sites. I work with amazing people, always going above and beyond to help each other when needed. Management is very in tune with the needs of employees. Parr has awesome benefits and vacation. I would recommend Parr as a great place to work to anyone looking.
Pros
Ability for growth with-in company, Performance based rewards, Family like atmosphere, Benefits & Vacation
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 3Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful company to work for. Really care about their employees.
Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Prineville, ORSeptember 24, 2016
Most days at work can be physically demanding, yet rewarding.
We have a great sense of teamwork here with everyone pitching in to get the job done. Great insurance and vacation benefits.
Pros
Good pay with great benefits. Great opportunity for advancement.
Cons
Can be physically demanding with long hours.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 2Report

See more Parr Lumber Company reviews

You may want to try:

Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Parr Lumber Company. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.2
Based on 38 reviews
523
48
30
25
12

Ratings by category

3.8Work/Life Balance
4.1Compensation/Benefits
3.9Job Security/Advancement
3.9Management
4.1Culture