Party City Corporation Employee Reviews

3.7
Overall rating
Based on 4,205 reviews
Ratings breakdown
51.2K
41.3K
31.1K
2362
1254
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Found 3,968 reviews matching the search See all 4,205 reviews
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice Place
CASHIER (Current Employee) –  Summerville, SCOctober 19, 2018
Nice place to work. More for part-time work unless you are in management. Co-workers are friendly. Managers are friendly. I would recommend this job to someone in high school looking to work part-time.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not fun
PT Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  LynnOctober 19, 2018
Party City it's all about the money for them they don't care about the little people and the management treat you like you are nothing they don't care about you and they talk down to you the front of the customers
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Slow paced work environment
Associate/Cashier (Former Employee) –  Yonkers, NYOctober 17, 2018
A typical day consisted of zoning the aisles, blowing up balloons and being on the register majority of the time.

Didn't learn much. Just how to work the cashier.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun fast paced environment
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Tucson, AZOctober 17, 2018
Hands on experience in taking and completing balloon orders
Collect money and give the appropriate change
Quick and efficient when dealing with multiple customers
Renowned for the ability to multi task
Phenomenal customer service skills
Answering, transferring and forwarding telephone calls to appropriate departments
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Place to work at.
Front End Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Chula Vista, CAOctober 16, 2018
To work at a Party City you must be comfortable working under pressure. In a typical weekend day, you will have 30-50 balloon orders that need to be ready at a certain time.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to work
Store Associate (Former Employee) –  Monrovia, CAOctober 16, 2018
loved the people i worked around. Everyone was very friendly and made my workspace easy. I worked halloween season and was an amazing experience . loved helping out in any way i could
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, fast pace working environment
Party city (Former Employee) –  Phoenix, AZOctober 16, 2018
Working there during Halloween/October is when the store is most busy. Your on your feet during your whole shift. Its a fun, fast paced work environment.
Pros
Discounts on instore products.
Cons
Short breaks, only given if working more than 6 hours.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
working at party city
Cashier/Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Shorewood, ILOctober 16, 2018
The only part of this job that i liked was how easy the register was. the pay was bad, my manager at the time was horrible. the interview was weird. would not really recommend working here. i absolutely hated taking and making balloon orders.
Pros
computer was easy
Cons
management, pay, ballon orders.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No focus on customers.
Merchandise Specialist (Former Employee) –  Reno, NVOctober 15, 2018
This company is known for being oriented mostly on stocking shelves and pushing merchandise. If you read any review of party city you will hear about boxes piled high in the isles and some parts of stores being completely inaccessible to customers. This is because the company only stocks during open business hours. So every employee is busy stocking shelves with their faces to a wall and never engaging customers. This is a universal review across all party cities if you look into it. So if you thrive in chaos and designed inefficiency then Party City is for you. If you want to use your customer service and sales skills I would recommend a diferent retail chain.
Pros
Free candy and Halloween was fun
Cons
Minimum wage and you only get a raise if promoted
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good retail-level environment, demanding corporate environment
Full-Time Merchandising Specialist (Current Employee) –  New York, NYOctober 15, 2018
A normal day at work may include accounting, costume management, freight management, cashier duty or balloon inflation, depending on the hours. Provided one does the minimum--meet the email percentage quota or complete the necessary tasks for the day--the atmosphere can be fairly laid-back, Halloween and holiday spikes notwithstanding. Holiday traffic and customer problems tend to encompass much of the stress and issues. Corporate tends to be very demanding, and can make decisions that become very consequential or detrimental for the operations end. Increasing features provided by retail evolution means that associates and managers are given more breadth of responsibilities; be advised of this trend depending on how pay raises operate in different areas, as they are so far relatively acceptable in New York, they may not be elsewhere or in the future.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great team environment, Great store management, Horrible Regional management
Associate/Manager (Former Employee) –  Bellevue, WAOctober 15, 2018
The people that i worked with were amazing and made the job worth it, but the upper management ran the store into the ground and made everyone quit. Including me unfortunately. There were absolutely no benefits to speak of, horrible pay, angry customers over out online store, and worst of all, I never got a raise for getting promoted to management. I was doing lots more stressful work, for the same amount of pay. (Just over minimum wage.)
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place with nice people
Seasonal Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Fairview Heights, ILOctober 15, 2018
It is a really fun place to work here, I currently assist people getting costumes for them in the back of the store, the people are really nice to work with some of them are even really funny the manager is nice and is willing to work with your schedule the hardest part of the job is standing on my feet for 6 hours at a time also the most enjoyable thing I like about it there is the people and interacting with customers I would highly recommend this place to work especially as a first job management is a little goofy when it comes to the application problems but they got It fixed quickly
Pros
The People, Environment, Pay, 30 min lunch break, very flexible
Cons
Not enough hours in the week
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved it for seasonal work
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Victorville, CAOctober 13, 2018
Nice place to learn if you are looking for experience within the work force this place is a great place to start it’s so fun to work here during the seasons specially Halloween
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible place to work
ASSISTANT MANAGER (Current Employee) –  Reno, NVOctober 12, 2018
i have worked at many places as a manager and party city will have to be one of the worst places i have worked at. there's no employee appreciation. benefits are not that great. everything is disorganized. Horrible pay for the amount of work i do. its a disgrace.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Flexible staffing and fun environment
SALES (Former Employee) –  Saint Cloud, MNOctober 11, 2018
I enjoy working at Party City because it allows me to work directly with customers and provide them the full set of materials they need for their fun parties.
Pros
Happy Environment
Cons
Low pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to work
cashier (Former Employee) –  Fairview Heights, ILOctober 9, 2018
I enjoyed working at party city, it was my first job. It is very fast pace and productive. The management is outstanding, I enjoyed every minute working there for the three years that I did. All the customers were great as well! Staff and employees were great to work with.
Pros
fun place to work
Cons
lack of laziness from some employees
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It wasn't bad, until...
PT Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Fargo NDOctober 9, 2018
Party City had been a pretty fun place to work. Then it became a corporate owned store. Corporate promised no losses in hours, pay or positions. Three days later we lossed two full time employees due to termination. After that, the corporate promises of a week of training on a new system and policies that never came about. Within weeks almost a dozen people quit including all the managers as they did not agree on how corporate was treating the store employees and lack of leadership on the corporate level. Basically in a few weeks this pretty enjoyable job turned into a living hel. If the party city store you are thinking about is owned by party city company, go somewhere else.
Pros
Store management was great and fun.
Cons
Corporate tore this store apart within weeks.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it was decent
Stocker/Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Brooklyn, NYOctober 9, 2018
Long overnight shifts were the worse, the job was actually terrible all and all but the overnight manager Aaron was super cool and motivational and made it all worth it. I remembered working 24 hour shifts with him and he would give me countless number of reasons why not to quit.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun workplace
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Kingston, NYOctober 9, 2018
easy job. management was laid back. Hours were sporadic. hardest part was pulling costumes when it's really busy. it was really fun working during halloween season.
Pros
discount
Cons
hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
really good
Retail Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Ferguson, MOOctober 9, 2018
The typical day at party city would be of course clocking in making sure you have on your walky talky because that was your way of communicating with your coworkers. Filling up balloons, making sure everything was in stock . figuring out which postion your going to be in for that day
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Party City Corporation. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Diversity score

50out of 100

The Comparably Diversity Score tracks how positively diverse employees rate their experience at Party City Corporation.

Powered by Comparably