Pawtucket School Department Employee Reviews

Showing all 10 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A very fast paced enviroment
Substitute Clerk (Current Employee) –  Pawtucket, RIMay 23, 2018
PM: Schools are very busy in the AM hours when students are arriving at school. Students are arriving via bus, walkers and with parents. The phones are busy with parents calling in absent students.
Parents and teachers are delivering notes indicating changes in student PM pick up. Other students are coming in late from MD appointments.

PM: Very busy at dismissal time when parents are coming into the
school to dismiss students early for appointments, etc..
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unsafe work environment
Teacher (Current Employee) –  High SchoolFebruary 1, 2018
Students run the school. Gang fights and vandalism everyday. Students threaten staff; management looks the other way; they say that we don't "Understand the culture" of our students. Not a safe work environment at the middle and high schools.
Pros
Pay and benefits
Cons
Unsafe work environment
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work!
Art Teacher (Former Employee) –  Pawtucket, RIJuly 31, 2017
I enjoyed creating art lessons and introducing students to different mediums and artists. Faculty members enjoyed incorporating art lessons with literature, science and math.
Pros
Great faculty
Cons
Far commute
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Previously was a decent place to work
Maintenance (Current Employee) –  Pawtucket, RIMay 27, 2017
Poor leadership . We make up rules as we go. No clue on certain subjects yet still want things done their way.people are making decisions without having the knowledge to do so...people are getting jobs based on who they know ,
Pros
Benefits
Cons
Management
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a great little family
Bus Monitor (Former Employee) –  Pawtucket, RIMarch 1, 2017
i would go to work and see who was going to be for children. i would inspect my bus seats to make sure i had the proper seating straps for my students. i would get each child onto the bus then securly strap each child in. once we arive at the school i would get each child off then pass them off to there teacher or aid and let them know how there bus ride was and any info from the parents.
Pros
great people
Cons
no ability to be promoted
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Teaching can be fun but, it is not easy.
Substitute Teacher (Current Employee) –  Pawtucket, RIAugust 3, 2016
A typical work day would be to sign in at the office of the school that I am working at that day. Make my way to the classroom and review the notes that are on the desk for the classwork. Working with the other teachers is enjoyable. The hardest part of the job is dealing with some children who like the rule the classroom.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Education Experience
Special Education Paraprofessional (Current Employee) –  Pawtucket, RIJuly 10, 2016
Worked with autistic students
Developed IEP goals
Developed Progress notes
Developed Alternate Assessments for State of RI
Help with social skills
Help with life skills
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
School Teacher.
Full Time Teacher (Former Employee) –  Pawtucket, RIDecember 2, 2014
I enjoyed teaching at the various schools during the years I taught in Pawtucket. I really enjoyed working with the students who became involved in the various plays I directed and seeing them succeed in the productions.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 6Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Company with Great People
High School Science Teacher (Former Employee) –  Pawtucket, RIApril 17, 2012
The Pawtucket School Department is a nice place to work. The people that I work with a always there if you need assistance.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 5Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Pawtucket School Department. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.5
Based on 10 reviews
51
46
31
21
11

Ratings by category

3.5Work/Life Balance
3.5Compensation/Benefits
2.5Job Security/Advancement
3.3Management
3.0Culture

Pawtucket School Department Reviews by Location