Pedestal Foods Employee Reviews

Showing all 14 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Do not work for this company.
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Saint Charles, MOMay 18, 2018
This company is extremely misleading and shady. They rely on student workers that are international and unable to work elsewhere and then they treat them like garbage. There is a lot of racism here as well as poor management. They didn't pay what they promised, the benefits are not worth it and they higher ups do nothing but encourage gossip. Its ridiculous. Don't bother going to HR because HR is incompetent. Communication is bad and the higher ups do not hold the students accountable for their bad behavior. They could not show up for weeks and then just walk in like nothing happened.
Pros
School breaks mean shorter days.
Cons
Bad leadership, racism, incompetent HR, terrible benefits
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome place to work
Food Service Worker (Current Employee) –  Belleville, ILDecember 29, 2017
Pedestal is a good company. Good team work and management at Belleville location great. Love the students. Feel very blessed to be here and many more years.
Pros
Great work environment
Cons
Seasonal job
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
In the beginning it was awesome
Cook/Prep (Former Employee) –  St. Charles, MODecember 13, 2017
After they got rid of the big bosses in the kitchen things went downhill. Management was not the greatest compensation was not the best people in the kitchen that I worked with we're great
Pros
Free lunch
Cons
Health care Management
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun workplace
Crew Member (Current Employee) –  Saint Charles, MOMay 26, 2017
Pedestal Foods is a very good company which always is willing to give job opportunities to Lindenwood University students for example. I really like to work with Pedestal Foods and I highly recommend this company to everyone
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unpleasant with High Turnover rate
Cashier Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Nashville, TNMay 25, 2017
-Hired 2 months before paperwork was filed
-Was laid off 3 months AFTER my paperwork was file for no reason
-Our GM was fired after employee complaints and the temp manager was racist referred to chocolate milk as "black milk" and tried to fire all African American employers. Unorganized and even had issues with the school the company was working with.
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 3Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No benefits
Cook (Former Employee) –  Saint Charles, MOMarch 5, 2017
This company was hard to move up in and the there were no benefits. The medical insurance was also very expensive and not worth it. Also once the company merged with another things started going down hill.
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 4Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Average Work Place
Staff Member, Student Worker (Current Employee) –  Saint Charles, MOFebruary 14, 2017
The manager did not treat international students the same as an American student. You are required to be on your feet for 5 or 6 straight hours. It is hard to feel welcomed.
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
workplace
Dishwasher / Utilities (Current Employee) –  Ballwin, MOJuly 15, 2016
Wash dishes, pots, pans, silverware, cups, trays for 700+ students. Also mop and sweep dining area floors, and wipe off tables after breakfast and lunch.

I learned the proper way to sanitize my work area according to the Health Department.

My coworkers were okay. They knew what they were supposed to do. Sometimes I wish they could have helped out more with the cleaning of their work areas.

The hardest part was working in a high temperature area like the kitchen.

The most enjoyable part was interacting with the students and faculty.
Pros
Free lunches
Cons
Working only nine months out of the year.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
NIce company to work for
Dining Services Manager (Former Employee) –  Ballwin, MO 63011March 11, 2016
Company was bought out a couple of times. Last company made a lot of good changes and rules .I left on good terms.Left to take care of Family member she was 96 years young.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 3Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good employees, and bosses!!!!
Cook (Former Employee) –  Belleville, ILFebruary 15, 2016
Good place to work if you are a hard worker................ You have a lot of good employees ready to help you be successful.
Pros
good food
Cons
get get laid-off at christmas and in the summer!!!
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 2Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Mgmt was ok but the invironment was not
Human Resources Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Ballwin, MONovember 2, 2015
Pedestal was ok if you played the good ol boy rules. Management was ok. The environment itself was pretty lean. Lots of turn around. Not a good foundational place if you are wanting to advance.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not my favorite place
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  Belleville, ILMay 19, 2014
The left hand never knows what the right is doing. They are great at saying things and never following through. There is no room for advancement.
Was this review helpful?Yes 9No 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Working place
Shift/ Student Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Marshall, MOJanuary 1, 2014
This is my main job during the school year.
Learned a lot from interaction with my fellow workers
and it helps that we are a diverse group you can't help but learn new things
Hardest part of the job is training new people every semester because it's like beginning the job all over again
Enjoyable part of the job is having new people and getting to know the new workers each semester.
It's wonderful how we can build rapport with new workers in such
a short time
What I've learned though is dealing with people from different backgrounds require different approaches
Pros
free meals
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Pedestal Foods. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.1
Based on 14 reviews
53
44
31
24
12

Ratings by category

3.4Work/Life Balance
2.9Compensation/Benefits
2.6Job Security/Advancement
3.0Management
2.9Culture

Ratings from women

2.5InHerSight Score

2.1Personal Development

2.2Career Opportunities

2.9Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight

Powered by InHerSight