Peet's Coffee & Tea Employee Reviews

Found 427 reviews matching the search See all 430 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not a bad job great pay
Route Sales (Current Employee) –  Louisville, KYAugust 21, 2018
Good job. too much arae to cover. did not have a clear marking plan. 31 krogers, 7 meijers 7 target. just too many accounts to take care of.. great job and great psy/
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Peets was good at first but they are now almost like Starbucks
Store Manager (Current Employee) –  San Mateo, CAAugust 21, 2018
Need better DM because some of them don’t know how to work with other people. Their focuses are not oriented to make your work/life balance and definitely not seen to interested in you as a person
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive in learning
MANAGER (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXAugust 20, 2018
Always a busy place where time wen by flying. There's always a strong ethnic on were the origin of the coffee and the makers came from, and how it succeeded.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Things changed after company sold
Store Manager (Former Employee) –  San Rafael, CAAugust 14, 2018
My first couple years with Peet's was a good fit.
After the company sold the culture and job changed( not for the best)
They are bottom line driven and call out those that don't contribute to the overall district numbers.
Don't care about placement employees are shuffled around quite often, therefore hard to develop teams.
Pros
Coffee
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fast pace
Cashier/sales associate (Former Employee) –  Washington, DCAugust 13, 2018
i liked the fast pace, fun environment. it was a lot of diversity so it was easy to meet and interact with new people. Also as a barista i was allowed to make customers happy by the way their drinks were made.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company to work for .
Vendor (Current Employee) –  Sacramento, CAAugust 8, 2018
Great company great people great coffee. Have worked for Peet’s coffe and tea for
My father for about 5 years and it has always worked around my availability
Pros
Flexible hours
Cons
Long drives
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Place and environment
Barista (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILAugust 7, 2018
I loved working at my store. We had great workers and customers who all worked together to make it a great experience. Peet's does need to compensate a little better and work on informing workers before implementing guidelines and new management.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and faced paced workshop
Cashier/Barista (Current Employee) –  San Francisco, CAAugust 3, 2018
A typical day is when I clock in the morning and I start working right away. There is a rush from any where from a 2-3 hours. The rush stops around 10am. Than it slows down and I start cleaning.
Pros
Faced paced which makes the day go faster
Cons
Stressful because it can be overwhelming when costumers want a specific drink
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Reliable job
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Sunnyvale, CAJuly 31, 2018
It was a fun,easy, fast, reliable job for the short amount of time I worked there. Customers and coworkers are wonderful. Amazing coffee, tea, and pastries.
Pros
free coffee and tea
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Just a coffee shop
Barista/Cashier (Former Employee) –  Pleasanton, CAJuly 28, 2018
Peet’s runs like a coffee shop, because it is a coffee shop. You will burn your hands and you will drink too much coffee but dont let that stop you from making some friends in the community.
Pros
Lots of free coffee
Cons
Hand burns and customer service
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not fun
Barista (Former Employee) –  Santa Rosa, CAJuly 27, 2018
Not nice coworkers everyone was mean. I was overworked and underpaid and not appreciated. I don't know what more to say I'm just looking for a job...
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company
Route Sales (Former Employee) –  Marietta, GAJuly 25, 2018
Great company to work for. Hours can be difficult sometimes. Youn always get holidays off for the most part. No benefits or paid time off as you work.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Meet your new family.
Barista (Current Employee) –  San Francisco, CAJuly 24, 2018
I've worked at two different peets locations and everyone who works at Peet's is pretty chill. My coworkers are like my second family. Yes there's drama but what store doesn't have drama. These are the people who are going to support you and understand you when management is driving you crazy. If this is your first coffee job I would recommend peets because they provide all the help they can give you to improve and develop.
Pros
Free coffee
Cons
management can suck sometimes
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interesting place to work with a face-paced environment. Easy to understand and always busy with something to do.
BARISTA (Former Employee) –  Dublin, CAJuly 23, 2018
It was a very good first job to have. A typical day at the job included at least 100 people throughout all of the hours of the day. I learned work discipline and how to work with customers efficiently as well as how to make drinks such as lattes, americano's, etc.
Pros
45 minute lunches, 2 ten minute breaks for a 6 hour shift, fun co-workers, positive energy
Cons
very fast paced, hard to keep up with orders
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Peets Culture
Store Manager (Former Employee) –  San Mateo, CAJuly 21, 2018
Love Coffee, working at Peets was very fun, I was able to hire my team and train and develop them, we had a great thing going over all had a great time.
Pros
free coffee
Cons
Dm
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace.
Shift Manager & Barista (Current Employee) –  Alexandria, VAJuly 20, 2018
Honestly, one of the better jobs I have had while being in school. Peet's treats their employees like family, and always give you the opportunity to grow.

-Kodie
Pros
Benefits, growth, stability
Cons
Short breaks, inconsistency of scheduling, and always finding a way to shift management too drastically every 6 months
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun
Barista and Cashier (Current Employee) –  Mountain View, CAJuly 20, 2018
Work is pretty nice, we just chat and work when its slow. You can practice your drinks and latte art when its slow. My typical day is just restocking the fridge, cleaning, and practicing my drink art.
Pros
When its slow its very relaxed and we all just work and chat.
Cons
When its busy it can get really stressful but worth it.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast-paced environment with great management
Student Lead/Barista (Former Employee) –  La Jolla, CAJuly 17, 2018
Great job for a full-time student. On average was a very fast-paced environment that kept you on your toes. Overall, was very fun and enjoyable job with good management.
Pros
Free drink and pastry per shift
Cons
Short hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun
Barista (Current Employee) –  Encinitas, CAJuly 16, 2018
great place to start if you want to learn about coffee. relaxed store managers. fast paced but fun while making drinks and working on the registers. nice that they offer a half pound take home of coffee or tin of tea every week.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Place to work
Accountant II (Current Employee) –  Emeryville, CAJuly 16, 2018
The environment is very welcoming and the energy is very positive. A lot of turnover within the company, and that makes it hard on everyone that has to pick up the extra work.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Peet's Coffee & Tea. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.0
Based on 432 reviews
5163
4137
394
225
113

Ratings by category

3.9Work/Life Balance
3.6Compensation/Benefits
3.5Job Security/Advancement
3.5Management
4.0Culture

Ratings from women

2.8InHerSight Score

2.5Personal Development

3.4Career Opportunities

2.7Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight

Powered by InHerSight