Pei Wei Asian Kitchen Employee Reviews

Found 621 reviews matching the search See all 625 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It’s okay
Waitress/Cashier (Former Employee) –  Henderson, NVFebruary 17, 2019
I actually loved working there, it was a good job. The management needed help though, that’s the only reason people quit working there. The tips were sometimes amazing on certain nights. Rush hours could get insane, the line would be out the door sometimes. The to go orders would be insane also, and you never got a break some nights because there was never time. People will always come in.
Pros
Free food sometimes, discounted food, friendly people to work with, tips
Cons
Rushes that can lead out the door, angry people, too many things to do at once during rush hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great job to learn fast past service
Drahma Cook (Current Employee) –  Henderson, NVFebruary 12, 2019
My first job out of culinary school and it’s cool. I think more on the job training coulda been more helpful but other then that I really enjoy it here.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun job
Cashier, Server, Dim Sum, and Shift Lead (Former Employee) –  Weston, FLFebruary 6, 2019
This location is always busy so you will always have something to do. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The management team work together and make sure each shift runs smoothly and that everyone works together.
Pros
Fun team
Cons
Late shifts
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company
Cashier/Waiter (Former Employee) –  Beaumont, TXFebruary 5, 2019
Working with great people and cool environment. Fast paced environment. Great opportunities and advancement with the company. Love working with the people there
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast passed and friendly
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Phoenix, AZJanuary 31, 2019
Work is fast and very fun. Lots of opportunity in growth of work experience. Meeting lots of interesting people. Many cultures in one area. Very involved.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Managers are wild
Cashier/Server (Former Employee) –  Glendale, AZJanuary 29, 2019
I enjoyed working here because you are always moving and working under pressure. However, hours got cut. The managers are rude and expect much more from you
Pros
Free food, people
Cons
Drama
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun , upbeat and hard working .
Server/Hostess (Former Employee) –  Pembroke Pines, FLJanuary 27, 2019
I loved this job , from the managers to the workers and the overall experience, we were a family at PeiWei . Peiwei is a fast dining restaurant, formally partnered with another restaurant named P.f. chang’s. I was said to leave Peiwei to follow my dreams and attend college in Louisiana, i always know i have a home and a job at at a Peiwei in Pembroke Pines.
Pros
Family, fast working, customers.
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work, not enough advancement opportunities
Key Employee (Former Employee) –  Southlake, TXJanuary 23, 2019
Overall a good place to work for. The management in store is nice, and the fellow employees are good. The only problem is that corporate management tends to bring in managers from other restaurants rather than promote from within.
Pros
Free lunch, good breaks
Cons
No health benefits, no paid vacation, no sick days
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very easy job, managers make it very hard
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Conroe, TXJanuary 21, 2019
Honestly the managers don’t listen or work with you. They wanted us to be a team but they don’t play like team players. Managers will try to help and not actually do anything but be in the way.
Pros
Free food
Cons
Working there
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Dallas, TXJanuary 17, 2019
Productive environment
Nice coworkers
discounts
Nice clientele
Awesome food
Easy hiring process
Easy hiring process
High volume
Variety of vegan options
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place
ASSITANT MANAGER (Former Employee) –  North CarolinaJanuary 17, 2019
Great place for when starting out to the manager role and crew . I love the people and staff. Just be ready to work hard and focus on the guest . In learn the knowledge
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hit or Miss
Kitchen Manager (Former Employee) –  Dublin, OHJanuary 17, 2019
This company depends on what location you work at. I work for 4 different PF Chang's and % different Pei Wei's. I managed the Kitchens. Some locations are great environments, others not so much. overall great company.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Repetitive but a great first job.
Cashier (Current Employee) –  Fort Myers, FLJanuary 13, 2019
Pei Wei was a great first job for me and I have had a few great managers and some not so great managers. It’s a good job, although there is better out there.
Pros
Free food
Cons
No benefits
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Restaurant Manaegment
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Oklahoma CityJanuary 13, 2019
My typical day was opening the store, reviewing the prep sheets from the night before and adjust as needed, Ensure all staff were adhering to company recipes for prep and presentation. Following up on daily cleanliness and guest experience, coaching team members on proper execution of company policy
Pros
Free meals good benefits
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace, enjoyable coworkers and managers, family environment
Wok Chef (Current Employee) –  Winter Garden, FLJanuary 13, 2019
Working at Pei Wei for two years I got to see how the store changed and stayed the same throughout. I worked their through 4 different general managers, all of whom were excellent people who got me to where I am today.
Pros
Free lunches/ dinners
Cons
Long hours, hefty workload, unbalanced work load
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
poorly managed
Shift Leader (Former Employee) –  Fort Worth, TXJanuary 9, 2019
the job itself was a fun and fast paced environment. If the management couldve seen eye to eye with the corporate people it woulve been a smoother ride. High turnover rate.
Pros
free meals
Cons
high turnover rate
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very high stress work place with a constant change in management
Server/Cashier/Busser/Dishwasher (Former Employee) –  Watauga, TXJanuary 6, 2019
I honestly loved the experience I got at Pei Wei simply because I was pushed to work harder than I've worked for a job before. I loved the other staff that I worked with, but because management changed a a lot, those people were gone after a couple months or so. Overall, Pei Wei is one of my favorite restaurants to eat at, but I probably won't be working there ever again.
Pros
Free food (depending on manager)
Cons
Short Breaks(or no breaks), high stress environment, understaffed
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very good and fast-pace environment
Dishwasher (Former Employee) –  San Antonio, TXJanuary 6, 2019
Working in the back kitchen could get very fast paced at times usually on weekends at nights and mostly the work environment was good. Everyone worked together and closed at the end of night.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pei Wei has room for advancement!
Key Holder (Former Employee) –  Austin, TXJanuary 4, 2019
Working for Pei wei was fantastic! I learned so much very quickly! It was easy to progress in the company and move up if you can be efficient and fast.
Pros
Free clothes and food
Cons
Lack of employees
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pei wei life
Team Member/Cashier (Former Employee) –  El Paso, TXJanuary 3, 2019
A typical day at work was a little crazy but all in the best ways. Their was always something to do. It was either busy on To Go or busy in the Dining room or both. Fun energetic fast paced environment.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Pei Wei Asian Kitchen. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.5
Based on 625 reviews
5159
4189
3163
260
154

Ratings by category

3.3Work/Life Balance
2.9Compensation/Benefits
3.0Job Security/Advancement
3.1Management
3.4Culture

Ratings from women

2.3InHerSight Score

2.1Personal Development

3.0Career Opportunities

2.1Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight

Powered by InHerSight