Pella
Happiness rating is 52 out of 100
3.8 out of 5 stars.
Write a review

Pella Employee Reviews

Review this company
Job Title
All
Location
United States1,026 reviews

Ratings by category

3.4Work-Life Balance

Sort by

HelpfulnessRatingDate
Found 1,026 reviews matching the searchSee all 1,031 reviews
corporationwindowsharingfactorycultureproductprofitopportunity

A professional and positive atmosphere.

Featured review

Pella selected this as a representative review
Pella has a wonderful work culture. Everyone is very professional and have can do attitudes. There is plenty of support and direction and lots of tools to aid you in the learning curve. Everyone is very willing to help when needed and management are very much available but also trust you to get the job done.
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Pella

April 5, 2022
Hello, thanks for your review. Team members are encouraged and empowered to be their best selves both professionally and personally. This means that at Pella, you use your unique talents to help us all succeed! Thanks for being part of the Pella team! -BB

Solid company

Stable company with good culture. Multiple career paths but with limited base pay. Generally located in small rural locations. Great product that is well known in North America.
Was this review helpful?

Pella insights

Based on 379 survey responses
Areas for improvement
  • General feeling of work happiness
  • Trust in colleagues
  • Sense of belonging

Pay

I was really excited to work there, After two weeks I quit because of the "middle" management. It seemed like working in a union shop. Those in supervisory positions were clearly there because of some kind of minority "quota" as they have no people skills, no talent and no regard for teaching/training. What a horrible place to work.

Pros

Pay

Cons

Management
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Pella

November 21, 2022
Hello, thanks for sharing your feedback. What you describe does not reflect our expectations of our leadership or our culture. If you're willing to share more specific feedback, please email us at employerbrand@pella.com. -BB

It's okay

Started off loving the place because of the starting pay but now it's ehhh, just like any other work. The pay is decent and I enjoy getting paid weekly. I'v only been there 7m so let's give it some time and see.

Pros

20min paid break

Cons

Parking is ridiculous
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Pella

November 21, 2022
Hello, thanks for your review. While our team members place different values on benefits, we complete a competitive analysis of our total rewards package to ensure it is well-rounded – this includes compensation, bonus programs, retirement benefits, medical premiums, and much more. Thanks for being part of the Pella team! -BB

Decent place to work

Decent place to work. Workers rotate stations after each break to avoid monotony. The pace can be fast or slow depending on if there's issues or not. The people are nice. The breakrooms are stocked with food to purchase. Pella operates a 1st and 3rd shift. Never any overtime on Sunday's. 1st shift works 8-10hrs M-F and Saturday OT if needed. 3rd shift works Monday night - Thursday night and Friday Night OT if needed.
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Pella

November 21, 2022
Hello, thanks for your review. We are proud to be a hardworking team. We also recognize the importance of prioritization and working on the things that will help make us the most successful. Thank you for being part of the Pella team! -BB

Rate your recent company

Share your experience to help others

Critical Flaw: Work-Life Balance

Company takes time and invests reasources to train new employees. Tons of responsibility if you want it and a great team.After working nothing under a 60hr wk for 6months in a row in order to complete a HUGE project I talked to my manager about reducing my workload over the following months. He told me the coming months would likely be busier than what I had been doing. I was working myself into an early grave and had to walk away from an otherwise great job.
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Pella

November 21, 2022
Hello, thank you for your review. We are proud to be a hard-working team. We are thankfully experiencing high customer demand and favorable business growth. As a result, our team members are working overtime —many appreciate the added income and job security. Thank you for your contribution to the Pella team! -BB

Average place to work

The work environment and culture was great. Call center job with more responsibilities than posted. 8 hour weekdays w/ possible over time. Rotating Saturdays.Will definitely learn a lot about windows/doors terminology. Will get a lot of unhappy callers
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Pella

October 19, 2022
Hello, thanks for your review. We care about helping new customer service reps find success in their roles with our four-week comprehensive onboarding program and peer mentoring program. Thank you for your contributions to the Pella team. -BB

pay and benefits

still great and fun place to work. management is not good i believe, they have favorire, they maybe like other employees because of their character or because they like same thing or stuff.

Pros

free lunch sometime

Cons

fitness
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Pella

October 19, 2022
Hello, thanks for sharing your feedback. What you describe does not reflect our expectations of our leadership or our culture. If you're willing to share more specific feedback, please email us at employerbrand@pella.com. -BB

Production

It's a place to work. The hours are decent pay is great, management is horrid. Turn over on managers is high. Lots of good, but more bad. It's a great place to get experience and move on.

Pros

Employees

Cons

Management
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Pella

October 19, 2022
Hello, thanks for sharing your feedback. What you describe does not reflect our expectations of our leadership or our culture. If you're willing to share more specific feedback, please email us at employerbrand@pella.com. -BB

Upper Management is unethical

Loved the job! Unethical hiring and firing practices by regional management HR does nothing to support employees when unethical practices take place.
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Pella

September 2, 2022
Hello, thanks for sharing your feedback. What you describe does not reflect our expectations of our leadership or our culture. If you're willing to share more specific feedback, please email us at employerbrand@pella.com. -BB

Ok place to work

They use Pella family phrase alot.I figured out Pella wants you to make them your first family and put yours second.Looks like they will always be on 10 hour days because of incompetent management team.Majors issues here understanding how to manufacture a window.
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Pella

September 2, 2022
Hello, thanks for sharing your feedback. What you describe does not reflect our expectations of our leadership or our culture. If you're willing to share more specific feedback, please email us at employerbrand@pella.com. -BB

Legal troubles

I had developed carpal tunnel in both hands from working here. I'm not allowed to go back, and probably wouldn't if given the opportunity. Every position is too much pressure
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Pella

August 11, 2022
Hello, thanks for sharing your feedback. What you describe does not reflect our expectations of our culture. If you're willing to share more specific feedback, please email us at employerbrand@pella.com.

Good solid place to work.

Pella has been a good solid place to work. If you have good attendance and a good work ethic you can move up easily. The only downside to advancing is that the training is a little lacking and rushed.
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Pella

August 16, 2022
Hello, thanks for your review. We are proud to be a hardworking team. We also recognize the importance of prioritization and working on the things that will help make us the most successful. Thank you for being part of the Pella team! -BB

Worst company I’ve ever worked for

There is zero room for advancement at Pella. All department managers are hired off the street. HR continually lies to new hires about the required amount of overtime. I was told the most Saturdays a month I would have to work is 2. I’m scheduled for 3 every month plus 10 hours everyday. Employees are treated subhuman. I became extremely sick at work and had to go to the ER. Leaving halfway through the shift counted against me for getting my sign on bonus. If you have to leave for a medical emergency, don’t expect a raise at the next evaluation. The turnover rate is staggeringly high for a reason.

Pros

Gives you a reason to drink
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Pella

July 28, 2022
Hello, thanks for sharing your feedback. What you describe does not reflect our expectations of our culture. If you're willing to share more specific feedback, please email us at employerbrand@pella.com. -BB

The worst job I’ve ever had in my life but good stepping stone

I have been wanting to write this review forever but I am not typically a “Karen” who bashes or complains about a work environment so have avoided it, but I have time today! Now that I have been away for a bit I can really appreciate how miserable this job truly was. If you’re looking for something to get your career started, make a decent amount of money for the area, and learn the basics about manufacturing THEN get the heck out, this is the perfect place. To be fair, most of my working experience was at the height of COVID so my experience was probably worse than most but there are still so many things that could have been improved/changed that will definitely not change now that COVID has lessened.The work-life balance was absolutely zero, I would constantly get calls/texts when on vacation (which I had to use for simple tasks such as getting my hair cut) because I was expected to work 6 days/week, 12 ish hour days. When interviewing, the recruiter really pushed the fact that we would have 4 10 hour work days (M-Th) with occasional over time which appealed to me along with the salary +OT promise. We MAYBE worked 4 day work weeks twice in the 2 years I was there, I was definitely working every Friday and almost every Saturday as well. I have heard from others that they finally drew the line and decided to stop with the OT due to turnover but they pulled that trigger way too late and lost a lot of supervisors and hourly employees. (The ones that they hired and could afford to just get up and quit left within months).The best way to describe the work environment was “cry - 

Pros

Salary + OT pay, good benefits, great place to learn

Cons

Toxic work environment, 60+ hour work weeks, horrible work/life balance
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Pella

September 2, 2022
Hello, thanks for sharing your feedback. What you describe does not reflect our expectations of our leadership or our culture. If you're willing to share more specific feedback, please email us at employerbrand@pella.com. -BB

Poor management and no work/life balance.

Expected 50-58 hours every week, they reprimand you for leaving work for family emergencies, management will step on you to make themselves look good.
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Pella

July 26, 2022
Hello, thanks for sharing your feedback. What you describe does not reflect our expectations of our leadership or our culture. If you're willing to share more specific feedback, please email us at employerbrand@pella.com. -BB

Bad

I didn’t like working at pella. It was boring and it had long hours. The lunch break was ridiculous because it was only 20 minutes long. Some workers are rude.
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Pella

July 21, 2022
Hello, thanks for sharing your feedback. What you describe does not reflect our expectations of our culture. If you're willing to share more specific feedback, please email us at employerbrand@pella.com. -BB

No opportunities for advancement unless they really like you

Trained for banned positions and filled in for leadership positions but never given opportunity to advance with company. Not equal opportunity employer, doesn't have specific requirements or guidelines for advancement. Managers pick who they want to advance like a popularity contest.

Pros

Pay

Cons

Short breaks, no advancement opportunities, seniority means nothing
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Pella

July 21, 2022
Hello, thanks for sharing your feedback. What you describe does not reflect our expectations of our leadership or our culture. If you're willing to share more specific feedback, please email us at employerbrand@pella.com. -BB

1 star

What is the best part of working at the company?The company has good benefits. What is the most stressful part about working at the company?Managers cater to certain employees, even if they yell and scream at there co-workers. What is the work environment and culture like at the company?If you know how to certain jobs and they think your irreplaceable. They will let you pretty much get away with whatever you want. What is a typical day like for you at the company?show up work 8 hours and go home.
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Pella

September 2, 2022
Hello, thanks for sharing your feedback. What you describe does not reflect our expectations of our leadership or our culture. If you're willing to share more specific feedback, please email us at employerbrand@pella.com.

Terrible management ruining a good company

Unless you are willing to give up any kind of personal life, Pella is NOT the place for you. The schedules are erratic, managers treat employees as commodities and are inconsistent when applying corrective actions. The level of incompetence is absolutely astounding. Avoid at all cost.
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Pella

June 28, 2022
Hello, thanks for sharing your feedback. What you describe does not reflect our expectations of our leadership or our culture. If you're willing to share more specific feedback, please email us at employerbrand@pella.com. -BB

Stay away

Decent pay is the only positive.Hours are long, the job is monotonous & the opportunities for advancement are nonexistent.Management & leadership very heavily play favorites, your work ethic does not matter.Company does not value you as a person, only cares about number of bodies in the building.The pay may seem enticing, but it’s not worth it.Wouldn’t recommend it to my worst enemy.
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Pella

June 28, 2022
Hello, thanks for sharing your feedback. What you describe does not reflect our expectations of our leadership or our culture. If you're willing to share more specific feedback, please email us at employerbrand@pella.com. -BB

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Pella. Our community is ready to answer.Ask a Question

Overall rating

Based on 1,031 reviews

Ratings by category

3.4 out of 5 stars for Work/Life Balance
3.9 out of 5 stars for Compensation/Benefits
3.5 out of 5 stars for Job Security/Advancement
3.3 out of 5 stars for Management
3.5 out of 5 stars for Culture

Ratings from women

2.3
InHerSight Score
2.1Personal Development
2.7Career Opportunities
2.2Family Support
Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight
Powered byInHerSight

Compare Pella with

Pella reviews by popular job title

  • Companies
  • Pella
  • Employee Reviews