Penn National Gaming, Inc. Employee Reviews

Showing all 114 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome place to be!
Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Columbus, OHNovember 18, 2018
Penn National is a great company to work for! They strive to promote from within, have a 3% 401k match and management listens to their employees and works to make everyone happy.
Pros
Pretty much everything
Cons
Seven day scheduling. 24/7 businesses should employ a 28 day schedule
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly
Guest Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Tunica, MSSeptember 15, 2018
It is a very friendly environment. The worker are very helpful especially when you are asking them questions. There are always opportunities to advance your career in the company
Pros
Pto days, chance to move up/forward within the company
Cons
No free lunch
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Project Development
Project Executive/Project Director (Former Employee) –  Grantville, PASeptember 8, 2018
Oversaw design and participated in selection of design professionals and construction management companies

Traveled extensively
Paid bonuses every year
Freedom to oversee projects
great company to work for.
Pros
Freedom to oversee projects
Cons
traveled extensively
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 2Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
They use you and cut you loose
Manager (Former Employee) –  Grantville, PASeptember 3, 2018
*Upper management is overpaid and doesn't reward hard word, unless you are friends with them

*Yearly pay increase is 2%

*Smoking environment with zero ventilation

*A documented history of scandals when it comes to their racing operations, yet those executives are still working there

*Company claims "its a privilege for someone to visit or work here"

*Dishonestly runs through the blood of corporation and every-time you read something on them, they cry about the gambling laws and why it isn't fair to them.

*Work hours are insane, but they will cut your shift ASAP when they don't need you.

*To qualify for benefits, you practically have to work 38 hours, which changed from 32 when I started.

*The top people get lofty bonus payouts, between 10-15% based on cutting and cutting staff, while the people doing the hard-work is lucky to see a $50-$100 yearly bonus, which the company loves to brag about being generous to their employees.

*Housekeeping lacks true skills to keep the place clean

*Security turnover is horrendous

*Morale is beyond repairable
Pros
Noted above
Cons
Noted above
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Security Officer (Current Employee) –  Robinsonville, MSJuly 31, 2018
Good place to work. People help one another. Supervisors really care about the employees and go out of their way to make you feel comfortable and appreciated.
Pros
Great place to work
Cons
37.5 hour week. No free lunch
Was this review helpful?Yes 9No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Penn Nationa Gaming Hollywood Casino Columbus
Cage Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Columbus, OHJune 20, 2018
Great place to work for . People who work hard get promoted, great co-workers !!! No work life balance. High pay. Gym onsite, other than work picnic, there is no family oriented atmosphere... Quarterly bonus if customer service goals were met !
Pros
High pay scale.
Cons
No work life balance.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company to work for
Human Resource Generalist (Former Employee) –  Grove City, OHJune 11, 2018
I enjoyed my time with Penn National, even though it was fairly short lived. Resources were plentiful and management really knew their stuff. It was a great experience overall.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good company to work for
Surveillance Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Maryland Heights, MOMay 3, 2018
Penn National offers great benefits and competitive salary. There is room for advancement. Management team is easy to work with and has a great understanding of everyday challenges.
Pros
Good benefits, Room for advancement
Cons
Weak rewards program
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good
Property CFO & Compliance (Former Employee) –  Hobbs, NMMarch 21, 2018
Penn Gaming was a solid company to work for. They had a strong balance between property self-management and the need for corporate oversight.

Penn has a strong property portfolio.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Na
Food Server (Former Employee) –  Dayton, OHMarch 5, 2018
The culture of the workplace was pretty upbeat and the most enjoyable part of my job was being able to put a smile on customers faces. I learned a lot about how to keep your customers happy and just how to provide the best service I can.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place for what it is
Table Games Dealer (Current Employee) –  Columbus, OHMarch 5, 2018
This was a great job for what I needed at the time. Management was very flexible and the culture was generally very positive.

There is opportunity to move up to management or stay at the dealer level.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 2Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Standard Workplace
Field Training Security Officer FT (Former Employee) –  Las Vegas, NVFebruary 22, 2018
You will do a lot of things you do not condone as far as a security role. Only people who take their job way too seriously and aspire to be the police who will give you a hard time is ideal for this role.

However, I worked on the Swing Shift, and we all had fun and enjoyed working with each other. The crew was more relaxed and less uptight. We only got serious when a matter that needed to be taken serious occurred as far Security role.
Pros
Edr, Percs, Benefits
Cons
No flexibility, Exhausting
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun job
Front Desk Clerk (Former Employee) –  Lancaster, PAFebruary 16, 2018
Was a very fun job, was kinda like working at an airport.. Got to meet lots of different people from all walks of life. Really enjoyed working there for the time I did.
Pros
Fun job, low stress
Cons
Did not pay much an hr.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
no respect for employers life outside of the workplace
Culinary (Current Employee) –  Kansas City, KSFebruary 8, 2018
i work very hard, but i just don't feel like the employees get the credit they deserve. a typical day would be busy cause i work in the buffet area. i have learned prep and dishwasher skills. i feel management isn't fair. its is a lot of different cultures in the workplace. the hardest part is to know that all of your hard work may not pay off. the most enjoyable are the employees.
Pros
lunch discounts
Cons
black out days point system
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work place was close to home.
Graphic Artist/Designer (Former Employee) –  Grantville, PAJanuary 31, 2018
I enjoyed working there because of the other employees... very friendly and sociable. It was close to my home, so that was a big plus. The company took a chance on me as a graphic designer, because I was right out of school. And although I am very appreciative for that, their pay scale for my position was very low.
Was this review helpful?Yes 8NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I dont think it is a great place to work.
Guest Safety Services Officer (Former Employee) –  Bay Saint Louis, MSJanuary 30, 2018
People are not treated fairly and justly.

There is little or no trust in the supervisors and management.

There is little or no room for advancement for the security officers.

Culture is poor. It is not a great place to work.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Everyone is very nice
Manager (Current Employee) –  Las Vegas, NVJanuary 23, 2018
Everyone is very nice, cooperative and accommodating. Unfortunately, there is a lack of skill set throughout the company. The corporate departments are located in a small Pennsylvania town and most corporate employees are under qualified. The policies, procedures and new programs being implemented don't reflect industry best practices.
Pros
Nice work enviroment, supportive boss
Cons
Health insurance is TERRIBLE, inadequate senior and corporate leadership
Was this review helpful?Yes 8NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work!
Table Games Dealer (Current Employee) –  Columbus, OHJanuary 22, 2018
Fun working at a casino! I enjoy celebrating wins with the players. I do not like taking player's money, I like giving away money. I tell players that the casino only pays us $5.00 per hour, so I want to be able to payout as much of their money as I can.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Workplace
Senior Accountant (Current Employee) –  Robinsonville, MSJanuary 11, 2018
Working at this company is sometimes difficult; however it's a good company to work for. This company needs to take a look at some of the supervisors and managers that are hired. They also need to learn to work as a team.
Pros
N/a
Cons
N/a
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Its a temporary stepping stone to somewhere else.
Security Agent (Former Employee) –  Charles Town, WVDecember 27, 2017
If you need to get by its ok. Liked most of my co-workers and my bosses. They really should pay more considering the amount of responsibility you have and Money you handle on a daily basis.
Cons
Employee Food was dismal.Ok at best.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Penn National Gaming, Inc.. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 114 reviews
529
438
327
27
113

See reviews about

3.2Work/Life Balance
3.5Compensation/Benefits
2.9Job Security/Advancement
3.0Management
3.4Culture

Ratings from women

2.4InHerSight Score

2.3Personal Development

2.9Career Opportunities

2.2Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight

Powered by InHerSight