Penn State Milton S. Hershey Medical Center

Penn State Milton S. Hershey Medical Center Employee Reviews

Showing all 199 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent
Patient Safety Companion (Former Employee) –  Hershey, PANovember 8, 2018
One of the best jobs I had. Loved my job and helping others. Management was not the best. This is a huge company to work for you won't be disappointed.
Pros
advancement
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Growing quickly
Marketing Communications Manager (Current Employee) –  Hershey, PANovember 8, 2018
With a rapidly growing health system, many changes are occurring and many challenges are being faced. Decisions and progress need to be made more rapidly. Leaders need to see outside of the bubble.
Pros
Benefits/PTO
Cons
Low salary range
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Inspired me to be the best nurse I can be.
Registered Nurse Float Pool (Former Employee) –  Hershey, PAOctober 21, 2018
Loved working here and my Managers. I learned alot and gave back even more. My colleagues and I helped as many people as possible with the time slotted.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
An Incredible Experience
Chaplain Resident ACPE Levels 1 and 2 (Current Employee) –  Hershey, PAOctober 16, 2018
I highly recommend Residency at Penn State Hershey Medical Center. It was quite a ride, but well worth it. I grew into my role and myself as a pastor.
Pros
too numerous to count, pure joy
Cons
the schedule can be physically exhausting
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place for work
Admissions Registration Clerk (Former Employee) –  Hershey, PAOctober 14, 2018
Started at this institution 17 years ago. Succeeded within the 17 years I worked there but was at my limit for any advancement without having a college education.
Pros
Good pay with nice benefits and paid time off
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Medical Office Associate
Medical Office Associate I (Current Employee) –  Hershey, PAOctober 11, 2018
Currently I work as a scheduler at the Penn State Hershey Breast Center. On a daily basis I schedule new cancer diagnosis, biopsies, MRI's, mammograms etc. I request pathology and imaging from different facilities and ensure that the proper reports are received prior to the patient's appointment.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
review
Patient Experience Intern (Former Employee) –  Hershey, PAOctober 5, 2018
When I worked at the Hershey Medical Center everyday was a new experience. I met a lot of the patients, I met with a lot of the staff, and I also worked on developing the hospital in a beneficial way making the family and patients feel more at home.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Administrative Associate (Former Employee) –  Hershey, PAOctober 4, 2018
Great place to work. Excellent benefits. Only reason I had changed positions was to move to a state job and have benefits upon retirement. Many changes for advancement.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and a great place to work
CLAIMS DATA ENTRY (Former Employee) –  Hershey, PAOctober 2, 2018
This job was a really great company to work for. I would love to work for them again. The people there was nice and kind. They treated everyone the same and I really was comfortable working there.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place To Work
MEDICAL OFFICE ASSOCIATE (Current Employee) –  Harrisburg, PAOctober 2, 2018
All in all I've enjoyed working for the Med Center. Definitely need some help with management and admin. And they do not pay their employees fairly. However, the benefits are worth it.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
outpatient
Attending Nurse Orthopedics & Rehabilitation (Former Employee) –  Hershey, PASeptember 27, 2018
been too long since I worked there to be totally fair. Had wonderful outpatient programs for patients. tried to make it easy for the patients to see multiple specialty physicians with one visit
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I loved working here
Med/Surg Staff Nurse (Former Employee) –  PennsylvaniaSeptember 19, 2018
Wonderful facility to work at. The staff was great. Great learning opportunities. Great environment to increase knowledge and skills. Benefits were good and the hospital really took care of staff.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and great work environment
Operating room nurse (Current Employee) –  Hershey, PaSeptember 16, 2018
Great place to work. Friendly environment. Lots of opportunities to transfer within the hospital or outpatient medical centers. Management is respectful and encouraging
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Somewhere to learn
Laboratory Externship (Former Employee) –  Hershey, PASeptember 14, 2018
A good internship experience
Cooperative and considerate lab mates
Variable schedule dependent upon experiments
Learning experience with new procedures
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
enjoyed worker at Penn State
Administrative Secretary (Former Employee) –  Hershey, PASeptember 7, 2018
I worked at the Hershey Medical center for almost 17 years in different clerical roles. I worked the information desk. I loved it.
My coworkers were also my family
Pros
people
Cons
not used to shift work
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent place to work
Medical Records Clerk (Former Employee) –  Hershey, PAAugust 28, 2018
There is not much room to move up the career latter. Most days were focused on scanning in medical records. The management in Medical records were spirit crushers.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor Management
Clinical Documentation Improvement Specialist (Former Employee) –  Hershey, PAAugust 23, 2018
Poor Management. Several new employees in the department left the company because of the management. No set standard poor communication and changing standards.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Hospital
Direct Care Nurse, Women's Health (Former Employee) –  Hershey, PAAugust 22, 2018
L&D has a great nurse manager and amazing nurse educator. As of 2009 I worked between women's health unit, Antepartum postpartum unit, newborn nursery and L&D.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Graduate Student
Graduate Student (Current Employee) –  Hershey, PAAugust 12, 2018
I was a graduate student,so I can't give an accurate picture for those people looking to work for the college of medicine itself. It was a very good program, and I feel I definitely learned what I came there to learn.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work
receptionist/scheduler (Former Employee) –  Hershey, PAAugust 7, 2018
I loved working at HMC and was very proud of being part of such a wonderful hospital. Everyone really cared about the patients and the staff I worked with over the years got along very well.
Pros
great place to work
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?YesNo 3Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Penn State Milton S. Hershey Medical Center. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.0
Based on 199 reviews
587
452
338
214
18

Ratings by category

3.7Work/Life Balance
4.1Compensation/Benefits
3.7Job Security/Advancement
3.4Management
3.7Culture

Penn State Milton S. Hershey Medical Center Reviews by Location