Penn Station East Coast Subs Employee Reviews

3.7
Overall rating
Based on 433 reviews
Ratings breakdown
5123
4136
3117
230
127
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Found 432 reviews matching the search See all 433 reviews
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place
Crew Member (Current Employee) –  Indianapolis, INSeptember 20, 2018
The employees are fun and I do like working with them. The manager do there jobs but they can all be fun as well. The only problem was the customers. Customers would be on there phone all the time and walk away after taking there order. Then they would complain because the sandwich is wrong. It wouldnt be my fault because they like walking away before I could repeat there orders. The only type of good customers were the regular customers.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Its not a great job but itll do.
Crew Member (Former Employee) –  Bedford, INSeptember 15, 2018
The pay was just too low for me. Considering the split shifts and no insurance, not a place I would recommend staying at for an extended period of time.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced but fun to work at and with the coworkers
Fort Wright - Crew member (Former Employee) –  Fort Wright, KYSeptember 13, 2018
i had Always looked forward to going in on my scheduled time, even a little early and having a good time never would be a dual moment in the environment even when we switched managers.
Pros
discounts
Cons
lower pay than time worked there
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to start out at
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  West Lafayette, INSeptember 12, 2018
Just stick to the normal code.
Show up on time and always give it your all.
Try and make each day better than the last.
Penn station encourages you to speak openly so if you're a person who has a issue with communication
Penn station can help with that. My opinion
Pros
Half off on food for regular staff. 100% discount for managers
Cons
No healthcare benefits
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and laid back work place.
Crew Leader (Current Employee) –  Newburgh, INSeptember 10, 2018
At Penn station you work with food so some days it could get busy so it can be stressful but the managers are great and keep everything smooth working and calm. The people you work with are fun and caring. There are some chores you have to do but everyone is very helpful and will make sure you get them done on time. The manager is very kind and considerate and will ork with any problems you have.
Pros
Discount on food, Breaks
Cons
Can be stressful
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great entry level job
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Gahanna, OHSeptember 8, 2018
I started off as just an hourly body, but it didn't take long to move up in the company, as food industry is come and go. It is a high paced job with constant workflow, especially during lunch hours. There are weekly and monthly cleaning lists that are required to be done, so on the small bits of downtime that you do have, you dont exactly get a break. That being said, it is usually a good, close knit group of people that know when it's time to keep their head down and when it's time to lighten the mood with light hearted affair
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great atmosphere
Food Prep and Cashier (Former Employee) –  London, KYSeptember 7, 2018
Prepping food is always a big thing, it's easy to learn all of the stations. Job isn't too difficult, but requires more effort than average. Everyone has their own tasks/duties.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Quick paced
Employee (Former Employee) –  Middletown, OHSeptember 6, 2018
Hard working pays off, be on time, take in orders correctly and cook and prepare food correctly. Management was great. Free lunch after 4-5 hours of a normal work day.
Pros
Discounted lunch
Cons
Not so good pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Time at penns station
Cook/Prep (Former Employee) –  Wentzville, MOSeptember 2, 2018
The place was great unless it was busy then your stressed out like crazy but management was ok some bumps and issues there and their but my current life in college dose not fit how much I was earning there plus bill and now truck problems have driven me broken within a day it to much.
Pros
Free drinks, one free sandwich first day their nice manager.
Cons
not enough hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work environment.
MANAGER (Former Employee) –  Columbus, OHAugust 31, 2018
Typical day at work was always busy, so it flew by. I learned how to be patient with rude customers. The management was great and helpful.The hardest part of the job was keeping up with orders. The most enjoyable part of the job was meeting a bunch of new people.
Pros
Free lunch. Multiple breaks
Cons
No health insurance. The long commute
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Webster Groves, MOAugust 31, 2018
This is such a fun company to work for. Even when things are busy and chaotic, there was still a level of ease and fun. The managers are really great at keeping the work load calm and dispersed.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Expected to work even when sick
Manager (Former Employee) –  Hermitage, TNAugust 28, 2018
Penn station does not truly care for their employees well being. I was told by a doctor as well as give a note to stay home for 3 days due to being sick and the fact it's a restaurant and was still asked to come in.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Penn station
Crew Member (Former Employee) –  Flower Mound, TXAugust 24, 2018
was a not a good job lack of management
skilled people
to much stress and drama
paying was horrible i felt like i should have been paid more for the stuff i was doing,
Pros
lunch, the crew
Cons
everything else
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good first job
Associate (Former Employee) –  Lexington, KYAugust 22, 2018
Penn Station was my first job. Although management was poor, the culture, customers, and staff were amazing. Everyone worked well with each other and maintained a positive atmosphere. Definetily a job to consider for a first job.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management is horrible
Associate (Current Employee) –  Lansing, MIAugust 16, 2018
Horrible place to work, no one does there jobs,including managements. People don't show up for work and when they do they don't want to do there job.
Pros
Its a pay check
Cons
Everything
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Free Food, Great restaurant structure
Manager (Former Employee) –  Kalamazoo, MIAugust 13, 2018
- Learned managerial skills
- Workplace culture is relaxed
- Rewards great workers
- Managers are awesome
- Corporate is Superb
- Hours are very flexible
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My Review
SHIFT MANAGER (Former Employee) –  Bloomington, INAugust 10, 2018
Good entry level position to start out. I learned to manage a shift and understand how to lead. Plus looking back i understood where i came from to now.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sometimes Poor communication between staff drags down performance
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Cincinnati, OHAugust 8, 2018
I worked at many different locations throughout Cincinnati, many of which had the same issues and same strengths. Management is underpaid and overworked, leading to negative attitudes and poor drive. I will say that most managers make a solid effort to enrich the environment.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good crew great management low pay
Crew Member (Former Employee) –  Lima, OHAugust 7, 2018
Working at penn station was good and helped me get experience in a fast food restaurant. The managers are fair and your fellow crew members are helpful.
Pros
Free drinks
Cons
Pay for lunch
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good enviorment everyone is always happy
Counter Attendant (Former Employee) –  Canton, OHAugust 4, 2018
I would tell someone to go work at Penn Station the manager is really nice he gave me a chance to work there when I thought I didn't have a chance to work anywhere. He made me feel like I could be anybody I wanted to be. It's a good environment fast pace sometimes but as long as you know what you're doing it's a great workplace.
Pros
Free lunches
Cons
It can get overwhelming sometimes .
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport