Pennsylvania State Employees Credit Union Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The Best Job I've Ever Had
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Edinboro, PAJune 23, 2018
The culture that PSECU promotes is one of the most worker friendly environments that I have ever operated in. My time there was relatively brief but the opportunities for upward mobility were absolutely outstanding.
Pros
Great Pay, Great Environment
Cons
The position was only offered to enrolled students.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to start a career.
Member Services Representative II Advisor (Former Employee) –  Harrisburg, PAApril 2, 2018
I had a good work experience for the most part. The most enjoyable part of the job was the people I worked with and the customers I helped.

The workplace culture is very stressful and you need to watch your back all the time.

Some managers had what it takes to be a good manager, those are people oriented and genuinely care about their employees. Then I had some who were horrible, I felt like I was just a machine. Those managers did not care about their employees, just themselves.
Pros
good hours and pay
Cons
Poor management
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Psecu
Contact Center Service Representative (Current Employee) –  State College, PAFebruary 12, 2018
is a great place to begin a career. Your co workers are very friendly people who truly do try to educate you as best as they can so that you have enough knowledge of products/services
Pros
Three breaks over 8 hour period, benefits, overtime availability
Cons
Sitting all day
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent place of employment
Desktop Support Technician (Current Employee) –  Harrisburg, PAFebruary 8, 2018
I love my job. I think that is half the battle. If I didnt like what I do from day to day, I would probably feel different about the overall place of employment. Working in one of our call centers is not for everyone and I think that can give a good employer a bad review.
We have great benefits, an on site gym, dry cleaning service, tuition reimbursement, on site daycare, on site cafeteria, free parking and all kids of area business discounts available.
The dress code is relaxed, such as nice jeans and a nice shirt. Even shorts in the summer.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and relaxing work environment
Intern (Former Employee) –  Kutztown, PAOctober 2, 2017
I enjoyed to people I worked with including my managers. PSECU cares about their employees and tend to be very flexible with your hours since this is a part time job position for college students.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Intern Opportunity
e-Center Intern (Former Employee) –  Lock Haven, PASeptember 18, 2017
e-Center intern has opportunity to get a introduction into the financial sector and gets you out of your comfort zone when attempting to obtain new members.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun environment
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Clarion, PAJune 19, 2017
Training of incoming interns and assistant managers 

Generation of promotional ideas and materials to attract accounts and cross-sell services 

Resolution of client issues and application maintenance/validation
Pros
Assisting with headquarters decisions
Cons
Only college students can work on campuses
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to learn and grow
PSECU ASSISTANT MANAGER / INTERN (Former Employee) –  Mansfield, PAFebruary 10, 2017
I appreciated having this job during college and enjoyed my coworkers and manager throughout my time there. I loved communicating with university organizations and promoting PSECU day to day.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Okay Job Great Benefit package
MSR (Current Employee) –  Harrisburg, PAMarch 2, 2016
This company is okay to work for to gain banking experience to further your career. The benefits & work/life balance are outstanding. To progress jobs within the union is fairly easy, but the pay for union jobs caps out at about 40k.

Unfortunately, to progress your career outside the union into what PSECU calls "professional" level is challenging. It is very political and networking is a key factor. Especially if you are a white male. If you are a cute female however you will have no problem advancing your career within the credit union.
Pros
Benefits
Cons
No oppertonity for advancement
Was this review helpful?Yes 18No 6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall Great Company to work for
Assistant Manager Intern (Former Employee) –  Lancaster, PANovember 23, 2015
At PSECU, the manager and my other co-worker were great. I learn a lot about banking and why this was such a great bank. I would talk to people three days a week about why PSCEU is such a great banking institution. I got to experience marketing and working with Microsoft Office on a daily basis. The hard part about the job was the presentations and the best part was just talking to people about something all college students should have, a great credit union.
Pros
Talking to people, Learn alot
Cons
Presentations
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 9Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great For Puppets
Marketing Manager (Former Employee) –  Harrisburg, PAAugust 7, 2015
On the surface, the company has a lot of great things going for it.

Salaries are excellent and competitive, benefits are some of the best, good schedule, easily earned paid time off, and generous holiday and vacation time are fantastic as well. Member (customer) focused, and arguably some of the best financial products for consumers.

But as iterated by others here and I will concur -

1. The atmosphere is tense.

2. Advancement opportunities are usually slim to none unless you are moving between departments (usually in completely different fields/disciplines) and abandoning your skill set.

3. Very chauvinistic department heads - this applies to BOTH sides of the gender card, among other things that cause a trickle-down effect - making departments isolate themselves and further the internal conflicts - not to mention biased hiring, reassigning of positions, promotion of staff and the inability to get simple tasks completed cross-department without upper management having to step in.

4. Micromanaging. Micromanaging. Micromanaging. Don't expect to get anything done on your own accord - or be recognized. Either your personal efforts will be ignored, OR ownership will be taken by your superior to their own benefit. If you plan to have positive reviews from your superiors, do exactly what you are told to do. Not a bad wrap really, if you don't mind not having a voice or others stealing/trampling on your work.

5. Last but not least - very conservative. While good for a financial institution to some degree, it has caused the business to fall behind the 8-ball, when
  more... it had once been an industry leader - particularly in the area of technology. This adds to the increasingly difficult ability to get. things. done.


I have no doubt many of the 600+ employees are great people. Good coworkers. Many who probably still share the same sentiments and commiserate.

There are many great things to say about the company as a whole. Really. But it goes to show that you can earn great money, have great benefits and vacation time, work for a very customer focused business - and the work environment/leadership can still manage to ruin it all.
  less
Pros
Good Salaries, Great benefits, Customer Focused
Cons
Atmosphere, Chauvinism, Micromanagement
Was this review helpful?Yes 42No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Conservative Management team
Information Technology (Current Employee) –  HarrisburgJuly 17, 2015
Brought the organization through the recession while maintaining employee morale value to members

flexible schedule

great co-workers

most enjoyable part of job is the variety of tasks we are exposed to
Pros
benefits
Cons
conservative to the point of moving too slow
Was this review helpful?Yes 11No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company to work for!
Collection Analyst (Current Employee) –  State College, PAJune 5, 2014
I worked in the call center and did not like the fact that everything that we did was questioned and we were micro-managed. I do like the company, they are great!
Was this review helpful?Yes 14No 6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Workplace
Real Estate Loan Processor (Current Employee) –  Harrisburg, PAApril 24, 2014
The most enjoyable part was having a different challange when I worked in the RE Servicing department.
Pros
Dress down every day
Cons
Not a great environment
Was this review helpful?Yes 17No 8Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
One of the best Internships available
Assistant Manager Student Intern (Former Employee) –  Mansfield, PAAugust 7, 2013
Working in an office setting was a new field for me. I loved my manager and my co-workers. I went through vigorous training through PSECU, delivered speeches and seminars to college students, set up information tables at college events, interacted with the campus community on a daily basis, and advertised the services of PSECU in a positive manner. In the short 4 semesters I was employed by PSECU, I truly enjoyed the experience I had.
Pros
Terrific training programs, many opportunitites for advancement
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 15Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Entry Level Job!
Consumer Loan Application Analyst (Current Employee) –  State College, PAOctober 31, 2012
PSECU provided me with the knowledge and skills needed to begin my career. They have a strong benefit package and are very easy to work with. My manager and coworkers are all great to work with. This is a great place to get your career started!
Pros
great benefits, easy to work with
Cons
call center job
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Pennsylvania State Employees Credit Union. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.4
Based on 17 reviews
59
45
33
20
10

Ratings by category

4.3Work/Life Balance
4.1Compensation/Benefits
3.7Job Security/Advancement
3.1Management
4.1Culture

Pennsylvania State Employees Credit Union Reviews by Location